We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and conveniences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Great location and conveniences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ideal location for our first visit to Virginia Beach! Right in the middle of things, boardwalk and beach are right out back door. Every room in the place has a ocean view, stay in the tower and get up as high as possible if you can and you can watch the beach day and night from a birds eye view. Watch all the people walking and jogging the boardwalk if your a people watcher. Its also nice to watch the horses walk and run down the beach. The resort has a free tanning bed, for those off season months or whenever you want to use it, just bring your eye protection or buy the sticker ones they have for 50 cents. Free washer and dryers on certain floors to do your laundry anytime you want. Walgreens is one block away. The kitchen in the unit is very accommodating. The living room/dining area has a TV and the bedroom also has one. 1 Bedroom unit is very spacious for 2 people, it does have a pull out bed in the sofa so a few kids would be OK but I wouldn't suggest 4 adult for the room although depending on what you want to spend and if you aren't too picky it can be done, especially if you are out most of the day enjoying in the beaches and clubs and just using room to pass out LOL.
We had a wonderful week here, I do have to mention the jets who fly past pretty much all day...you do get used to them but they are loud at first when you first arrive and aren't accustomed to them. The up points are the ocean view, the sound of the waves all day and night when you leave the windows open, the convienience of the full kitchen and dishware/appliances the unit has to offer. Everything on the strip is within walking distance even the grocery store..... although walking back with more that one bag of groceries it is best to take a cab which was a $7-8 ride. Front desk staff was very helpful and the resort was clean and we had a very nice experience, would certainly visit this resort again. This resort has two other sister resorts one is way down the strip on the low end around 5th street (I cant remember name, but its where the timeshare presentations are held) and the Atruim which is off the strip. But this one is by far the best.

Room Tip: Rooms are all ocean view no bad ones higher up the better, but thats just preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that our great location and variety of amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We hope to see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    56
    26
    10
    14
See reviews for
112
79
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairless Hills, Pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

had a wonderful trip this year, the front staff was very helpful to all our needs and the little problems we did have were taken care of as quick as possible. Only problem was with the linen(towel) service. Never able to keep up with the demand for towels, and the place wasn't even full. Need to fix that. A far as doing things for yourself, ie: housekeeping I ain't got a problem with that although they will come in and do it if you ask. I also bring my own shampoo and soap, who doesn't on a trip. Overall was very happy with the resort, need to keep improving and renovating the place to bring it back up to Gold Status. Love the little restaurant also, Johnny Mananas. Great place for a Humptini or some top tekillya's

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Our staff thrives on knowing that we enhanced everyone’s vacation experience. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pay for amenities. Exchange your own towls. Change your own trash and do your own housekeeping. If you stay on the first floor, the front desk chatter echoes down the hall throughout all hours of the night. No hair drier, the wash cloths are faded, shampoo is same consistantsy as the soap. Spider web in the hall. Drunk lady banging on our window when we were relaxing, which a balcony would have prevented. Though not as bad as the drunk that peed in front of our window a previous year.

There aren't any ants or roaches this year. It's clean, not new but clean. Over past ten years haven't found any hidden spy cams in bathroom or bedroom. So its a safe hotel for women and children.

Ten years ago ocean sands was five stars hotel, great housekeeping and even delivered papers to your door. Now the restaurant isn't all that great and the best change they've made is extending pool hours. That is a huge plus having pool open 8-11. But I have better cable at home. Which is where I also have functioning appliances.

Love the view. Staff are friendly. Hotel should consider allowing dogs 50lbs and under.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations. Although we have taken great strides at the request of many of our Owners to reduce our effects on the environment, not all of our guests appreciate the extra steps the new programs require. I appreciate your feedback so that we may continually improve our customer’s experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family and I had a superb vacation. Thank You Ocean Sands!!!
We were in Condo 306(Our 1 bedroom condo had 2 bathrooms-- I think only about 10% of the condos are 2 bathrooms.)
We came in through an RCI trade-- RCI claims this Condo/Resort is only a "Silver Crown."(RCI rates all the Condos/Resorts in it's Network.)
This Resort should be "Gold Crown" Plus Plus!!!
The view alone-------You are truly OCEANFRONT-- we saw quite a few Dolphins right out the window.
The bed was very comfortable.
The unit was perfectly clean.
The people that work at Ocean Sands are there to help you make your vacation Perfect.
Some of the people that I had the pleasure to meet were Beth, Mary, Jonathon, Michelle, Mike and Sam.(All of the people were wonderful to me and my family.)
My family and I are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Our staff takes great pride in enhancing everyone’s vacation experience. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our clean and comfortable ocean view suites. Thank you so much for taking the time to individually acknowledge our dedicated VSA Resorts team members and for your excellent feedback. Thanks again for choosing the Ocean Sands and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were staying over the Memorial Day weekend. The place is dated and window air conditioning unit was very loud as well. The rooms are more or less clean and stuff is very friendly. I wish that they had updated the upstairs indoor pool. They also kept the ceiling window open on a cool day and the water in the pool got too cold. But again it is right on a beach so on a nice day you do not stay indoors for very long. There are some activities at the resort but we did not try them out. We arrived before 5 PM on a Thursday and they had a managers wine and cheese special from 4-5 PM. We asked if we could still join it but were told - "sorry , too late". We were there exactly at 5 PM. I wish they were more accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Our welcoming staff strives to enhance everyone’s vacation experience. We apologize that some things did not meet your expectations during your stay. It did not meet our expectations either. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking to improve and we hope you will give us another chance on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family of 6 have stayed at this time share hotel 3 different times because it was free to us as a gift of a time share owner.
Location: wonderful. Step right outside and on to the beach
Conditions: average to below normal. Not the cleanest. I bring Lysol and spray everything down. No house keeping that I have seen. They require you to vacuum and run dishwasher before U check out. There is a laundry room u can use for free.
Rooms: separate bedrooms, tiny kitchens with fridge and convection oven, tiny DR/LR, updated rooms have 2 flat screen TVs. We have 4 boys under age of 13 and I think we have out grown one room unless we let kids have bedroom and we slept on pull out sofa. The windows open but no balconies but with recent child deaths that has never been a negative for us.
Dining: no room service, Mexican restaurant down stairs is decent. There are a ton of food options within walking distance.
Amenities : indoor swimming pool, tanning bed, and sauna. They do a towel exchange in the pool area. Take your used towels in and trade for clean ones. This didn't bother us. Check in has always been quick and easy.
Negative: we have always stayed for the Labor Day holiday. During one out of three stays we had someone access our room while my 2 year old was in room And I was in bath. The stranger had a key that worked!!! After complaining to staff they didn't seem to mind until the time share holder who gifted us the room called and yelled. After that they called twice to check on us but didn't offer us another room or new keys.

Room Tip: Get an updated room and no rooms on main floor. Very noisy with in and out traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations, it did not meet mine either. I do hope you give us another opportunity in the future and agree that your family of 6 would be more comfortable in our lock-off suites, which sleep 8 comfortably. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is my second trip in a month to this resort. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Place is clean and roomy. Lots of things to do close by and restaurants galore to choose from. Can't go wrong. There is an activity everyday and there is a van that provides transportation to some of the tourist places in the area. Also, the restaurant in the building had a very friendly atmosphere and the food was good.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was a bit noisier than when we were on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that our inviting staff, great location, variety of activities and van excursions enhanced the quality of your visit to Virginia Beach. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our units and the rest of our resort amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. Once again thank you for choosing Ocean Sands and VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#7 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#13 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#15 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#14 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#3 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
#9 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.