We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Family Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium Resort to your Saves list
Atrium Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Value for Family Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you are content to be a few blocks off the beach with no balconies or ocean view, this is a solid choice for the price.

The hotel is very clean and the staff is courteous. There is a small, heated pool which my 8 and 4 year old enjoyed on a rainy day. The kitchen included a good sized fridge with a 4 burner stove, a dishwasher (thank you) plus cookware - china - and silverware. Proximity to local attractions was a plus as the boardwalk, main drag, and mini-golf were just down the street.

Towels were at a premium in this facility but I would attribute that to VSA resort management understaffing, as the folks on duty worked hard to meet our needs.

The fitness room was very small and had a total of three cardio machines. Expect to wait a while if using the laundry room. Limited machines created a log jam here. There is no restaurant at the hotel.

The resort, one of three VSA resorts in VA Beach, positions itself as providing a great value for the price and, all in all, they deliver. The staff was definitely superior to the VSA flagship resort in town, The Ocean Keys, which was set up kind of oddly and the front desk staff just exuded a negative attitude. I would stay at the Atrium again if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I would like to Thank you for choosing The Atrium Resort in Virginia Beach for your vacation destination. I appreciate you sharing your feedback as VSA Resorts is always looking for ways to improve our customer service and enhance our amenities. I am happy to hear that you took advantage of our towel exchange program, as we put this in place to contribute to our Green Key Award for being eco-friendly. Once again, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
34
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Smithville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We got ther on7/29/13 @ Around 1pm, after a 6 hr ride from Pa, and Check in is at 4pm The Staff went Out of ther way to Get us a room that had been ready and cleaned.. It was so cool to get on the beach before CHECK in after a Long ride ..The Resort was Very clean and the Staff was Friendly.The staff works hard in every way, The pool is Well cared for and clean ( Hi C.J ) That guy deserves a raise..lolo The parking deck and Vip Treatment was The bomb!! ;-) We Will be BACK!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Atrium Resort, in Virginia Beach, VA. We are excited to hear that our excellent customer service and amenities suited your vacation needs. I would like to thank you for mentioning VSA Resorts’ Staff and for specifically mentioning our maintenance technician CJ for going above and beyond to enhance your vacation. Thank you for taking the time to give us your terrific feedback and we look forward to you spending your next vacation with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location in the center of beach attractions. Rooms were spacious and clean and well accommodated some unexpected guest for an evening. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will defiantly be planning a return visit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing VSA Resorts for all your vacation needs. We take great pride in the cleanliness and maintenance of The Atrium Resort and continue to welcome travelers from all over to take advantage of our excellent accommodations. I appreciate your taking the time to write this review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed during July 2013 and were pleasantly surprised! Upon arrival we were greeted by an incredibly friendly staff that quickly got us to our room. The room and resort were incredibly clean. Staff were mopping the floors nearly each time I passed through. The room was adequate for our needs with a pull out sofa bed, small galley kitchen (equipped with a stovetop, convection microwave, dishwasher and some cookware/dishes), and a bedroom. The rooms do not have outdoor balconies. The facility includes an indoor pool and hottub, indoor bike rack, a schedule of activities, wifi, a complementary popcorn machine and washer/dryer. It is located a few blocks back from the beach, but only about a 2 block walk away. The location is excellent on 21st street as it is in the center of the boardwalk with many restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. Great place - would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I appreciate you sharing your positive vacation experience at the Atrium Resort in Virginia Beach. I am glad to hear that our excellent location made it easy for you to take advantage of the resort area entertainment. We are thrilled to hear that our outstanding customer service and friendly & welcoming atmosphere made your vacation incredible. Thank you for choosing The Atrium Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kent, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The rooms are very clean, great location staff was excellent super friendly loved this place it was our 15 year anniversary they did a special upgrade and were so pleased! we had a great time and would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere nice in the Virginia Beach Oceanfront area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We take great pride in providing excellent customer service to all our Virginia Beach travelers.
I would like to thank you for allowing the Atrium and VSA Resorts to help you celebrate your 15 year anniversary vacation get-away. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the resort which really seemed to be an oversized hotel. The staff was friendly and they were helpful if a question came up. My complaint is that on day of check out my party and I stripped the room or all bedding and bath towels. We did a double check to make sure all was in order. However on our trip back home a call was received saying that there was damage done to the mattress in the bedroom. There was no was possible this could have been true!! There were 3 adults and 1 teen in the suite. So pictures of the damages were requested and we have never received. Even to this day they have not even been received. An email address was provided and our physical mailing address was in all paperwork. So needless to say the so called $100.00 deposit was kept and an additional $400.00 was charged to the credit card that was used. I feel like if you are claiming damage you should be able to show me what was done with the pictures I ask for!! My family and I will never stay here again and would suggest to anyone else staying to take pictures of your room and everything in it before leaving for your own proof!!! Something I should have done myself.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
“I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Although we do have specific protocol for unit damages, the way in which you describe them do not meet my expectations either. It is a rare occurrence that these protocols are enforced and I appreciate your feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and communication in unfortunate circumstances.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We used the Atrium Resort on 21st St, Virginia Beach as our primary accommodations for a family wedding last weekend. Very easy access immediately off/on the highway. Rooms are spacious and include all the amenities you could ever want - huge refrigerator, kitchenette, even cutlery! Easy walk to the ocean and lots of food options very close. Danielle, the front office manager, was extremely helpful with our group's block and coordinating our rooms. Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I appreciate you sharing your positive vacation experience at the Atrium Resort in Virginia Beach. We are thrilled to hear that our modern amenities enhanced your family’s vacation creating memories that last a lifetime. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit with VSA Resorts. It was my pleasure to coordinate and assist your family, again thank you for choosing The Atrium Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Resort

Address: 315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Atrium Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, just blocks away from the boardwalk, the 90 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with an open-air lobby and relaxing environment. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• 24 hour fitness center• On- site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Virginia Beach
Atrium Resort Virginia Beach Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.