We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but very limited wheelchair access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Belvedere Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belvedere Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free bicycles & parking
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Robbinsville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, but very limited wheelchair access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The wheelchair access is poor, coffee shop and pool are near impossible and they need signs and a wider ramp to get into the office. The room has a slight lip getting in and heavy door. Bathroom is *not* accessible. That said, the desk clerk gave me pretty accurate information on the phone and I can manage. Personnel were *very* nice, helpful and accurate. Being right on the beach, priceless!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you Granny Oakley for staying with us in spite of our lack of wheelchair access. We do have many guests that make do as you have even though it is difficult. An older building like ours just doesn't have the structural capacity for access. We hope to see you again and will do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    79
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
122
89
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The only negative was that we had two beds in our room. Everything else was first class. The room we had, 309, has a great view of the ocean. The staff was very helpful with all needs. The coffee shop, though small, had great food but get their ealy or you will wait in line. We will come back there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
How wonderful to hear from our friends in Norway. Thank you so much Jack for your kind words. We will do our best to reserve a King bed on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hate to be negative but after a 3 night stay I have to question why this is one of the top rated hotels in VA Beach.I feel like this is the first time Trip Advisor let us down.

The reviews rave about charm, bikes, coffee shop, great service, etc. For us, this was just an older, somewhat worn down motel. The rooms are clean and very quiet (we slept great) but our 2 dbl bed room was small. The bathroom was the smallest I've seen in a hotel/motel. The coffee shop is really nothing special. In fact, there were bigger, open-air breakfast places just down the beach with great views and better prices. There's parking in the front (it's a tight squeeze) and a few bikes to borrow (for 1-hr) but none for smaller kids.

If the cost of the rooms were a steal I'd have a more positive view and be willing to accept what comes with staying at an older motel. But if you're paying the same rate as you would with a bigger hotel, I'd advise going with the bigger hotel, especially if you're staying for more than a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that we didn't live up to your expectations. The Belvedere is definitely the alternative to the bigger hotels that you referred to and somewhat older. However, the oceanfront room rates of those bigger hotels are considerably higher than ours here on the north end. If you prefer that experience, there are several good options near The Belvedere. For those who are looking for something different and a good value, We are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Everything about our stay was wonderful! The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and the location was perfect. There was absolutely no noise like you can get in other larger hotels. The only regret was that we had to leave! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much Sue. Your experience is what we strive for every day with all of our guests. I like to think we are not in the business of renting rooms, we are here to help everyone have the best vacation possible. Your feedback tells us we are on the right track. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is one of the last family-run hotels on the boardwalk.
Cons:
1. Rooms need updating and are just avg size
2. No breakfast included (other than salt water taffy free to guests in lobby.)
Pros:
1. All rooms oceanfront
2. Free parking
3. Use of free adult bicycles
4. They keep partyers out

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Mom & Pop (that's us) thank you for sharing your experience with us and highlighting your favorite amenities. We continue the tradition that began in 1969 when my wife's Mom & Pop built The Belvedere. While we do try and maintain the "old school charm" of an older hotel, we have updated everything from the new pool, coffee shop furniture & carpeting, lobby furniture reupholstering. In the rooms we have new carpeting, bedding, draperies, vanity sinks, toilets, flat screen TV's, microwaves, refrigerators, lamps, and artwork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for 5 days. My eight year old sons review- "We have to come back here! It is fabulous!" His favorites: Ice cream (a Popsicle cooler was added to the lobby during our stay), pool, balcony. I loved the balcony overlooking the boardwalk/ocean, the hospitality of the owners and staff, and the convenient location. The hotel provides (heated) showers near the pool to wash off sand after the beach. The rooms are quiet; we rarely heard other guests while we were in our room.

Room: The room was adequate. Lots of room for hangers, with a shelf located above. We had plenty of room for everything we brought (we did leave beach toys and chairs in the car trunk and got them out when we went to the beach). The toilet and tub are separated from the sink/vanity area. As other reviews noted, the toilet/tub area is tiny. There was some dust build up on the exhaust vent in the bathroom-that was the only dust I noticed in the room. The mattresses are a little hard, but we were able to sleep. We enjoyed having 4 pillows on each bed. This is not a fancy hotel, but it is great for families on a budget.

The Belvedere is a family oriented hotel, and we appreciate the owners efforts in providing a nice place for families to stay in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We love it when our younger guests (children) give us good reviews. With four kids and five grandkids of our own, we are all about the family vacation at The Belvedere. Thank you and your son for a Great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We found the room to be in need of an update, the beds were lumpy and uncomfortable...there was a hanging light almost directly in front of the glass sliding door, you had to walk around the light when you went in or out of the door. We stayed for a week and our bill was $1700, a bit pricey for what we got in return. On the positive side, the staff was nice and the room was clean. As for the diner, I took in my own drink, skim milk, and was told not to bring my drink in again, it was against their rules to bring my own drink, I asked them if they served skim milk and they said they didnot,but I couldn't bring my own drink regardless. I went elsewhere to eat next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input. All of our beds have a cushioned topper that most of our guests seem to prefer. We are glad to remove them upon request. Also, the hanging lamp is centered over the table in each room. If the table is moved the lamp does hang a little low. I have mentioned your concern about the skim milk to our Coffee Shop manager and she agrees to take it under consideration in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.