We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff and Unit were Superb!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium Resort to your Saves list
Atrium Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chagrin Falls
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“The Staff and Unit were Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

After a 10 hour "Night" drive from Cleveland, Ohio, I arrived at the resort at 10(AM)-- Kids were tired, Girlfriend exhausted.(I am sure that we have all had days like this.)

I was hoping to just get a parking pass (and just hang out at the pool and beach until "Check-in time 4PM",) but shockingly to me-- they gave me keys to my unit. The Unit feels like we are the first people ever to stay in it. Perfect for us in the King Size Master Bed. The Kids said the Pullout Sofa mattress is more Comfortable then their beds at home. You could make a FULL Thanksgiving Dinner in The Kitchen.

I went down to the front desk one morning to send a fax. The Manager Carol Bing without hesitation asked me if I needed a cover letter. My own Personal Assistant back home would probably have said, " I will try to get it before lunch."

Her staff of Debbie, Jay, Markita, Newton, Ron and all the rest were amazing all week with every detail.

I talked to at least 3 "owners" who had been to this Condo/Resort at least 5 times over the year. They loved it as well. They said it gets better each and everytime they go to Atrium.

Interestingly, the "timeshare" I bought 10 Years ago in Orlando gets worse and worse every year we go there.

If you ever wanted to Own a "Timeshare" this is one of the few that seems to be actually worth it.

Bottom Line --- If you are going to Virginia Beach, you will be very happy at "The Atrium."

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolBing, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, it was our pleasure to provide our Value Service Atmosphere to you and your family at the Atrium Resort. We look forward to hosting your vacations in the future :)

Carol Bing
Atrium Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    46
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
37
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
rock hill, sc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Provided my family of 8 with the 1-br lock out suites that were perfect. At first we were a little disappointed with no balcony, however while riding bicycles on the boardwalk and witnessing a man fall to his death, we were very appreciative and thankful of how The Atrium is designed. The indoor pool which is located in the lobby, is small however there are pool toys that can be borrowed that made it a little more enjoyable. Extending the time that chidren can be in the pool would be helpful for busy days and bad weather. The updated room decor and furniture were a great touch in addition to worry free parking. We used the kitchen twice daily to prepare meals that were equipped with plenty of cookware and pots. We do plan to return back to this hotel or try another hotel that is part of the VSA Resort. Also we reserved this hotel directly which was a plus, not having to participate in any tour. All of the staff greeted you anytime they saw you and were helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Call directly for better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolBing, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with the Atrium Resort . I am glad your family had a very enjoyable stay with the Atrium Resort. Unlike most "traditional hotel rooms" our Resort units do have a fully equipped kitchen with cookware, which many family vacationers like yourself, do greatly appreciate.

Great money saving tip to call us directly for better rates!

We look forward to hosting your vacations again!

" It's A Great Day To Vacation With VSA Resorts "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Love the room. You can cook with out bringing your kitchen stuff. everything is inside the room. from plates pots, pan silverware, baking stuff glasses, champagne glass, toaster oven electrich stove, microwave free dishwashing soap and dishwasher detergent too, as well as blender too and free laundry , just bring small bottle of tide for laundry.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolBing, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Atrium Resort . I am glad your family had a very enjoyable stay with the Atrium Resort. All of our Resort units have a fully equipped kitchen with cookware, which many vacationers; like yourself do greatly appreciate when away from home.

We look forward to hosting your vacations again in the future!

" It's A Great Day To Vacation With VSA Resorts "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I am a proud owner at The Atrium Resort in Virginia Beach, VA. It continues to prove to be a smart buy - providing a terrific location, enough amenities to make my stay comfortable and the friendliest, hardest-working hotel staff I have had the pleasure of meeting!

Is it in a high-end paradise setting? No. That is not what I look for at Virginia Beach. Instead, it is in the center of The Resort City, and I enjoy the short walk past sidewalk cafes and a small grocery store to the boardwalk... always buzzing with walkers, bike riders and families in bike-powered surries. Then there is a VERY wide part beach with beautiful sand and medium sized waves.

The "trolley" offers bus service up and down the main strip, so my car didn't have to leave its parking place as we went to a variety of fine restaurants and night spots. Safety is a priority in Virginia Beach - great police presence provides a comfortable feeling walking back to the Atrium at any time of the evening. There, you may find a family or two enjoying a swim in the indoor pool. Nice.

I highly recommend the Atrium for those looking for a beachy feel... at the beach!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolBing, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
I appreciate your wonderful comments and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Atrium Resort . We look forward to hosting your vacations again in the future!
" It's Always A Great Choice To Vacation With VSA Resorts "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

It's a great place for those who don't want to stay ON the beach/boardwalk. Friendly staff! (Joanne, Jay & Newton) Nice, clean room, including bathroom. Although the kitchenette is in a small hallway. A few blocks from the boardwalk/beach. Small indoor pool in lobby with nice water temperature. Computer w/ internet available in lobby. We enjoyed our stay. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolBing, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank for taking the time to review your stay with the Atrium Resort .
We look forward to hosting your vacations again in the future!

Carol Bing
Resort Manager

" It's A Great Day to Vacation With VSA Resorts "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for vacation time to celebrate our anniversary as well as a visit to our son in the Marines currently stationed in Petersburg only 2 hours away. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the unit with a nice sized livingroom/dining room area. Everything was rennovated and nicely furnished with wide screen flat TV in the LR and BR. We were expecting a small refrigerator but found a full size frig, a microwave/convection oven, 4 burner stove, dishwasher. Counter space was limited but adequate for a family of 4. It was just the 2 of us and they also had a electric skillet along with everything you would need if you plan to eat in. The bed was a very comfortable king size with lots of pillows. Roomy bathroom that did not make you feel crammed for space and big fluffy towels. Only 1 block walk to the beach as well as lots of shopping only a block away and restaurants close by as well. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We had a situation in our room and the manager Rob was very understanding and professional and took care of everything. They had nice trips they offered so you did not have to drive such as the zoo, Williamsburg, shopping, Yankee Candle and the van driver was great. They also offered games, movie night and other activities that makes it nice if you bring kids. They had a wine and cheese party with the staff to welcome you and ask for feedback on how the could improve instead of the typical sales pitch which was a welcome change. The pool and hot tub was indoors and nice as well. We would highly recommend this resort offering great value for the price and close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your vacation experiences at the Atrium Resort. It was wonderful meeting you at the wine and cheese reception, and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I am very satisfied with my entire stay at the Atrium Resort in Virginia Beach, VA. The rooms are so comfortable and beautiful. The staff and management are very attentive to
making the guests number one priority. Eventhough this particular stay was in December,
I have visited the Atrium in July and August too. I was so pleased with the atomosphere and "at home" setting. Everything is NICE and NEW!!!!!!!!!!! I surely would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
We appreciate your positive feedback for your winter weekend getaway at the Atrium Resort and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Resort

Address: 315 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Atrium Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, just blocks away from the boardwalk, the 90 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with an open-air lobby and relaxing environment. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• 24 hour fitness center• On- site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Virginia Beach
Atrium Resort Virginia Beach Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.