We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to the beach and attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium Resort to your Saves list
Atrium Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Walk to the beach and attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in this resort during August of 2012. The place is located quite close to the beach. Although you have to walk a couple of blocks to the ocean. Once you park your car in the resort you can go to all the attractions and restaurants just by walk. There is a swimming pool indoor. And there is a sauna/whirlpool attached by the pool. Very useful on a rainy or cold day. All the rooms have kitchen in it. And you can buy grocery from a nearby shop and make your own food. The room I stayed had 2 TVs. Hence the kids can watch their program on the 2nd TV. The only discomfort is there is no balcony in any of the rooms. They have good programs like art work assisted by a supervisor on certain days of the week. Overall a good experience and an affordable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that our location, updated amenities, and daily activities enhanced your vacation experience. Once again we thank you for choosing the Atrium Resort and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
34
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Easy to locate. Parking great. I am writing this from a comfortable king sized bed in a quiet space. For the *first* time in a long time, we are staying in a room that had absolutely NO smell (other than clean). I walked in with my bottle of Lysol uncapped, 'locked and loaded', prepared to take down germs..and found the place nearly *spotless*. I sprayed anyway, but it was only as a precautionary measure. Corey, at the front desk, was pleasant and welcoming. The beach is only a few blocks away. Although it was clearly stated that there is no ocean view, from our room if you cock your head 'just so', you can catch a glimpse of the ocean from between two buildings. Only thing I wasn't too fond of: Proximity of kitchenette from bathroom. Child able to sit on the commode and look directly at me as I washed dishes. Overall, a great experience. Would we come again? Yep. In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We take great pride in the cleanliness of are suites. We are delighted to hear that our great location and updated amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel rooms were nicely furnished and convenently set up with the bedroom in the back, then the kitchenette, and the living room. We reserved two rooms side by side and kept the door open in the middle which was great for multiple guests. Staff service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are delighted to hear that our great service and wonderful amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to give us your terrific feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are a family of four, stayed at Atrium for 4days through RCI.
Resort was very easy to find, and we didn't have any trouble with the parking at the resort upon arrival.

LOCATION:
Virginia beach board was is 2 blocks away. I think the boardwalk area is starting at the 1st street to 40th street and this resort is on the 21st street- right at the center! It would've been nice to stay on the ocean front, but it's a nice alternative since you can still walk to the beach.


CHECK IN:
They couldn't locate my reservation at first because they had the wrong spelling of my name.
I wasn't too worried but it certainly wasn't a pleasant start.
I was quite surprised at the front desk and doubted at first since it looked like a regular desk for timeshare sales or something. They didn't have the typical look of the front desk with only two desks and it can take sometime to check in when it gets busy. I had two people in front of me and it was about 10min wait.

LOBBY/POOL:
Lobby area is pretty small and they have the pool at the lobby as well.
They managed to have all the activities at that small lobby like the crafts and movie nights
but it was just through a LCD TV in the lobby so nothing really fancy, I'll rather just watch a movie in my room. They have a small pool and decent size jacuzzi in the lobby as well.
Pool was great for little kids since it was really a heated, 88degree water temperature.
That was excellent for my little guy because he typically gets really cold in indoor pools.
Pool was great for kids,,, and it can get pretty crowded since it's small.
I would definitely feel awkward to be in the pool as a single adult or even as a couple. It's only 4feet deep as well. Oh- another plus was that they had pool toys and floatations that everybody can use. I've never seen that in any other places and thought it was nice.
They do provided pool towels but too bad you can only use it in the pool area.

KITCHEN:
I read some reviews that it was small but it was decent for a family like us with little kids.
Kitchen was small but they had all the supplies just like the real full kitchen!
I was pleasantly surprised with the glass top stove and tiny salt & pepper shaker they provided!
They also had a small sized dishwasher so that was another surprise. The only downside is the small, medical office like sink but the whole kitchen was better than I expected.

