We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no way!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“no way!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We arrived here, with reservations, just before a big snow storm hit. Woke up in the morning with no heat and limited power/lights. Called and maintenence (a teenage kid) came and was stumped...so we were moved to another floor with full power.
Not too many activities here on a weekend, especially when snowbound!

Checked out sunday with an itchy hand. Arrived home 3 hours later and noticied additional bug bites along my neck and jaw-line (about 8 of them) and my back had 3. I called the front desk and asked if they had a problem with BED BUGS! they told me that they checked the room (behind headbords and the mattresses) and found nothing. Baloney!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
I apologize that your experience with us was not what you (or we) expected and that you felt our staff did not respond promptly to your concerns during your stay with us or appropriately after you telephoned to report your second concern. Unfortunately the weather did affect the electrical power on the entire 2nd floor. Our maintenance technician thought it was only your suite's power that had failed. This should have been communicated to you after the repair had been completed, even though the front desk has already relocated you to another suite.

Regarding your second concern, your suite, as well as the suites located on either side were checked by our internal staff as well as a professional company and there was no evidence to validate your second claim. However, we have had a small percentage of guests in the past that had a slight reaction to our laundry detergents that we sanitize our bed linens with. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we hope you give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    50
    25
    9
    14
See reviews for
102
76
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
va
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My spouse and I enjoyed our stay at the Ocean sands in VA Beach. Excellent customer service from beginning to end. Parking was convenient. We ventured out for an evening stroll, this was lovely on both the beach side and the street side. Everything was within walking distance.
I would certainly recommend anyone to stay at Ocean Sands.
I plant to have another week-end stay during the summer of 2010.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

A great week, Friendly staff, lots of amenities, and an awesome ocean view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I must say this was a wonderful weekend getaway. My room was nicely cleaned and very updated. It also faced the waterfront so could you just imagine waking up in the morning to the Sunrise peeping through youre window. The service was excellent everyone greeted you with smiling faces and the manager takes his time to greet you as well. This Resort has everything you need Spa, Sauna, Pool, Workout room, Bar and Grill what more could you want. I have been back several times with my family as well. This Resort is a must try.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

I recently stayed at this resort and was not at all pleased with the accommodations. Several of the floors are being renovated and there was a very very strong smell of mold on some of the floors. We requested to be moved from the unit that we were first given because the carpet was wet and had a strong mildew/moldy smell. The staff was very accommodating which was a welcomed relief because of what we were enduring.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
We are not pleased with your experience with your visit to the Ocean Sands Resort either. Although we are undergoing extensive renovations, this process should not affect your vacation in any way and has been addressed. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we know you have other vacation alternatives. We hope that you allow us to deliver you and your family the Value, Service and Atmosphere you deserve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We love our getaways here.

We, however, feel that the staff at the pool should be alittle more aggressive to those who break the rules. Our girls age 7 and 11 were trampled repeatedly by LARGE teenage boys playing tackle football with a real football in the pool Nothing was said to them. The ball was being thrown very hard from one end of the pool to the other and the boys were all over the place and running over anyone in their path. I told them to stop a few times. The girl working said nothing and then talked to the adults about how well the kids played ball. We were very aggravated.

Then there was the folks who were smoking with the doors open so all the smoke came back in the enclosed pool area. Same girl said nothing. And finally there were 2 adults passed out in the lawn chairs. The smell of alcohol would knock you down and they were passed completely out for several hours and then were allowed to get up and stagger to the hot tub.

Other than the issues at the pool the hotel is very nice and I love that it is directly on the beach.

Thank you for your time,
Kim

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. The manager was very professional and supportive. The staff was very courteous and accomodating. The furnishing was well coordinated and the resort was very clean. The ocean view was just awesome. What a cozy atmosphere. We love it and will definitely come again. We will also recommend that our family and friends to visit Ocean Sands. The Xmas lights and decorations is awesome on the boaradwalk at this time of the year. Thank you so much (Ocean Sands) for the wonderful weekend and experience.
James&Velma Reynolds
Queens, NY

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.