We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing Vacation In Some Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Snow Hill, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing Vacation In Some Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Watched dolphins swim by our oceanfront window every morning. Great way to start our day!

Room was a little on the small side but, appointed well. The entire resort staff were extremely helpful AND friendly. Enjoyed the exercise room before breakfast and the rooftop pool in the afternoons. Plenty to do in the area and, at this time of year, the crowds were gone.

It's only been a month but, we already miss the long walks on the bordwalk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    50
    25
    10
    14
See reviews for
105
77
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was one of the worse weekends; however it was Halloween. The bathroom was discussing sink-> dirty, toilet->not cleaned there were urine stains around the toilet and on the seat. Tub had 6 jets with 3 working and they were so dirty they were the color of coffee with creamer and add some crud on the filter. I found several hairs and toenail clippings in the tub along with a lot of mold around the tub. With that going on who would want to their body swimming in a couple of people’s soup or even touching that toilet. The room had a cute layout; however the couch and carpet had several stains. The front lobby smelled like mildew and was dark and dirty. The elevator was not the strongest it was a little scary being on it, not to mention the tracks of that was dirty also.
The only person willing to assist me in getting the tub clean was the Newly Hired Executive Housekeeper The young lady on the desk and the manager was no help. The GM of the property was making the adjustments while we were in the room. Bill Mitchell was not very hospitable for some one in the hospitality business. Bill wanted to paint to cover the mold while we were still in the room. He needs a class in Customer Service. From the information I got from Bill that was the upgrade of the 3 properties owned by VSA in the area (that was a big laugh) because that hotel was on the beach well most of the beach was in my Tub. I was also informed that the floor I was on was recently renovated (that was a bigger laugh). If you find yourself at 2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach Ocean Sands Run as fast as possible in the other direction. My video of the room can be found on U-Tube.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2009
This guest's experience did not meet our expectations either. However, I do wish that the guest would have posted her reportedly very favorable review of it's sister resort, The Ocean Key where she was upgraded after attempts to correct the deficiencies were unacceptable. As always, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to serving all of our guests with Value, Service and Atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield, ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

if you want to be treated by a fantastic staff this is the place to come to, to spend your time to relax. the staff is courteous and outgoing, plus plus you have all the amenities to go with it. right on the beach, comfortable rooms/beds, things to do places to seeand the staff helps you to get there. the rest is nearby, enjoy relax a while.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21804
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed here over Columbus Day weekend and it did not appear to be crowded. The location is great. It is right on the Boardwalk. The units are nice and the furnishings are okay. The kitchen is small. We stayed in a one bedroom and there are only enough dishes for 4 people. There was no hairdryer in our unit, but we were able to check one out from the front desk. We used our RCI Exchange (from Wyndham Vacation Resorts) to obtain this unit. We used our Nightly Stays, paid the $59 fee, plus 25000 points. Upon checking in, they told us that we had to pay an additional $65 housecleaning fee. I'm not sure that it was worth spending the points and the fees. There was no information given to us regarding where the pool was located and we never did find it. No information about this hotel was in the unit. They did have very nice flatscreen tvs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

The oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk was awesome. The folks at the front desk were very knowledgeable of the area in terms of directions and knowing the best local eating spots. The hotel restaurant specializes in sort of a 'tex-mex' style of fare. Get an order of spicy chicken nachos and a draft beer and sit outside on the boardwalk at sunset!
Our rooms had been recently renovated, I think, and were more than adequate. We spent most of our time on the beach, on the boardwalk, or at Busch Gardens, but had no overall complaints. Local street performers and fireworks on the weekend were a treat. We are already planning to stay at Ocean Sands in 2010.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

when i walked in the kitchen the table was set as to welcome us. The kitchen had a tv and couch, the bed room also had a tv. I searched for bed bugs as someone wrote and found nothing but a clean room. I want to go again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

It was labor day weekend and hotel choices were limited. We should have found somewhere else to stay. The rooms are in bad shape. The bed pillow had a blood streak / stain on it. I didn't want to walk around in my bare feet, the floor wasn't very clean. The shower would suddenly get extremely, dangerously hot. The couch was just as yucky as the bed. The hallways were in bad shape, the lobby was in bad shape. There was limited parking. They say there are enough parking spaces. But, we had to drive around and wait and wait for a space. Or, we could park at another hotel they have a relationship with that is about 1 mile away and walk back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.