We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Money and Right on the Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2315 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottesville, Va
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Money and Right on the Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

The hotel room was clean and very usable. The room included all new floors, wall coverings, bathroom, efficiency kitchen, furniture and the like. It includes a breakfast bar and stools which is great for enjoying a snack or morning coffee while watching the ocean out the oversized sliding glass doors. I had never stayed there before the reservation, but my friends who had said that it was like a completely different hotel. The room also has central air and a thermostat, which was nice. The hotel staff were very friendly and busily working to get the place ready for the weekend. I had no problems with my room. However, it was so nice in over night that we left the sliding glass door open. The room did seem to attract these small harmless bugs overnight. A screen door would have been a nice touch, but perhaps just a warning about this would suffice.

The hotel is right on the beach, the access was great, certain parts of the hotel common area are certainly dated, but the room was BRAND NEW, very nice and very comfortable. I like to do my shoppiong around and I am convinced that I found the nicest suite on the beach for the money. Thanks

  • Liked — The balcony on the beach, breakfast bar, and oversized fridge and flat screen
  • Disliked — elevator interior
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    117
    49
    30
    29
See reviews for
188
63
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stayed at the Ambassador Suites (now the Ocean Suites) for 4 nights in early June 2008, and I loved it. It was spacious, and was great having a kitchen area instead of just staying in a motel room. I loved the balcony and especially the oceanfront location. It was very clean and the staff was friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Besides the oceanfront location, I liked having a suite instead of just a motel room.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbbound
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Well, I have to agree with everything that the last person just posted. The website is soooo decieving. I hated everything about this place. It was so run down, our T.V. didn't work at all in the bedroom. The pool wasn't open. The bedrooms have no room at all (especially if you have 4 adults). We checked in on Thursday and left on Friday to move to the breakers (which I usually stay at). We had to end up calling the owner on the phone but we did get a full refund for Friday and Saturday. The front desk people were nice but don't let the website fool you. The entry before me goes into better detail and it's all true.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

My family decided to stay at Ocean Suites after reading the reviews on this site and going to the oceansuitesvb.com. Overall we were disappointed. We had problem after problem and the hotel itself (lobby, elevator, hallways) were very old and dirty.

PROS:
-We got a great rate for an oceanfront suite!
-The kitchenette had a sink, microwave, cabinets, coffeemaker, stove, and toaster.
-The room itself was clean and the furniture looked new
-Housekeepers were nice and did a good job everyday
-Parking was included

CONS:
-The pool was closed. It had trash in it and was really dirty. We were told it should have been finished by the time of our trip.
-The phones in our room didn't work. The front desk said 'You don't really need one anyways if you have a cell phone'
-There was no DVD player. They told us on Day 1 they'd bring a dvd player up. We had to go and ask again on the end of day 2. They took one from another room but had to place it on a stool because we had no TV cabinet. And it was not hooked up correctly. My husband had to redo the connections to get it to work.
-The TV channels were all fuzzy and there were only about 12 in all.
-The room was not completely furnished like the picture on the website. We had no cabinet under the tv and no living room rug (like the picture).
-We heard a ton of noise at night. The maintenance crew seemed to be renovating the room above us so we heard banging/drilling/talking at like 2am!
-The balcony door did not close completely or lock
-There is only one elevator for the whole hotel!

We stay in VA Beach at least 1 - 2 times a year and I always try to book different hotels. After this visit, we decided to stick with the brand names like Courtyard, Sheraton, etc. or the Sandcastle which is always a good stay.

I also want to add that the dvd/tv were a big deal to us only because we brought movies to keep our toddler entertained while we relaxed.

If the problems listed above are addressed, this would be a decent hotel for families looking for a good value.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — lack of amenities and incomplete renovations
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

First of all, we booked this hotel for the heated pool. We arrived at the hotel and the pool was EMPTY!! They were working on it. When we checked in, the front desk person didn't even tell us where our room was at or where the ice machine/drink machines were located at. The room was nice although the bedroom was very tiny and cramped. The balcony door did NOT lock and often got stuck when opening or closing it. (SAFETY ISSUE!) The bathroom did not have anywhere to hang towels and the shower lacked spots to put soap and a washcloth. The TV had a whooping 10 channels and most of those were fuzzy. The second day, our keys would not work so we had to get another set. The entire time our "entrance" to the hotel from the beach would not work. We had to walk through an alley in order to be able to get to the front. Major safety issue, esp. at night! Noise could be heard throughout the night. I can honestly say I was able to tune most of it out although it was annoying. When booking, I had asked to be place near or beside a friend we were on vacation with...2 floors separated us. All in all, we were not pleased with this hotel. The minute we saw the pool was not in order we were dissatisfied. Nothing on the web site said the pool was out of order. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. My next vacation will be at a name brand hotel.

  • Liked — The living room/kitchen combo
  • Disliked — NO POOL!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Every year we go down to Va Beach. The first year we were planning on going we were searching the internet for hotels. Finally we came up on a nice looking hotel called the Ambassador Suites. So we booked rooms for the end of June. Not knowing what to expect we showed up a few hours before check -in. The front desk clerk let us go in our rooms before check-in time. When we got there we found a nice looking pool, room,and a great location. On the 4th floor of this hotel we found a pool and sundeck. The 2- Bedroom suites are awesome for families. Comes with a full kitchen. This hotel is in the center of the boardwalk. The 24th street park it right next to it. Right in front of the hotel is a lifeguard stand can't get any better than that! Right next to the hotel is bike rentals. Now back to the hotel..... Every Suite come with a private oceanfront balcony. On every other floor the is soda machines. All in all this hotel may not be a 5 star hotel but it is a pretty darn nice one!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norlina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed her with our 3 month old son, b/c it was right on the boardwalk and oceanfront. This was our 2nd time staying here. We would definatley come back. I would say that this is an older hotel but, the accomodations are nice and the people are friendly. Every room in this hotel is oceanfront with balconies and kitchenettes. Great Value for your money.

  • Liked — oceanfront , kitchen
  • Disliked — no continential breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Suites

Address: 2315 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Suites is an all Suites Oceanfront property. All rooms come equipt with a microwave, refridgerator, iron, ironing board, toaster, and two stove top burners. We also provide a 37" LCD Flat screen TV and DVD player in the living room with a private balcony overlooking the ocean. We offer FREE WIFI, Local calls, in rooms safes, and Local TV Channels, as well as on site laundry for our guest. Our outdoor pool is open during season daily from 10am till 10pm weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Ambassador Suites Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.