We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Enon, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

With a great time at Ocean Sand resort a room was perfect oceanfront Oceanview the hospitality was tremendous look forward to coming back. Bethany was great at the front desk, manager was very helpful, and Dorsett was quick with a repair on a faucet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Our staff is trained to give nothing less than superb customer service. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean from your comfortable suite. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    50
    25
    9
    14
See reviews for
102
76
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have traveled all over the world and by far this was the worst hotel I ever stayed. Room cleaning only M-T, clean towels? go get them or wash it yourself, hair dryer? somewhere in the room, smoking? move to different room but still cant smoke, wanna quiet time? what till the bar is closed

Room Tip: don't recommend this hotel, but if you decide to stay in this hotel the second floor is not a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. It did not meet our expectations either. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights to do the Shamrock Marathon and Half-Marathon. The reservation site that we booked the rooms with didn't transfer it, and the receptionist tried for a while to figure out what was going on. Then she just gave us a room without that reservation and promised to get to the bottom of this - which she did the next day. So we could relax and didn't have to bother with tracking down where our data had gone. The room (a one-bedroom suite with kitchen) was very nice, and the view of the beach great. And they even let us check out late, so we can take a shower after our races!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Our staff is trained to give superb customer service and will resolve any discrepancies as quickly as possible. We are glad that our accommodations and location suited your needs for the big race. Thank you so much for your excellent feedback and we look forward to seeing you for the next marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is our favorite place for relaxation and recreation. The bed, full kitchen, full bath--great. The staff is wonderful and very responsive. The fitness center is available whenever I want to use it (instead of having restricted operation times). The beach--awesome! (Clean and beautiful) In-unit beach view--the best. Restaurants, shopping, and other activities are close by and convenient. This resort is a great time-out for us from jobs and worries; it really works for us. (Due to my chronic allergy condition, the non-smoking rule has made a BIG DIFFERENCE in our enjoyment of our stay.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are delighted to hear that our great location, variety of amenities, and amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the cleanliness of the resort as we strive to keep it as clean as you would your own home. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at Ocean Sands in February 2014. The weather was warm, the beach was beautiful and there were few people around. We ate at a couple of delicious local restaurants, grocery shopped at Whole Foods and Trader Joe's. The resort staff were very welcoming. They answered my questions with a smile. They had many activities each day we were there and even though there were few people at the resort, they did their best. The pool was amazingingly warm. My kids spent hours in the pool. The room was clean and up to date and parking was on the same floor as our room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
It gives us great pleasure to know how much you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. We are glad you were able to take advantage of all our great amenities, activities, and everything that the Virginia Beach area has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this excellent review and we look forward to seeing again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at ocean sands this sat night and it was wonderful! The beds are very comfortable, and the kitchenette is well stocked! Showers were great with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Will stay here again. Great view too!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Our modern amenities along with the great view of the Atlantic Ocean really enhance the overall vacation experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this great review and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Ocean Sands is run by an excellent staff. It is located in the middle of the boardwalk and is a perfect location at the beach.

Rooms are nice and have a great view of the Atlantic Ocean.

TWO THUMBS UP!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that our great location and our inviting staff made your stay with us an enjoyable one. Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.