We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Pete's Restaurant

Blue Pete's Restaurant
1400 N. Muddy Creek Rd., Virginia Beach, VA
+1 757-426-2278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,255 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: BLUE PETE'S Restaurant is a local's landmark for casual dining on the edge of beautiful Back Bay in Virginia Beach. Visit once, and you're a friend. Visit twice, and you're family... And believe me, you'll be back once you taste the Sweet Potato Biscuits! BLUE PETE'S is locally owned and operated by twin brothers Nick and Aristotle, and is an ideal site for business meetings by day, family dinner by night, and kicking back to live music once the sun goes down. We look forward to serving you!
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner with a party of 9 people. We had drinks, appetizers, and entrees. The menu had a great variety of items to chose from and everything was delicious. Carrie was our waitress and she was outstanding. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
“Our best meal at the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Blue Pete's was by far the best meal I have ever had at Virginia Beach. When we arrived there were a group of folks hanging around chatting. I took a second look and one of them was one of the twins (it's owned by a pair if twin brothers) who gave us a hearty grin and welcomed us. Our waitress was all smiles and bubbly and seemed genuinely excited to be waiting on us. My husband got the fried shrimp - a healthy portion size and breaded lightly - delish!! My daughter got the coconut shrimp appetizer with mac and cheese. She loved the shrimp but the smokey quality of the mac and cheese wasn't what she expected. Her friend got the scallops and I got the fried oysters. Everything was truly outstanding! On our way out, one of the twins (the same one, maybe? who knows? :) asked us how our meal was and chatted with us a while. Super nice guy! Blue Pete's will definitely become our go to place when visiting Virginia Beach from now on!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stay on the board walk but don't mind driving a little for a good meal & found this place through TA & a friend who lives in the area. The drive is 25 min south from center of Va Beach board walk, pleasant, easy & scenic in the Sandbridge area. We went on a Thur night & had a little wait but they have a bar area plus another waiting room more suitable for families with a pool table. The restaurant has a large pond with trails & decking where we watched people feed turtles & very large fish, so the time passed quickly. They immediately provided sweet potato biscuits which were a hit. We chose the crab dip app. & all 4 of us loved it also. We ordered 4 dinners: coconut shrimp(app) plus a side, shrimp, oysters & scallops and all 4 meals were outstanding. I love seafood & this was 1 of best meals I can remember. We had a great dinner earlier in the week but all thought this restaurant was better. 4 meals & 1 app was just over $100. One of the 2 brothers greeted us as we arrived & came to our table after dinner to see how we liked it & how we heard about his place. We will definitely be coming back to Blue Petes when we visit VB again & I would highly recommend this place to everyone. A++

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place. Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Food was awesome. Service great. Family came around and spoke with us. Highly recommend. All the entrees were great Down to earth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Away from the Beach Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

When we first heard about this place, we heard it was "way out there" from the beach. While it isn't on Atlantic Ave or the boardwalk, it's only an easy 20 min drive. The place itself is cute, with a pond in the back that you can walk around and explore (and it's a good photo opp). The food is very good-- lots of seafood, but that was good for us! My fiancé and I both got the mango mahi, which was very tasty. The portions are big and come with your choice of two sides (I got the steamed broccoli which was very well seasoned and the mac and cheese, which I didn't like as much-- it was a little tangy). Worth the extra drive, especially if you want to get away from the congestion of VA Beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pete's Restaurant also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Blue Pete's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Pete's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.