BATHROOM:
It was spacious and well stocked, super clean! just the way it should be.
If you're a hotel soap collector, don't expect too much from here. They actually have wall mounted soap dispensers! I actually think it's a nicer and cost effective way so it was a plus for me.

BEDROOM:
We stayed at one bedroom unit and loved the extra pillows and linens! It smelled fresh and clean.
Our king sized bed was comfortable. No complains...!
Loved the LCD tv mounted on the wall and ample storage in the room.

LIVINGROOM:
It's more like a living room/dining room since the 4person dining table was in it.
We didn't mind it. It had larger LCD TV mounted on the wall and we enjoyed it!
I have to say... that the living room was pretty dark. It could get brighter without the curtains covering the window, but that exposes your unit to the lobby so you really don't want to do that unless you're in the corner unit. I wish they had more brighter lights or more lights in the living room and extra phone next to the couch. Telephone is only the bedroom.

OVERALL:
It was nice cozy resort, perfect for a family with small kids. I'm not sure how to entertain your older kids at this resort but it works for preschoolers with the heated pool!
Oh-- forgot to mention that they pop the popcorns in a old fashioned machine in the lobby.
If you ask the front desk person, they'll give it to you for free. That was really nice to lure our kids to come out of the pool. =) They didn't make popcorns all the time, but it's there.

Room Tip: I thought getting a unit at the end of the hall would be nicer since you don't have to close you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are glad that our family-oriented atmosphere suited your vacation needs. Thank you taking the time to write this wonderful review and we hope that you will come back and see us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and daughter and I spent a week in August at the Atrium. First impressions were off-putting – the building is a featureless boxy affair with ridiculously small windows, and the lobby area is uninviting and smells of chlorine. The place hardly seemed to qualify as a "resort." Once in our top-floor room, however, we felt better about it. The suite was spacious; the king-size bed was comfortable (even the sofabed was pretty good); the kitchen was fully equipped with a full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee-maker and utensils; and the bathroom was up to standard. WiFi access in the room was free of charge and functioned well. We had no problems with noisy neighbors. There were some minor annoyances, though: 1) there is only one elevator to serve all six floors, and the wait can be long, particularly at morning check-out time; 2) the “fitness center” hardly deserves the name (it has only 3 pieces of equipment, none in great condition), although Atrium guests do have fitness-center and pool privileges at the nearby Ocean Sands. Would definitely consider going back, but at the same time would probably check out other options.

Room Tip: Go for the top (sixth) floor -- but none of the rooms have good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are glad that the size of our suites, unit appliances, and resort amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you on your next trip to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

the elevator was broke down while I was checking in so I had to carry everything up the steps. they did have a work around working in about an hour (elevator got stuck when 5th floor was selected) and was fully fixed when I woke up the next morning. staff was friendly, room was nicer then expected, not the nicest room I've been in but still very nice. I prefer being on the beach but change of plans had me booking last minute. was still close enough we walked everywhere while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are pleased to hear that our staff and room amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you for your excellent feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We just left there yesterday (Aug. 6 2012) & I have to say, for a sort of last minute vaca, it was great! Especially helpful we're Marco & Cory, but everyone there went out of there way to be polite & accommodating. There were plenty of linens, despite what other reviews have said. And why would u need new ones EVERY DAY? Try reusing for your environment. The proximity to the beach was perfect, not too noisy with party goers since we had kids with us. And the adjoining rooms were just what we needed so no one was overcrowded. Having a kitchen was an added money saving bonus. Definitely will stay there again when we return to Va Beach. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are honored that you chose the Atrium. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Marco and Corey and the great work they do. We are glad to hear our location, service, and amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you again for writing this great review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Resort

Address: 315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Atrium Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, just blocks away from the boardwalk, the 90 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with an open-air lobby and relaxing environment. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• 24 hour fitness center• On- site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Virginia Beach
Atrium Resort Virginia Beach Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.