We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas to your Saves list
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. It exceeded our expectations. The staff, especially the hotel manager, was so friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend it!!! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how our hotel and team members helped make your special anniversary trip a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. Please come visit us again soon!
-Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    65
    24
    23
    31
See reviews for
60
52
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Upon arriving, the Boardwalk seemed nice and the location is great if you have an ocean view. Once we got up the room we were surprised at how nice the room was, but were disappointed when we realized that we had a city view rather than an ocean front view. A call was made and the room was exchanged to what seemed to be the same predicament, but we just went along with it anyways. The room was fairly clean but not up to par, and the dishes were not "sanitized" as described- there seemed to be leftover residue from the last tenants so washing everything twice was a must. The next morning after being there a couple of hours, we complained that our toilet was not working properly and called maintenance. They came and fixed it so we thought and not even 45 minutes later after no one using it the toilet stars to overflow and leak water out like a babbling brook. It took someone at least 7 minutes to come in- I timed it by recording a video. They came in stopped the water and cleaned up the mess and the maintenance tech was very apologetic and said that it never got that bad..so we were moved to a different room. Called the manager to maybe get a voucher for a dinner or something for all of our stuff being ruined and wet with the flooding and was met by an unpleasant, unprofessional GM, who could not care less because as a timeshare exchange we were supposedly upgraded to this ocean front room after our room flooded because of their facility malfunction and was told nothing could be done because they upgraded us when they didn't have to and that they were losing revenue because they could renting to other customers..really? How unprofessional. Then she wanted to do an assessment of our wet items ( clothes, jackets, suitcases, my playstation packed in a box) that were on the floor after just having moved everything. The person who came to do the assessment was the housekeeping manager who had no idea why she was sent up as didn't know what our items were wet for. We were promised dryer money to dry our wet clothes and didn't receive a thing. Terrible experience with the GM Who needs to lose the attitude as be more accommodating and a staff who had no idea what was going on. Clean up the Rooms get more up to date furniture and better cooking equipment..ie, stovetop,pots,pans, etc as well as a working hot tub since there is nothing else to do in this so called resort and villa. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I am Nicole, the General Manager at this hotel. I would like to thank you for offering this feedback about your recent stay with us. I deeply regret that you had a poor experience with our staff member and some issues in your room. We are consistently motivating our staff in order to better serve our guests and I will take every measure to make sure that our staff knows that every day is their day in the spotlight with the guests. I do not believe I spoke with you during your stay and I am very sorry to hear that our efforts to repair the situation were not up to your standards. I believe that we were waiting to hear from you how much you required to dry your items in order to reimburse you for that expense. My understanding is that my manager was trying to explain that we did upgrade the view of your room in an effort to recompense for the toilet overflowing issue and I apologize if that was not explained correctly. These issues are certainly not typical here at our resort and I hope that you will stay with us again so we will have an opportunity to make this up to you!
Thank you again for your feedback and business!
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were fortunate to have a one week stay at Boardwalk and everything was absolutely wonderful. Centrally location at 16th St. and easy to find just a couple a couple of blocks south of the main access road. Free covered garage parking available. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and professional. Really made us feel welcome. Comfortable size, well kept, 9- 10 story building with about 100 (?) units allowed for everything...indoor pool, lounge, restaurant, fitness center, etc. to be very convenient. Condo was well equipped, clean, fresh, and with a superb beachfront view of the Atlantic Ocean. The three mile actual Virginia Beach boardwalk is 20 steps from the door. Fantastic. Many, many stores, bars, and restaurants in the very immediate area. Easy walking to everything. Upon returning to Virginia Beach, this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our Resort! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens makes our resort a "must stay" Virginia Beach destination! I have shared with our staff that you were very happy with their service and they were delighted. The Boardwalk Resort & Villas is 11 stories and has 106 rooms. We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good luck on trying to reach the dinnerware and glassware due to the configuration of the kitchen cabinets. One would need, at the very least, a stepstool. Reaching over the stove to get to the dishes was a disaster waiting to happen. In all, however, the kitchen provided everything we needed (except steak knives and a pair of scissors) including a pantry to store our groceries.

Ditto on the lack of closet and bureau space. We too lived out of our suitcases unless we used the 2nd bedroom efficiency unit which did have a large bureau.

The living room with its wrap-around uncomfortable seating was a little on the small side, thus we relocated the chair from the bedroom to provide better seating. At no fault of the resort, the TV reception provided by Cox Communications was very poor during the NFL playoff between the Baltimore Ravens and the Denver Broncos. At first we attributed the bad reception to the fact that it was snowing in Denver but that wasn't the case.

