We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yearly stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers Resort Inn to your Saves list
The Breakers Resort Inn
1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
baltimore md.
1 review
“yearly stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

we have stayed at breakers in va. beach since 1997. we have stayed during a bad hurricane. they suggested that we leave to get to safety. we asked to stay. they again asked us to leave. we were allowed to stay because we felt we could get to any safe place in time. we watched chairs flying past the fifth floor balcony.power went down for approx. 2 hours. they fed us,kept close tabs on us and we really appreciate how they treated us.

when we checked out and paid after a weeks stay they gave us half our money back. this hotel is family owned and a great stay for anybody. i am a retired law enforcement officer. larry h. morris sr.

Room Tip: get one with a kichen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    98
    33
    11
    17
See reviews for
106
97
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Breakers every year for our anniversary in March and at least once during the summer as a family vacation with our kids and grandkids. The hotel is always staffed 24/7. We always arrive early so we do not lose a day traveling. We have never been told we cannot check in early. The staff are always polite and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakersvb, General Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. We appreciate you repeat business. Return customers make all our efforts worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is my second review of The Breakers. I just booked my room and I have to rave about how I am so pleased with the staff and the location of this hotel. It is reasonably priced, the rooms look right out to the ocean and the staff couldn't be more nice. I would definately recommend The Breakers to friends and family (and strangers :) )

We will be staying at the end of May 2013 and are very excited to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the king suite. The pros: The rooms are spacious and the balcony overlooking the ocean is great. There was plenty of hot water to fill the tub and the jacuzzi worked with no problems. The staff was very pleasant, checking in and out was fast, and the area was quiet at night. You can't beat the location, right on the water and in walking distance of so many shops, restaurants and activities. The cons: The tub was a little dirty and the toilet had obviously only been wiped down for its recent "cleanings" and definitely has not been disinfected in a while. The little shampoo bottle was almost empty and when little things are missed I wonder about other things.

Overall the hotel is outdated and really needs some new carpeting and a fresh coat of paint. It has an "old" feel about it. That being said we were looking for a relaxing evening with an in-room jacuzzi and this resort provided that. The breakfast at the cafe was okay, nothing spectacular, but it was cheap and the server was very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean but higher floors are quieter given that people are out late on the boardwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Omg....where do i begin....this hotel is awesome. We stayed Friday night. They let my husband and I check in early...the king suite with jacuzzi was magnificent, clean, and cozy. The water pressure in the shower was perfect and the hot water last for hours. The breakfast in their cafe was delicious and low prices. I will recommend this hotel before any other.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrico, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at The Breakers Jan 26-27, 2013 with our best friends for a nice long weekend. We booked the Penthouse Suite but after checking in the heat pump wasn't working correct. No problem the staff was fast to respond and moved us from the penthouse down 1 floor to adjoining rooms. The breakfast was to die for. Some of the best food we've had in ages. Thank you chief and thank you to the staff of the Breakers for a wonderful long weekend. We'll return soon.

Room Tip: The rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My Husband is in the Navy and came home for a christmas visit and my mother surprised us with a room here, I'd had never heard of the Hotel before so I was a little hesitant about the Jacuzzi in the room, however when we got there, the view and room took my breath away!!!! even though its winter the private roof deck we had was amazing!!!!! the Jacuzzi was spotless and had very very nice jets in the tub, the King Size bed was the best hotel sleep I ever had....We are defiantly making a tradition of staying here occasionally since we got stationed at Norfolk Naval. Thank Y'all for such great service!!!

Room Tip: we got room 810 on the 9th floor and it has its own private roof deck, plus a regular balcony. Betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#3 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#15 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
#7 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#42 of 114 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#2 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#6 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Virginia Beach, The Breakers Resort Inn is convienient to shopping, dining, nightlife and attractions. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is a memorable experience. We offer all oceanfront rooms and suites that your family will enjoy, as well as our King rooms with in-room Jacuzzi for a romantic couple's get a way. We look forward to welcoming you to The Breakers Resort Inn when you vacation in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.