We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Latest repeat visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belvedere Beach Resort to your Saves list
Belvedere Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Latest repeat visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've stayed every summer for a number of years at The Belvedere, and each time has been a pleasure. With two grandchildren in tow, this beach front property, with a small, but great attached breakfast and lunch diner, pool and first rate, friendly staff (who remember you from previous visits) has always left us very satisfied and given us a high value vacation experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thrilled to hear from you! Thanks so much for taking the time to support us on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful to know that you've enjoyed each and every stay with us—will make a point of sharing this with our team. Hope to see you again soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    79
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
123
92
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

.My sister & I just returned from a four night stay and had a wonderful time. Rooms were nice and clean. Pool was always clean. Staff was very friendly. We usually stay at a more expensive place but were perfectly satisfied with The Belvedere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Happy to hear you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us, Jean. Think you'll get a chance to come back again soon? We hope so! Thanks so much for reviewing us the other day and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Best wishes,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spent this past week at Virginia Beach...a spur-of-the-moment getaway for a few days. I stayed at an affordable "boutique" hotel the first three nights and then decided to add on a fourth night. I called The Belvedere on the outside change that they may have a room on a Friday night in the peak of the season. They did have a room, and the helpful person who assisted me on the phone was there to greet me at check-in as well. I never walked up to the front door of the hotel that I wasn't greeted by someone holding the door open and welcoming me in. This is an older but well-maintained property with room décor that reminds me of a 70's beach house on the Outer Banks. Dated, but very clean, comfortable, and quiet. I'm already looking forward to my next visit to Virginia Beach - only this time, I will book the entire stay at The Belvedere. And the coffee shop...? Well, unfortunately I didn't have time to wait in line this morning. But I hear it's fantastic and quite an institution in Virginia Beach, and I look forward to checking it out next time. This was so much more enjoyable than staying in a chain hotel. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Michael! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Next time you'll have to check out the restaurant—it's definitely a favorite. Enjoy the rest of your summer and come back soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcanum, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This Ohio family has traveled to Virginia Beach and stayed at several hotels through the years. This Summer (2013), at the Belvedere Beach Resort was the best stay ever! Though it's one of the smallest (and probably one of the only family-run) hotels on the beach, the service and attitude of the staff was excellent. This place was comfortable, quiet and had great service. The housekeeper we had (Kimberly) was so nice and catered to our every need. The office staff was always there 24/7 to help with anything! We even had a nice talk with the maintenance man in the elevator one day! LOVED the free bicycles for guests. The pool was clean. Our only regret was that we didn't get to eat at the diner....it was always so full!! We will definitely stay at this hotel again!! Already looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aw, way to make our day Shannon! Your kind words mean a lot to us and we can't wait to share your compliments with the rest of the team. Thanks so much for the stars and come back soon!

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

When I booked our trip to the Belvedere I really didn't know what to expect! Sometimes places look great on the web but not so nice in person. Not so with the Belvedere! From my phone call with the owner (owner!!!) to make our reservations to the wonderful greeting on arrival (room ready and waiting) we have a fantastic experience. The room was just as advertised and the staff and owners couldn't have been nicer. We were given tips on great places to eat in the area and were very happy with all the recommendations. We are always looking for smaller- family run places to stay and this was one of the best ones we have found anywhere, We hope to go back soon. Oh and don't forget the great diner- good food and fun!

Room Tip: Try the 5th floor- great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks so much for the stars! It's wonderful to hear that we managed to go beyond your expectations and that your family had such a fantastic stay. Hopefully we'll get to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of four just returned from a three day stay at the Belvedere. It was our first time staying there and we had a wonderful time! We truly appreciated the wonderful staff and their dedication to making this quaint, family-run business a standout.

We have stayed in glitzy high-rises, complete with glamorous amenities. Many times we left feeling that we paid way more than we should have. Many of these places were not as clean as the Belvedere. Our room there was spotless. The rooms must have just been redone; the nautical theme was light and airy. This hotel has it all: friendly, helpful people, a great little coffee shop/cafe that has a reputation from all of the locals as being the best on beach, free bikes to ride everywhere, free parking. All rooms are oceanfront with a great view of the best end of Virginia Beach, the North End. The boardwalk is right outside as well. Most Virginia Beach hotels are pricey, but the Belvedere makes it affordable for a family and you really feel like you didn't overpay at all.

We arrived in VB early, about 10:15 on a Friday. We realized that our room wouldn't be ready until later, but we wanted to take advantage of the great weather. We changed and were on the beach asap. At 10:45 our cell phone rings, saying our room was ready! We have been to hotels where we have been waiting until 5:30-6 to get into our room! I think that because of its size and the fact that it is a family run hotel, the owners are able to hire a tremendous staff and enough housekeepers to really make this an outstanding choice. We will be back and we will gladly recommend it to friends and family. I hope they keep this place going for a long time. There aren't too many nice, family run hotels left like this. It is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Happy to hear your short stay was so sweet! Given our dedication to being a family-friendly resort, we truly appreciate your compliments. Thanks so much for sharing and come back soon! We love the chance to see a familiar face.

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just finished a five day vacation at Belevedere and had a great stay! This quaint hotel is in a great spot, just a little north of the main action, far enough away but not too far. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with everything working as it should. The owners and staff couldn't have been friendlier, they seem to honestly care about making sure that all of their guests enjoy their stay! Every room had a breathtaking view of the boardwalk, beach and ocean!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Enjoyed reading your five-star review, Dean! We're happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay, and appreciate you sharing this with others on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.