We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Won this weekend trip from a silent auction and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was fantastic and the staff were super friendly. The location of the hotel is right on the boardwalk and centrally located to about everything. Loved the separation between the sitting room and bedroom. View was georgous! Only comment would be a blow dryer would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Our staff goes out of their way to make sure all of our guests enjoy their vacation experience. We are so delighted to hear that our accommodations and great location enhanced your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    50
    25
    9
    14
See reviews for
102
76
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I went for a weekend to the beach with 5 kids, we have an amazing ocean view, a inside pool for the kids, a kitchen so the kids felt right at home, I was able to cook and have a dinner together as a family, also it was close to the arcade. The kid had so much fun. My husband and I was able to relax at the balcony where the pool is while all the kids where at the pool. The putt, shops, food, bars are all within walking distance. We all have a great weekend, Ocean sand resort has become my favor spot in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
It gives us great pleasure to hear that our accommodations and amenities suited you and your family’s vacation needs. We are glad you were able to take advantage of all the nearby attractions with our resort being so conveniently located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this excellent review and we are already looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Not only was our room fantastic, but the location was ideal in every way. The view of the ocean and boardwalk was picture perfect, the room was neat and CLEAN, the kitchenette was fully stocked with everything we needed, the bedroom and sitting area was separated by a door, which allowed for some privacy, and the bed itself may have been more comfortable than my own. As for the staff, they were extremely friendly, helpful, sharply dressed and professional. Check in was a breeze, as was check out. Thank you for helping make our stay at the beach a great one! We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are very delighted to hear that our ocean view suites, unit amenities, incredible location, and inviting staff enhanced your getaway. Here at the Ocean Sands we take great pride in the cleanliness of our resort and our superb customer service. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write this excellent and detailed review and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location of Ocean Sands Resort is convenient to any activity you and your family are looking for. Shops, food, bars, putt putt, rides, etc. are all within walking distance. Our room had a great view as it overlooked the ocean. The facilities were well kept and the staff was very friendly. It is also very nice to have a separate living/kitchen area that is outside of the bedroom as it gives it much more of a home feeling. I highly recommend Ocean Sands Resort and can't wait for our next trip back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We take great pride in our variety of amenities and outstanding customer service. We are thrilled to hear that our incredible location in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront suited your vacation needs. Thank you so much for writing this fantastic review and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ocean Sands for a week starting the July 4th weekend. We had an 8th floor unit with a great view of the ocean. The rooms consist of a bedroom with a nice flat screen TV and a small living room / kitchen area with a pull out couch. Also another flat screen TV in this room.

They have an indoor pool on the 6th floor, an activities room on the 5th floor with couches and a TV, and throughout the week they have various events for guests, air hockey at Ocean Key, karaoke at this resort, etc.

We went shopping at a local Harris Teeter 1 few blocks away the first night and ate in most mornings and evenings. Full fridge, dishwasher, microwave and oven built into microwave, They provide free dish washing detergent downstairs. The also have free washer dryers although we did buy a 3.99 detergent at the supermarket on our first day. :)

The location is excellent. Center strip basically. Can jump right on I264 to travel to a local mall, Norfolk, etc. Great place for the kids and fmaily.

Room Tip: If you get a 7th floor or higher room, you're in the tower. In the tower there's only 4 roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are glad to hear that you were able to enhance your vacation by taking advantage of everything Ocean Sands and VSA has to offer. We cannot tell you how appreciative we are for you taking the time to write this excellent and elaborate review. Again we thank you and hope to see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We try to stay at the Ocean Sands Resort whenever we visit Virginia Beach due to the great location, nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, full kitchen, jet tub, and nice-sized pool. Ocean Sands Resort is right in the middle of everything (across the street from the arcade), and all rooms are oceanfront. During our last trip, the staff was exceptionally helpful in allowing us to reserve a room on very short notice and continued to be available for any need we may have had during our stay. We met nice people who visit each year and we are looking forward to staying here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
It gives us great pleasure to hear that our incredible location and great amenities suited your vacation needs. We are honored that Ocean Sands is your top choice for accommodations in the great city of Virginia Beach. Thank you so much taking the time to write this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is ocean front and in the middle of the boardwalk. Within walking distance to everything. The hotel is old but very clean. Very family friendly and all of the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We are happy to hear that our great location and outstanding customer service enhanced your vacation experience. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your excellent feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.