We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week-end stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium Resort to your Saves list
Atrium Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Ashton, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“week-end stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice accommodations. within walking distance to beach and restaurants. Full galley kitchen. Separate living room with pull-out sleep sofa. King bed in bedroom. Can sleep 4. or you could add cot for more room. 1 bathroom. No restaurant on site. this is condo style. indoor pool and exercise facility.

Room Tip: Stayed on 1st floor towards back which is not on lobby level away from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I appreciate you sharing your positive vacation experience at the Atrium Resort in Virginia Beach. We are delighted to hear that our great location and updated amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we are already looking forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach and VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
34
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here during the Shamrock Marathon weekend and was very impressed. I wasn't sure what to expect after looking at the photos and reviews online, but I was more than pleased with what I found when I got there. There are minimal views from the rooms, but that was not something important to me. I was on the top floor and could see to the ocean from my room and also had a good view over the city. The room was very clean. I liked that the living room was separate from the bedroom - it would have been perfect if we were traveling with kids or others as there is a pull out sofa in the living room. The galley kitchen was small, but perfectly functional for a vacation getaway. The room was very clean and well supplied with towels/blankets/toiletries/ etc. You can tell that they have recently been updated. The staff were all very friendly - no pushiness at all during our visit. The only thing I did not like was that you could hear everything from the next room through the connecting door - not bothersome enough to deter me from staying here again! I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in VA Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience at the Atrium Resort. I appreciate your feedback regarding our connecting suites as we are constantly improving our guest’s experiences. We look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are member of the VSA Resorts and we decided to stay at the Atrium Resort for that weekend. Cami and Taeron were the first people we met when we checked into the hotel. They were always happy, pleasant and helpful during our stay. It was a great experience to be vacation on the beach and see happy smiles all the time we were visiting. So often you see people just doing a job to get a paycheck, they went the extra mile for us, and it was awesome to experience that kind of customer service. VSA Resorts have two very valuable employees and we wanted to express our gratitude for your great choice of customer service representatives.

Room Tip: That's a hard choice to make. The entire resort was decorated great and the atmosphere seemed ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I appreciate you sharing your positive vacation experience at the Atrium Resort and for specifically mentioning Cami and Taeron. We appreciate your vacation ownership with VSA Resorts and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been staying at the Atrium Resort for spring break. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the beach but works well for our needs as a jumping off point for visiting relatives and the Norfolk area.

The hotel has 90 suites. There are no real views. Our suite has 3 windows into the hallway and one little window looking onto a backyard. The front room is a living/dining/second bedroom, about 15x15. The kitchen is the hallway between the living room, bathroom, and bedroom. It is only about 6 feet long but is larger than some condo kitchens I have used. Full size frig, smooth electric 4 burner cook top, half size dishwasher, small sink, and an over counter microwave/convection oven. The kitchen is supplied with the normal cooking equipment, but this trip I had a nonstick electric skillet to use. A welcome addition.

The bedroom and bath are both well portioned. The mattress is comfortable and of medium firmness. Two flat screen TVs round out the furnishings (along with chairs and a couch) with one in the living room and one in the bedroom.

One of reasons we chose this hotel was the indoor pool and we have not been disappointed. The pool is a maximum of 4.5 ft deep and heated. Pool towels are provided. My kids have really enjoyed it during these chilly days.

In addition, there are free washers and dryers on two floors. We did not use the fitness room. Activities (e.g., van to Williamsburg, family movie night, crafts for the kids) were available every day. Parking is very convenient and the location is easy to find.

We will stay here again on our next vast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
First off we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. We are thrilled to hear that our location near the expressway was a convenience for your drives over to Norfolk. We are glad that our modern amenities, recreation facilities, and weekly activities enhanced your family’s vacation experience. Again thank you for choosing the Atrium and VSA Resorts. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyers Cave, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were here the end of October 2012. We were ALWAYS greeted with a smile and someone was available to help and answer questions at all times of day and night. The pool and jacuzzi were absolutely fabulous with the temperatures so warm you didn't want to get out. The rooms were very clean and you could exchange linens every weekday between 9:00 and 4:30. The kitchen was set up so you could eat-in every meal if you so chose to. There was a TV in the backbedroom and a TV in the front room so 2 different programs could be watched without disturbing the other person. The boardwalk was 2 blocks away so you could walk it in approx. 5 minutes. Parking was under and beside the resort. They had daily activities for kids and adults. We would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Our staff takes great pride in assisting our guests in any way possible. We are glad that our modern amenities, great location, and variety of activities suited your family’s vacation needs. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review and we hope you choose the Atrium on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in this resort during August of 2012. The place is located quite close to the beach. Although you have to walk a couple of blocks to the ocean. Once you park your car in the resort you can go to all the attractions and restaurants just by walk. There is a swimming pool indoor. And there is a sauna/whirlpool attached by the pool. Very useful on a rainy or cold day. All the rooms have kitchen in it. And you can buy grocery from a nearby shop and make your own food. The room I stayed had 2 TVs. Hence the kids can watch their program on the 2nd TV. The only discomfort is there is no balcony in any of the rooms. They have good programs like art work assisted by a supervisor on certain days of the week. Overall a good experience and an affordable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that our location, updated amenities, and daily activities enhanced your vacation experience. Once again we thank you for choosing the Atrium Resort and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Easy to locate. Parking great. I am writing this from a comfortable king sized bed in a quiet space. For the *first* time in a long time, we are staying in a room that had absolutely NO smell (other than clean). I walked in with my bottle of Lysol uncapped, 'locked and loaded', prepared to take down germs..and found the place nearly *spotless*. I sprayed anyway, but it was only as a precautionary measure. Corey, at the front desk, was pleasant and welcoming. The beach is only a few blocks away. Although it was clearly stated that there is no ocean view, from our room if you cock your head 'just so', you can catch a glimpse of the ocean from between two buildings. Only thing I wasn't too fond of: Proximity of kitchenette from bathroom. Child able to sit on the commode and look directly at me as I washed dishes. Overall, a great experience. Would we come again? Yep. In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We take great pride in the cleanliness of are suites. We are delighted to hear that our great location and updated amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Resort

Address: 315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Atrium Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, just blocks away from the boardwalk, the 90 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with an open-air lobby and relaxing environment. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• 24 hour fitness center• On- site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Virginia Beach
Atrium Resort Virginia Beach Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.