We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Inn

Save Saved
You added Schooner Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schooner Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Grove City, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It is at the far end of the boardwak near Rudee Inlet so it is quieter then some locations. Most rooms have a view of the ocean. Other then the first floor they have private balconies.We had a kitchenette in our room so we were able to prepare some meals in our room. Our boys reported a problem with the swimming pool grate to the front desk. They replaced it within the hour. I was very impressed by that with it being reported by teens. The staff was all very friendly and we had a great stay. The only thing I didn't like was the small beds. I got exactly what I reserved but I have a king at home so sharing a double was hard. This was our second stay at the Schooner Inn and I would have a hard time staying anywhere else if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    95
    29
    27
    36
See reviews for
71
90
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's always interesting to me the difference in opinions on here. Two people can stay in the same place, same time and you wouldn't know it! We had a wonderful weekend at Schooner Inn. Lee helped us check in and answered many questions while we were there. Will was also very helpful. We never passed an employee who did not speak to us. Housekeeping was very accommodating. The room was great, we had two beds, a table and four chairs, fridge, microwave, stovetop, coffee pot and toaster. Plenty of dishes and silverware also. Room was large and balcony was larger than most I have seen in the newer hotels. Much more of a family feel than some of the huge swanky resorts. We enjoy the south end of the beach, it is much quieter, but only a shuttle away if you want to go up to the North Beaches.. Also, enjoy being near Waterman's(yummy hushpuppies) and Sunnyside(delicious breakfast!). If you want to take a short drive down to Sandbridge, check out Margie and Ray's! We loved the Schooner Inn and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Three of us girls went on a week vacation to schooner inn despite all of the bad reviews. It was the best vacation ever. the hotel is right off the jetty where all the surfers are. you have a quite beach and are walking distance to restaurants and everything else. in the back parking lot was a circus tent and the show was amazing, no animals all acrobats. as for the hotel itself, it was as old looking as the pictures, but it was clean and wasn't run down. they were also in the process of remodeling the rooms. the staff as very nice and helpful 24/7. And the air conditioner worked great, never woke up in a sweat like some of the reviews, and the room was always cool. the view of the ocean was great. security entrances and a safe in the room to put things when out on the beach for extra security. now all you need is to go to any local bar at order orange crushes and cheesy bacon fries, shrimp and ousters with the locals. Burtons has amazing food and drinks and cheap too. you'd have to drive 10 min buts its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It's ok. People at the front desk are nice, good position, at the end of Virginia Beach. Just take the room Ocean view or don't go.
Parking is included, the swimming pool in the middle of the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a nice hotel with small kitchenett and beach front balconey. Price a bit high for what it is but this is the high season and beach front. Check in was not til 4:00pm and we took the train so had no car, they let us store our luggage til check out time, which was very nice.
The elevator had kind of a smell to it but it was always wet with sand in it also. The bathroom had a bit of mold around the walls, I am sure to the high humidity.
My main problem was that when we asked for a 6:oo am wake up call, we never got the wake up call :( So I missed the wonderful sunrise. All in all it was better than some but not as good as others. I would most likely stay here again but will bring my own alarm clock.
The laundry was out of order and I spent money for soap with was empty and the staff did not do a thing about it.

Room Tip: Stary on th 4th floor or higher. Do not expect a wake up call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room for the money! Especially after reading previous reviews. Beds were comfortable. Very clean. Quiet. We love the south end of Virginia Beach. Came here for a birthday celebration. Wanted to stay an additional night but it wasn't available. Ended up at a chain hotel at the north end the second night. It did not compare. We preferred the Schooner Inn. Would definitely stay here again! Staff was friendly! Check in was flawless!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Schooner's, after leaving a dumpy hotel at 17th St. The sweet girl at the front desk was so helpful. Because it was same day booking, we stayed in an ocean front jacuzzi room the first night and a pool side efficiency room the second night. Both were very nice and clean. My husband and I are big coffee drinkers and they very graciously gave us extra coffee! Loved being right by the playground, boardwalk, and away from the busy midsection of VA Beach. We will definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schooner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Inn

Address: 215 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Schooner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Virginia Beach
Schooner Inn Virginia Beach
Schooner Virginia Beach
Schooner Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.