We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdeveloped--way too built up!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach
Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
pa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overdeveloped--way too built up!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was here 7 years ago & it was really built up then. Hard to believe it was even more developed now. If you're below 40th st & not on the boardwalk you would never know there was a beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    194
    82
    24
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We come to Virginia Beach every year for Neptune Festival and we love it. We enjoy walking out on the beach and just doing whatever we want without making plans and enjoying ourselves.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Is there such a thing as a Ghost Beach?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I'm commenting on the beach area only, not the city. It's kept clean and safe and you can enjoy a few days on the beach but that's about it. The shops are carbon copies of each other every couple of blocks, mostly souvenirs and restaurants that have gone downhill with a few exceptions by the newer hotels. You can plan a trip around a concert at the Pavilion or downtown 10 miles down the highway or see the aquarium which is nice but don't look for any vacation you'll put on your top 10 list. It's a good getaway for a day or two but after that just plan on a quiet town to get rest.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, KY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great area, clean beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I love going to Virginia Beach. The area is nice, the beach is always clean, and you have many beachfront choices when it comes to food or just a drink. The boardwalk provides a nice, comfortable walk any time of the day. Wake up early and catch a beautiful sunrise.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Always loved this beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I like to watch as the beach is groomed each morning as the sun rises. It always brings back childhood memories of family trips and walking on the Boardwalk with my cousins. We have visited beaches from Thailand to Cape Town, but this one is my favorite.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Beach also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.