We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barclay Towers Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
AAA Members 10% off rate
Ranked #51 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Parma, Ohio
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family & I had a wonderful time staying at the Barclay! The rooms were wonderful, very clean. The front desk personnel was very nice & polite. It is the perfect location on the boardwalk - live music a block or so down on the weekends you can enjoy on your balcony while watching the waves in the evening, beach isn't too crowded & parking onsite was a HUGE plus! Most hotels on the boardwalk have parking across the street.
I cannot say enough good things about our stay. I will definitely book our stay at the Barclay when we return later in the year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
'All good things must come to and end' (someone said) I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. We look forward to many more future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    170
    65
    38
    40
See reviews for
190
100
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New york
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed BarclayTowers over the weekend when i arrived i was greeted By Nia she was very nice and friendly always smiling.when i got to the room it had a very strong oder and not clean very well the floor were sticky and the carpet was not vacaum at all the counter still had food on it.i called down to the front desk and Nia was very apologetic even though it was not her fault and she took care of the problem but it was about in hour before anybody came to the room,then the next day the room was not even clean when we arrived back for a long day on the beach.Nia wasn't free so i went over to the other lady Jennifer i stood there for a minute because she was on her phone texting until Nia got her attention to let her know i was there. when i told her the problem she just asked what the room number was and said someone would be up and went back to texting.Noone came up my husband and i were upset to be paying this must and only have one staff member to be apologetic about it. if i decide to came back it will only because of Nia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The number one goal of our hotel is to provide courteous and dependable service, with comfortable and clean accommodations at reasonable prices. Please accept my apologies for the poor housekeeping and the un-attentive desk staff member. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I cannot overemphasis what a great location Barclay Towers is situated. If you like the beach and the activity of the boardwalk, all rooms overlook the ocean and the boardwalk. Unlike NJ beaches (what I am used to), the VA beaches are not as crowded, don't require you to pay to use, are cleaner and friendlier (not a surprise). Barclay Towers staff is very accommodating. The rooms are a little dated, but clean. I would not recommend the continental breakfast as it is marginal at best (but not atypical). All in all, I would recommend Barclay Towers and I am considering staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. Virginia Beach does have such great beaches and a great boardwalk too! We appreciate your business and your comments! I hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After reading several reviews of the Barclay Towers, I was a bit worried about our one-week RCI exchange there. Like every other timeshare "resort" we have stayed at (even the gold crown ones) there were things that could be improved, but overall we had a great stay.

Despite being dated, the general building and our room were clean for the most part. It looked as if our room has had some updates (new couch), although it was clear that no one had cleaned behind the TV for some time. We also noticed the paint on our entry door was peeling off and the current washers and dryers should be swapped out with newer models. But we didn't spend our time behind the TV, only saw the peeling paint when we entered the room, and still had clean clothes.

We traveled with 3 kids, so I can honestly say that one of the things that impressed me most was that they included a small vacuum in the room. (Other places we have stayed we have always had to request them). Also, unlike most timeshares, our towels were refreshed daily AND linens were changed and the general areas were cleaned twice during our stay. We cooked a few times during our stay and I was impressed with the kitchen inventory for cooking.

The room itself was a bit small, but not much smaller than other 1 bedroom oceanfront rooms we have stayed at. While it does seem a little awkward at first that you need to walk through a bedroom to get to your living room and balcony, it was quickly overlooked. It would have been nice to have something to prop the balcony door open with, but we were just happy to have a balcony. My husband and I spent many nights just enjoying the sound of the ocean while the kids watched a movie on the pull out couch. The balcony door did have a decent lock so we didn't worry about the kids while we slept in the other room. The hotel did not really offer anything in terms of activities and we never ate at the hotel breakfast, But, the indoor pool was always a comfortable temperature and never too crowded and the hot tub was nice.

The location of the Barclay was fantastic. There are two beach playscapes nearby. We usually went to the closer one (two minute walk) during the day, but would often walk after dinner to the other one which was about a five minute walk in the opposite direction. There is plenty to do nearby -- we hit the zoo, Norfolk, the aviation museum and even just found a great spot to watch the flyovers land at the Oceana military base. The beach at First Landing state park is a hidden gem and the Cape Henry lighthouse area is worth visiting (just be prepared to have your car searched--it's on a military base!)

There is plenty to eat in the area, and we were surprised by how good Planet Pizza (across the street) actually was. We did treat ourselves to Captain George's Seafood Restaurant one night, which was by far one of the better buffets we have been too in a long time.

Overall, we had a very positive experience at the Barclay and would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your time share week at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your thorough review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments! Virginia Beach is such a great vacation destination, and it is my goal to provide top notch accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Barclay is a great hotel to stay a week while in Virginia Beach. Located directly on the beach, the Barclay is perfect for the week at the beach vacation. The rooms are of a nice size ... not huge but a good size for a family of three or four. Full kitchen. The staff are friendly and helpful. Some areas where the Barclay is lacking: (1) the continental breakfast that is provided is fairly spartan ... It is OK if your frame of reference is a gite in the south of France but if you are used to the feast provided by the Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn, you will be disappointed; (2) the wi-fi connection ... well, let's be frank ... sucks. On the beach side of the room it is hit-or-miss. And, it is either overwhelmed by the number of guests simultaneously using it or it is not a very stable connection; and (3), the fitness center does not open until 7:00 am. OK ... OK ... you're at the beach, a 2-mile boardwalk just outside your door, running on the treadmill like a gerbil should not be your first choice.

These "deficiencies" aside, the Barclay Towers is my first choice for a weeklong stay in Virginia Beach.

A word of advice about visiting Virginia Beach over the July 4th weekend: don't leave the beach area ... you might not be able to get back to your hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your week at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your ciomments, as they help us to provide opportunites for improvement. We look forward to many more return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Positive attributes were location (calmer southern end of beach), price, room design, breakfast included, simplicity of reservations due to all rooms in the hotel being identical, non-smoking, non-pet, elevators worked well, staff was friendly, and the entire facility including our room was generally well-kept. Improvements could be made in the areas of check-in (confusing, not well marked, narrow fire-lane, no one to direct you when you first arrive), refrigerator was dorm-sized and would not keep ice-cream frozen, dishes and silverware were minimal (we had to ask for spoons), the air system was noisy (but it was adjustable and kept the room comfortable) and linens for the pullout bed were substandard. With all that said I would return to the Barclay for another visit due to the overall value.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. The only negotiation might be a higher or lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. We look forward to many more future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Barclay Towers for 7 days. Location was great, staff was very friendly and pleasant. Housekeeper (Joyce) was great. Breakfast was ok, somedays we were unable to get bagels and donuts. We learned to go early to get a selection. The patio was a real treat. The pool was clean and their was always fresh towels. This was our second time staying at Barclay Towers and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay again at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your repeat business and your comments! We look forward to many more return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Address: 809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.