We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is well located on the beach, but needs a lot of upgrading to bring it to a 4 star. although some renovations are underway, it was disappointing. Other guests agreed with us. Even a hairdryer was absent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort for your accommodations. I apologize that the hairdryer was absent from your unit, as we equip all of our units with one. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve & update our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    47
    21
    8
    14
See reviews for
95
71
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Ocean Sands Resort, is a wonderful place to stay. I really enjoyed my weekend getaway at the Ocean Sands Resort. The room was nice and clean. It was nice waking up to the sounds of the Ocean and just laying in bed watching the waves. The staff was very friendly and polite. I also took advantage of the work out room. I plan on going back in the near future and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your business and we hope to see you again at the Ocean Sands Resort on your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Ocean Sands Resort, is a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. My wife and I enjoyed the view from our room in the tower. Watching the sun rise in the morning was amazing. Every staff member was polite, friendly and helpful. I will be back and recommend this Hotel to all I know,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you back at the Ocean Sands Resort and anyone you may recommend to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is great for a family. To have a kitchen and a dishwasher is terrific.
Waking up to the sound and view of the ocean, priceless.
Can't say enough about the staff Mary McGregor was on top of everything she could not do enough for you incredibly helpful. If you needed something not even related to your stay she would help, find an answer and or offer a solution. We had a minor car accident the evening before check out and Mary allowed us to stay in the room a bit longer because we were working out the details of leaving the car in Virginia Beach for repair. Her compassion was very nice and to know that we were not being rushed to get out of the room was terrific. Thank you Mary, see you next weekend when we pick up the car.

Samantha Appleby - I recognized her from last year her the minute I walked in. Just like Mary, she was always there to help. She was at the front desk after our car accident on January 2nd. She immediately went on the internet and provided us with a towing company, repair company and rental car company.

It was so nice to see how all the staff work together so well. They are all respectful to each other and they like each other!

We always look forward to our stay at Ocean Sands and now feel that we have new friends at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Ocean Sands Resort in Virginia Beach! I’m pleased that Mary and Samantha made your stay enjoyable, even with your unfortunate accident. Thank you for choosing VSA Resorts to celebrate the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Great location! Noisy inadequate a/c for both rooms. Main unit in bedroom froze you out and noisy little fan to push air into second room did very little. Didn't complain because I new they were all booked up from conversation I heard with another customer. No balcony. Parking was very touchy since they have more floors than parking levels. I will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your business. I apologize that your stay was not to your standards. I certainly hope you will consider us again and give us the opportunity to make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Ocean Sands Resort in Virginia Beach. The staff at the resort were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. The indoor pool was great and the resort offered many activities. There were also many things to do close by such as the Virginia Zoo, Virginia aquarium, and the lighthouse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Ocean Sands Resort. We all appreciate your business and hope you will return for your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The title of this review summarized it all. What a special wonderful place to stay, while visiting the beautiful Virginia Beach! This is our first stay at the hospitable Ocean Sands Resort (OSR). The right-on-the-beach OSR includes a large building of six floors for runs of rooms, all FACE the Atlantic ocean, while we were assigned a nice unit on the 12th floor of the attached tower of 13 floors actually (12th then 14th floor; no 13th floor, of course). The tower has only 4 units per floor; again, every unit has the beautiful oceanview. We do not have any negative thing to say about OSR accommodations: wake up to view the sunrise, "see" the news on the HDTV, and play game on our iPad -- everything is right on and from the comfy bed. The cozy one-bedroom unit is beautifully appointed with modern amenities with free wifi, two large flat screen HDTVs in bedroom and living/dining area; the comfortable bed with high quality linens; a fully stocked kitchenette: decent dishwasher, refrigerator with icemaker, pots and pans, nice tableware service for six, glass baking dishes, etc; and good size bathroom with a whirpool bathtub/shower combination, and big, fluffy and thick white towels for guests. As all units of several beachfront resorts, the rooms lean towards small size for four adults; but it is very comfortable for a couple. The dolphins did not show off, or show up for us on this trip, as we could not find them between the hours of 5-9 a.m.; oh well, they might have taken weary rest after superstorm Sandy. FREE clothes washer and dryer are possibly on every other floor, I think. My husband and I did our laundry, as the FREE and not-too-busy (*_*) full-size washer and dryer are conveniently located down the end of the not-dark hall, near the vending drink machine on the 12th floor. The friendly staff is exceptional, pleasant and helpful (kudos to Antoine, who we found was always around to takes good care of us, a senior couple owning a few timeshares). The management team is so responsive and insanely efficient making guests feel valued and appreciated (hello to Natalie!). We did not take advantage of the complimentary transportation OSR provides for guests to visit museums, shopping mall, nearby Norfolk, etc; and we did not participate in other artsy/crafty activities either. We were busy doing our daily leisure walk on the 3-mile paved boardwalk behind the resort, which is conveniently located at the 1-1/2 mile marker! The pool is on the 6th floor, and a small Mexican restaurant on the 1st floor of the main building opens off-season on the weekend only. Oh, OSR also has a hospitality suite with free computer for guests to use. We appreciate the ample on-site parking with decent size parking spots; and the fresh made popcorn too (OMG!). Local restaurants, Walgreens, Ben & Jerry's, McDonalds, Wendy's, Dairy Queen, souvenir shops, Naval Aviation Museum, Neptune's Park, etc are within walking distance. In conclusion, we have NO one negative thing to say about OSR and the insanely efficient staff. We hope to return to OSR soon. Why try the rest when travelers can stay at the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I appreciate your review and your business. The staff and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Ocean Sands Resort. We look forward to having you back next fall season on your visit to Virginia Beach, if not sooner, and thank you again for choosing VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.