There were no attempts made by management to address the issue of poor lighting in the unit. We moved the living room table lamp to the center of the dining room table in order to have sufficient lighting for reading. We also brought to their attention how difficult it was to achieve a proper temperature balance between the two rooms with the window "motel-type" heat pumps. We had to alternate between heating one room at a time or we'd be too warm or too cool.

There was a tiny narrow balcony opening from the bedroom but none in the living room which had floor to ceiling windows.

The bathroom size and layout was more than adequate but additional towel racks would have been appreciated.

It sounds as though we're being too critical about the little things, but we enjoyed our attractively decorated 2-bedroom, 2-bath lockout unit on the 10th-floor at this waterfront resort along with its convenient location.

Be sure to visit Mary's Restaurant a short walk away. We had a great lunch at an extremely afforable price with enough left-overs for another meal. Try to visit the Military Aviation Museum a short distance away where there are hundreds of aircraft from the early 1900's until today.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear hikerrl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how your trip was a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. I agree our property has a great location with even better views!
I deeply apologize we were not able to assist you with changing the lighting or the heating/cooling system in the unit. We are planning to change the dining light to a different fixture next year. It can be challenging to adjust to the temperatures in Virginia Beach with this climate; I have used heat and cooling the same day in my car on more than one occasion!

Additionally, we will be doing planned renovations in the coming year that will add more storage space to the guestrooms. This project also includes new flat screen TVs in the bedrooms, new mattresses, new carpeting and wall vinyl, new sofas in living room and bedroom, and new tops on all our coffee tables and end tables. We just completed the 10th floor about 2 weeks ago- so the room you stayed in now has that storage space and a new look all around! Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very clean place. Employees are so nice and extremely helpful. Especially Precious!!
Stayed here for a week in March. View is great.
Have a great pool and awesome layout.
The only negative thing I can say, is they need more comfortable beds. However, they were replacing different items while we were there.
Definitely going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort! My staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! I have shared your comments and Precious was so happy to be mentioned by name on your comment! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and a great location right near the pier and all the "action" is part of why our resort can't be beat! Another great thing is that in addition to carpet, wall vinyl and addition of flat screen TV, closet and drawer space in the rooms, we just replaced all our mattresses! In addition, we have new furniture including tables and sleeper sofas on order for this year! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Came to VA beach in February knowing it would be a crapshoot with the weather. We pulled in late at night and the staff was fantastic- we got in right away so we could get settled. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. (5th floor) The door opens into a small kitchen area and a good sized living room with a large wrap-around couch (pull-out sofa) and windows that overlook the ocean- great view. The bedroom is also a good-sized room with a double bed and a pull out sofa sleeper. So you really could fit a couple of adults and kids in the room without too much of a problem. The bathroom was weird- it had a toilet with two doors, but the sink and shower were not walled off and you were in the bedroom area. It wasn't a problem, but might be inconvenient for a family. The balcony is right off of the bedroom, so you can lay in bed and watch the waves- can't beat that! The pool is nice and warm- 4-feet deep, but large enough to really move around in. They also have a nice work out room. My only gripe- the wireless Internet kept bouncing me off, so it was annoying. Other than that, a great quiet stay in mid- winter. GREAT location on the strip, especially in summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens doesn't hurt either! I have shared with our staff that you were very happy with their service and they were delighted. The set up of the shower area is an open floor plan with the bedroom; however, we do offer privacy curtains upon request for our guests who want that area closed off. We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We traded a week of timeshare to come here in January 2013.

First, the views are breathtaking! We were on the 10th floor in a 2 BR oceanfront unit. The wall on the ocean is basically all glass. The main BR had a sliding glass door which opened to a nice private balcony. The rest of the unit is open and comfortable.

ALL the staff: The desk folks, housekeeping, maintenance and management were marvelous! We had some unique special requests, and they all truly worked until they came up with ways to make our wishes happen.

The place DOES need refurbishing but most of the furniture and appliances were in OK shape. The dishwasher was broken, but was promptly fixed by the staff. The beds are queens, but comfortable. In the whole 2 BR unit there was only 1 tiny closet and NO BUREAUS!!! I lived out of a suitcase for a week... :-(

They ARE renovating, and have come up with a unique way to make more storage space. I'm looking forward to coming back when they're done! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how our hotel and team members helped make your trip a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. I agree our property has a great location with even better views!
Additionally, we will be doing planned renovations in the coming year that will add more storage space to the guestrooms. This project also includes new flat screen TVs in the bedrooms, new mattresses, new carpeting and wall vinyl, new sofas in living room and bedroom, and new tops on all our coffee tables and end tables. Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Address: 1601 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.