We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Save Saved
You added The Breakers Resort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Middleport, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed 2 nights, the price was great, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, A cousin from Norfolk met us for a few drinks, didnt want to drive back, we got a parking pass and she spent the night with us, no extra charge or anything. we would def stay here again. we even used the free bikes one morning!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    75
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
85
78
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at The Breakers on our first trip to Virginia Beach in August 2012. My family loved it! We will definitely be staying here the next time we visit VA Beach (probably again this summer!). The place was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the maid service was fantastic! Best of all, it's centrally located on the board walk. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great room, closest hotel to fishing pier & center for beach activities. We could see the boats going in & out the inlet from our room.Music, boardwalk,free bikes for hotel guests,free breakfast, excellent 3 egg omelette, only give extra for gratuity. Room 507 was super with corner balcony view. Hotel staff was.very friendly & attentive to our family having a super quality visit. My wife loved the room better than a 5 star hotel in Atlanta. We enjoyed the street festival Saturday night & the Air show was centers right in front of our hotel feat only added to an unblevibale stay. Our first trip to Virginia Beach Boardwalk. We will defiantly be returning to the Breakers Resort. Greg & Maryna from Charlotte,NC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I rated it 3 stars based on my overall feeling in relation to other places. Here are the pros and cons and you can decide what meets your needs and if the cons are really significant.
PROs: Easy to find and get to. Very accommodating staff...very nice and any request we made was fulfilled. The breakfast was good....very friendly, busy @ times, but no need to pay more at some less than healthy buffet down the road. Plenty of room for our family of 4 in a suite. House keeping was pleasant and timely. Good location.
CONs: If you like light blocking curtains you may be disappointed. Yes, they have it, but the sides and bottom are virtually impossible to keep in place. Bathroom is small, but functional. Pool was convenient, but small. The towels are similar in texture to the beach. Older style carpet and walls. Might get noisy in the thick of the season....we were there Memorial Day and it wasn't too bad. Then again, you'd probably stay at the North end if you wanted low noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife picked this place for her annual girls trip to the beach with a co-worker after staying at
the Marjac last year a few blocks north which was rundown and had crappy service. This hotel was a gem compared to that one! The room was clean and housekeeping was done daily
with all towels, coffee and sundries replenished as they should be. Beds were comfortable
and the location was excellent. There was most anything you wanted within walking distance
so they only moved the car a few times in 4 days and that was just for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for best view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Old establishment that could use some work. Clean and in a good location. Friendly people and family owned. Tiny pool and fair balcony. The railings actually obstructed the view. Roman's are larges and fully equipped.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were there in the end of April. The weather was cold and rainy but it was still quite a great trip! We didn't check in until after midnight and the guy at the front desk was very pleasant and moved our room to a higher floor. The hotel is right on the beach by the pier and is in a good location. The resort is very reasonably priced. Though due to the weather we didn't get to use it, the pool area looked clean and the pool was heated.

Don't skip breakfast!!! The breakfast was so yummy and very reasonably priced. Jimi, the waitress, is a lot of fun and had my coffee ready for my boyfriend to pick up every morning! She even came in early on Monday so she could see us off. Don't hesitate to ask her about the area either she will give you good local tips!

Only complaints would be the door to the balcony whistled very loudly and we had to rig it with a plastic bottle to sleep as the sound was irritating. Also, it's clearly an older hotel and you can hear the plumbing throughout. I honestly have to nit pick to complain about this place!!

We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor for a great view of the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Virginia Beach, The Breakers Resort Inn is convienient to shopping, dining, nightlife and attractions. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is a memorable experience. We offer all oceanfront rooms and suites that your family will enjoy, as well as our King rooms with in-room Jacuzzi for a romantic couple's get a way. We look forward to welcoming you to The Breakers Resort Inn when you vacation in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.