We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for the money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Barclay Towers Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
AAA Members 10% off rate
Ranked #39 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible value for the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

At the price I wasn't expecting what we got. The suite was spacious, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. Two televisions, balcony over boardwalk, well stocked kitchenette, bathroom with very nice toiletries, extra pillows, comfy king-sized bed and fast internet. Yes, it is an older building but interior is quite nice. Yes, there is a man confirming you are staying at the hotel in the breakfast room before you eat. Continental breakfast offerings included various flavors danish, muffins, bagels, jams, jellies and such, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, instant oatmeal, yogurt, doughnuts and maybe more choices than I noticed. Muffins were moist and fresh. Parking across the street is normal for VA Beach. Location and view is fantastic. Maid service was great today. I didn't notice the service because I was on the balcony. When I came indoors the trash was gone, bed made, floor vacuumed, towels straightened and washclothes replenished. (We reuse towels to save washing water and energy.) I'm very well pleased.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    146
    50
    36
    33
See reviews for
155
83
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Recently returned from a vacation at Myrtle Beach Resort --- while there all we talked about is how much we love Barclay Towers and its location (right across from Planet Pizza -awesome, little grocery store, and beach store), its accomidations (large seperate bedroom so my husband can go to bed early while me and kids stay up later), the large boardwalk, the FREE breakfast (at Myrtle we got adults free but had to pay $7/child and my son only drank orange juice), friendly staff, room service (at 5pm in Myrtle our room had still not been serviced every day).... We have gone to Barclay about 6-7 years in a row and will book again there next year. My husband use to complain about the parking garage (but it is HUGE compared to the one in Myrtle we had to park in)... Stay at Barclay and you can park your car and never have to move it again. The only draw back is the limited luggage carts - but that is often because other people are rude and hoard them in their room... We had to pay for a BellHop in Myrtle and could never find one to help us unload and load.... We knew we loved Barclay, but now that we have gone another location, it won't happen again!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

IF YOU ARE USE TO SHERATON, MARRIOT, HILTON…ETC…DO NOT STAY HERE.
This place IS a dump, for the amount of money paid; we could have stayed in a NICER hotel. The pictures ARE VERY deceiving and DO NOT look like the rooms. Rooms are much smaller and dirtier. A MAJOR renovation is needed. Our bathroom was filthy. The bathtub needed to be recaulked, as there was mold growing in the crevices. The showerhead was full of mold and dirt. There were no bath towels there when we arrived. The maid never came to clean our room, WE HAD TO CALL. And when she came she did not do a very good job. There was still sand on the bathroom floor. They also, need to add another elevator; there are only 2 as during the busy times, THEY TAKE FOREVER to get to you. We had to wait 5-10 minutes and most of the time took the stairs. THIS PLACE REALLY GROSSED ME OUT. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. Those people who had a pleasant stay here must have gotten a room/suite that was hidden from us as well as the other disgusted guest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We just came back from the Barclay Towers and this is our second time there and again we were far from being disappointed. We started out by booking at the Ocean Key Resort (not recommended) because we had my father-in-law travelling with us and we wanted a 2 bedroom unit. Being the Barclay does not have 2 bedroom units, we apprehensively decided to book elsewhere this year. BIG MISTAKE. We should have booked from the beginning at the Barclay and we would not have saved ourselves a lot of headaches. To make a long story short we ended up getting re-imbursed for our room at the Ocean Key Resort and ran to the Barclay and booked a room there and the rest is history. The service at the Barclay is very accomodating and they offer a free continental breakfast with cereals, bagels, danishes, donuts, juice, coffee. The room was very clean and the kitchen is very functional. You cannot ask for a better view!! Open your livingroom curtain in the morning and there you have the million dollar scenery of the beach and ocean. This is our second time and we always request 3rd floor. The hotel has 8 floors but personally the 3rd floor is the best. You are not too high and not too low. I have recommended this hotel to neighbours and friends and for some, this year was their second time at the Barclay's and they can't thank me enough. This is not the Ritz Carleton or a 5 star resort but for the price and location, you can't go wrong. Hope this review helps anyone hesitating to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I bought a week timeshare online (ebay) and was worried about it due to the negative reviews on this site. NOT TRUE!. Stay for July 18-24 week. We have a wonderful time. Our room is on the top floor (8th) and view is SPECTACULAR!!. Room is clean and hotel staffs were great and helpful. No complain what so ever. Will do this again next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowelltown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This was our second year staying on the Virginia Beach oceanfront but our first at Barclay Towers. We swapped out through RCI (timeshare) and were a bit concerned that it was a hotel/timeshare. However, once we arrived, all concerns vanished! All of the staff were extremely courteous and very helpful! The suite was very clean and roomy for a one bedroom. I always hate having to do laundry while on vacation but some timeshares give you no choice about either washing your own towels/washcloths without paying an extra fee for them to change them out. At Barclay Towers they know vacation is all about relaxing and having fun! They exchange towels/washcloths and remove trash on a daily basis. They also offer a no charge midweek cleaning service which we didn't use. However, we got extra supplies from housekeeping instead of them coming in and cleaning and leaving the supplies. Barclay has Bath & Body Works soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and lotion! Isn't that terrific! None of those cheap, stinky things that most hotels/condos have! We even met one of their Board members on the elevator and he asked if everything was to our liking. As timeshare guests, we had a parking keycard to the garage across the street. Since it's saltwater in the air on the beach, we enjoyed having the parking garage. Did I mention that every room has a balcony that overlooks the ocean? I love to look at the ocean and hear the waves, but I hate sand so this worked out perfectly for me. Also, if you haven't been to Virginia Beach, it's great for those like me who do not prefer getting sand everywhere. There's a big boardwalk that runs between the hotels/condos and the beach. It's perfect for a nice stroll to enjoy the sound of the ocean and feel the breeze without getting all sandy. The only thing we didn't like about our stay at Barclay Towers was that it was impossible to get a luggage cart when checkout rolled around. The elevators were very busy and luggage carts were nowhere to be found. We ended up making two trips and carrying our luggage by hand onto the elevator. We were expecting about a 15 minute checkout but it ended up taking about 45 minutes to an hour due to the elevator traffic and the lack of available luggage carts. We would definitely stay there again -- but just be prepared for a long check-out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Enjoyed our stay, VERY FRIENDLY check in people, room was nice, clean and fairly large. Kitchen was fully loaded. Great Price. Should be 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Address: 809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.