We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Beach Resort to your Saves list
Belvedere Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I visited in late April to get away from the city and had a wonderful stay. It's a cozy, comfortable space -- not a flashy, big-box, impersonal hotel -- and we loved that charming vibe. All units have ocean-facing balconies, and the Belvedere is located within easy walking distance to many restaurants (both casual and upscale) and a variety of shops. The front desk staff was incredibly welcoming and accommodating -- after a night spent next to particularly noisy neighbors, they moved us to a new room immediately and followed up with their security personnel. Bonus points for doing so graciously.

They offer a heated outdoor pool, free bike rentals, and a cute adjoining diner-style restaurant that opens early for breakfast (and delivers to individual rooms). We're in our twenties and found it to be relaxing but close enough to other attractions that we didn't feel secluded. Several families, older couples, and college students were also present. Facilities were clean and well-maintained. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have a mini-fridge and microwave. Ice machine is on the second floor. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
It's great to have new friends from the nation's capital. When you need a break from the big city we will be here for you. Thanks for the Wonderful Review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    79
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
124
96
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed 4 nights over Easter for a family gathering. There were 2 other family groups staying here also for several of the days. My initial impression pulling up to the hotel is that it appeared lost between the towering hotels next to it. I found during our stay, that was the beauty of this place. We loved our stay there. The rooms are very clean. The beds are very comfortable. The refrigerator is a bit larger than those normally found in hotel rooms. The availability of bicycles free to use made for easy going to anywhere along the beach. The coffee shop made an awesome breakfast. It was small and crowded, but well worth going there. There weren't any coffee makers or irons, but the front desk had them available to borrow. We would certainly stay here the next time in Virginia Beach, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
It's hard to believe but in 1969, when the Belvedere was built, our little family hotel was one of the tallest on the oceanfront. Thank you so much for trusting us with your family gathering during Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The type of place that clearly cares greatly how your experience was, you have no choice but to get online and rate it. Most folks touched on all the great positives of this place and I agree with all of them. I recommend it to anyone other than the younger crowd looking for a party -- this definitely is not that type of place. For families, couples, or friends looking for a quiet/relaxing getaway, it's perfect!

The super kind and friendly folks who run/own the place obviously understand that a beach stay should be relaxing and worry-free and they do everything they can to make you feel that way. They really helped make our first trip to VA Beach a lovely one -- we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Love is all you need! That and a quiet little escape from the big city. The title of your review has warmed quite a few hearts around here and we can't wait for your next getaway down our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Small hotel right on the beach with a beautiful view. I went with 4 of my friends. We drove from nyc to virginia beach which was about 12 hours each way. We stopped a few times so it took a little longer than normal. The bed was really comfortable and we paid under 300 each considering this was a last minute trip. Our room was facing the beach which was the most wonderful experience. Waking up to the sound of the waves was so soothing. Hoping to do it again soon. This was a June 2012 trip. This is the way to go if you're in a budget.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa. But there is a pool which isn't bad. Rooms facing the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We can't say enough about all of the wonderful guests that visit with us from New York. We thank you for making the trip down the coast and remembering us with your review. As always, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked based in TA reviews and I was not disappointed. It's a charming, clean, and friendly place to stay. The location on the beach is clean and at the quieter end of VB, which was really nice.
The room was very clean and comfy and had the perfect blend of vintage charm and modern updates (bed, linens, bathroom not looking old). Reminded me of places I stayed at in my childhood.
The diner is too cute and the food was really good. We sat and watched the dolphins in the water as we ate our breakfast. I would highly recommend this place if you like a bit of nostalgia but still expect good service. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in VB.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
The dolphin show is so much fun from your own balcony or the Coffee Shop window. And nostalgia is the perfect word to describe what we are all about. Thanks for taking a step back in time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My review is late on my own part but I just wanted to get it in there while thinking of it. We arrived on the 23rd of August and were planning to stay for 10 days. We loved it so much we stated an extra 3 days to relax and enjoy ourselves a little longer. We had a newly re-done efficiency on the 2nd floor and it had everything you would want or need. The oven was brand new, but we never got around to using it as there were so many great places to eat. One great place was actually the on premises diner for breakfast or lunch. They had a coconut cake I could never get enough of. The hotel staff (or family they were most like) were helpful and welcoming and you don't have to go to the Hilton to get the door opened for you. Very nice. Personally I don't drink, but if you do there is a fridge in the lobby to purchase wine and beer. The beach is great and you can have nice walks along the Boardwalk or borrow one of the hotel bikes and ride to the pier for some gift shopping ( the first shop on the right side had some nice higher end stuff, I get a comment every day about a small leather purse I bought) or you can choose a place for lunch or dinner. This hotel is at a quieter part of the beach-which I prefer, but a short walk or bike ride to the Neptunes statue and you will get live music and sometimes other things going on, depending on the day and time of the year. The pool and deck area is nice with tables and umbrellas and is in a good spot to stop at on your way back from the beach. I find the smaller family run place more caring, personal and more relaxing than the huge noisy hotels. The Belvedere is my choice for my next stay in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We appreciate so much everything you have shared. You've gotten right to the heart of what The Belvedere is all about and we will continue to do our best to live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Southern hospitality at the upmost
at this hotel. We totally enjoyed the employees who gave us a warm welcome when we arrived. We were there for just one night. Nothing fancy here, but it was comfortable and clean. It was an easy walk to all the sights. We took a long walk on the boardwalk. They offer free bikes. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate because it was windy and raining in the morning. We enjoyed the beautiful ocean front view from our balcony. Overall, I think it's a reasonably priced hotel that has that 'Mom and Pop' appeal!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We like to think of our entire staff as Southern Ladies & Gentlemen with the hospitality to match. Thanks again for being our guests and we hope to have nothing but sunshine on your next visit.
All our Best, "Mom & Pop"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.