We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2315 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went to Virginia Beach for a cheerleading competition and stayed here with a group of cheerleaders. My room was on the 8th floor and the view was beautiful. However, it didn't take us long to realize that we had no heat or hot water. None of our rooms did. Upon notifying the manager we were told that the boiler was out and they were working on it. Or heat came back on several hours later as did our hot water. Only to go out again at 10 that night. Later that evening or guests got in and became stuck in the elevator! They were trapped for 10 minutes until staff could get them out! The next day we chsnged rooms twice before we got a room with heat. We thought that or trouble was over until we got up the next morning with no hot water! I will say that management was very nice and eventually reimbursed us for our entire stay but the aggrevation of it all was terrible. The manager finally told us that the hotel has only been open for the season for 2 weeks and "all the links hadnt been worked out yet. " it would have been nice to know that before we booked our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles w, General Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for you most recent review on Trip Advisor. We have just opened for season and a lot of things went wrong this weekend that we weren't expecting. As at home, we do have things that go down and need repair and during this time we got on the issues immediately to rectify the matter as soon as possible. I do understand your disappointment and dissatisfaction during your stay. Our staff did everything possible to assist our guest during our difficult times. I hope you will give us another chance to rectify your opinion of us with another visit where we can ensure you a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    124
    51
    32
    31
See reviews for
207
68
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a few days there in September and just booked our family vacation for this summer here as well!! Loved it!!! Real beach feel! Management and staff are wonderful and positively helpful!!! Looking forward to our visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles w, General Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank You for you most recent comments on Trip Advisor. Here at Ocean Suites, we strive to maintain Outstanding Customer Service. I was glad to read that we met our own expectations in your review. We look forward to seeing you again this summer and we will put our Customer Service Skills to work again to see if we can do even better than last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fantastic views.... Close to Everything.... older building but VERY well kept , SAFE, and CLEAN... FREE parking.... what else can be said..... sit on the balcony and view the beach goers..and board walk walkers...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles w, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank You for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I believe that we have one of the most beautiful beaches. The scenery here is simply breathtaking. We do strive to maintain a clean and safe enviroment for our guest along with outstanding Customer Service. I was glad to see that you had such a nice stay with us and look forward to being of Service to you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

my boyfriend and i of 10 yrs went on our first vacation this year and stayed at this hotel and we LOVED it.. every housekeeper we saw and the head housekeeper was so friendly and kind. and Mr. Melvin from Maintance.. he was fantastic and the lady at the front desk when we checked in was just marvelous. Thank you so much for everything and we will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles w, General Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We value our guest and we work hard to ensure that they have an enjoyable stay. I was extrememly excited that you mentioned two of my Associates by name. It is important for me as the General Manager to know who it is that I have on my staff that goes above and beyond for the comfort of our guest. Thank you again and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in May, came back in September. Same great staff, great service, great location. So willing to accommodate us by putting us as close as possible to the other people in our group. Had a wonderful time and will definitely stay at this hotel again. Thank you Charles and staff. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles w, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank You for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It was an honor to provide service to you and your group. I am pleased to hear you had such a great time with us and that all of you expectations were met. My staff and I work hard to establish a Customer Service at It's best enviroment and when we read reviews like yours we know we have succeeded our goal. Thanks you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union city, indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent the 1st week in Oct. at Ocean Suites. Had a wonderful experience. The hotel isn't the RITZ, but was exactly what we needed.
The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs..The 1st night the fridge wasnt working, within 1/2 hour a replacement was in place.
The hotel is located near the center of the boardwalk, near plenty of restaurants ...the oceanfront balconies were a plus

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles w, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank You for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your trip to Virginia Beach a pleasant time for you and your family. There are times that issues do come up but our staff is dedicated to resolving any problems or situation in a timely manner. Here at Ocean Suites we strive to offer the best Customer Service and to ensure you have a relaxing and stress free time away. I hope to hear from you soon so we can start planning your next visit with us. Thank You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everyone at Ocean Suites was very accommodating and friendly. The room was perfect. Had a refrigerator, stovetop, microwave and toaster. We went to the local grocery store and we stocked up and prepared meals right in the room to save money and eat healthier. We had a perfect view of the beach and boardwalk. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles w, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Ocean Suites. I am glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience. Myself and my staff strive to present a professional yet inviting atmosphere for all of our guest and to make your time with us as pleasant as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Suites

Address: 2315 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Suites is an all Suites Oceanfront property. All rooms come equipt with a microwave, refridgerator, iron, ironing board, toaster, and two stove top burners. We also provide a 37" LCD Flat screen TV and DVD player in the living room with a private balcony overlooking the ocean. We offer FREE WIFI, Local calls, in rooms safes, and Local TV Channels, as well as on site laundry for our guest. Our outdoor pool is open during season daily from 10am till 10pm weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Ambassador Suites Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.