We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but a great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Breakers Resort Inn to your Saves list
The Breakers Resort Inn
1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buckingham, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but a great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

At the breakers for a conference stay.....the great things: a clean oceanfront room with coffee maker, fridge, microwave, a very reasonable breakfast/lunch options in the onsite cafe, a friendly staff, free bikes for guest, heated outdoor pool......the not so great: very cramped elevators, halls, and parking. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    84
    31
    10
    16
See reviews for
93
85
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Virginia Beach is lined with nice properties - many of which, unfortunately, are associated with time-share companies. We stayed at Breakers and visited our family who stayed next door at one such time-share hotel, and even as visitors, we were hassled on our way in to visit my wife's family in their hotel room. They bug you with offers and deals, come by here and watch this presentation, blah blah blah. I'm on vacation; I don't want to be bothered. It's like going to the mall and being hassled by those people at the kiosks in the center of the aisle. Just annoying. Breakers, however is a great hotel, staffed by very nice, very accommodating people that do not bother you with such tripe. They have an outdoor heated pool and a small restaurant with basic breakfast and lunch fare. The room was clean, and the cleaning service was excellent, providing us with plenty of extra towels for the beach and the pool. The price was great; much lower than expected for this area. If this hasn't convinced you to stay here, just please be wary of the time-share monsters elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and My boyfriend stayed at the Breakers mid September for two nights. I wasn't around for the check-in and i didn't have any communication with the staff so I cant comment on that. The room however was very nice, nicer than I expected. He got us the room for the Jacuzzi tub because I've been trying to find a decent place that had one. The tub is actually in the room not in the bathroom and Its in a corner with surrounding mirrors. King Sized bed, nice desk with chair, comfortable chair in the corner and a good sized bathroom. Very spacious and plenty of seating. We had a corner unit so the balcony felt kind of blocked in but it still had a lovely view of the Ocean. We saw the sun set in the hallway in front of the room and watched the sun rise on the balcony. The carpet could probably use replacing and maybe the bedding but its okay. For maybe a special occasion for a relaxing time i would return and also recommend :]

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Breakers several times and they never disappoint. Everyone from the front desk, cafe and housekeeping are incredibly nice and always helpful.
The rooms are clean and a nice size. This is one of the few oceanfront hotels that offers an outdoor pool. Due to placement the pool doesn't get sun the entire day but you can't have it all.
Their Breakaway deals can't be beat. I will continue to support this family owned hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook the pool making them a little noisier than the south side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second year in a row staying at The Breakers. This time we extended our stay to 11 nights and upgraded to a king room with a jacuzzi tub. We found the hotel just as good as last year. In fact, this year, the breakfast menu had been added to and the food was much better. If you're there, you should try the crab omelette - it was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this room on their breakaway discount and it proved to be a great find. 4 nights oceanfront at less than $100/night. The room was clean and the hotel is located one block up from the pier. Easy walk to all the bands playing on the beach and restaurants. Staff was friendly and we ate at the restaurant for breakfast one morning and it was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel served its purpose for my two children and I. My kids and I had other issues while on vacation but the hotel wasn't one of them. The room we had was a standard room. Two beds, a fringe and a microwave. We had a nice view and we were lucky to get a third floor room. Also the lady at the front desk was very nice to let us check in early at 11:00. I found her to be very friendly and welcoming. The cafe (I only ate there twice for breakfast) served its purpose if you wanted a quick bite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Virginia Beach, The Breakers Resort Inn is convienient to shopping, dining, nightlife and attractions. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is a memorable experience. We offer all oceanfront rooms and suites that your family will enjoy, as well as our King rooms with in-room Jacuzzi for a romantic couple's get a way. We look forward to welcoming you to The Breakers Resort Inn when you vacation in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.