We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wasnt a good stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Virginia Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 1000 Points
Ranked #97 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
NEWARK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wasnt a good stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

the elevator broke down.we walked up and down 121 steps up and then 121 steps down..
but the hotels in a great location..great views

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge19, General Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    66
    98
    107
    199
See reviews for
246
102
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MCGAHEYSVILLE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Over all the stay and facility was fair. Bathrooms were small, most light switches were inoperative. The elevator broke down the second day of our trip and was still not functional by our departure date 5 days later. Real rough on those with rooms on upper most floors!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge19, General Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHITE PLAINS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I knew starting out that it was a very inexpensive compared to other hotels and had no expectation for a 3 star hotel. During check in is when we were told the elevator was not working, but luckily we were given a room on the 2nd floor; others were not so lucky. We picked the hotel because it had a pool and had hoped to use the pool because we had a 2 year old with us that was afraid of the ocean. The day we arrived was a beautiful day in the 70's, but the pool was locked. The bathroom was cramped, but otherwise the room was acceptable. What really ruined the stay was the person(s) yelling and cussing during the night. The person was in the parking lot area and it echoed, so almost in stereo. No staff person ever intervened or checked on the situation because he continued for an hour. Once he left the parking lot he continued the noise in his room and on the balcony. In short I would stay there again but not during the summer months when the price is higher.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge19, General Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the Travelodge oceanfront in Virginia Beach, VA to celebrate a wedding anniversary as well as to enjoy the Neptune Festival. First, I would like to say that I have stayed at some Wyndham brand hotels with great success but this was by far the worst.The website is very misleading as the rooms are not up to standard. I don't know when those photos were taken to represent the facility but they are not accurate. The springs in the pull out sofa were broken and the mattress cover still did not look clean enough. The room conditions were not impressive but we needed some place to stay and since this was Neptune Festival week, we were hard pressed to find ocean front rooms. That was one reason why we made the reservation so far in advance. The room, in fact the hotel itself needs some renovating. The elevator was in operational the last two days of our 4 days there. And needless to say it wasn't fixed by the time we left. Climbing up and down 6 flights of stairs anytime we wanted to go anyway was not the answer. The hotel did try to appease the guests by giving a percentage off the room rates but that was only after a lot of the guests were complaining and some actually checked out. That did not compensate for the trouble of climbing those stairs nor the condition of the rooms. We came to the beach to enjoy the view, in which, I will say that is one positive that the "hotel" does have going for it, the view and the close proximity to everything. That's one reason why we chose it. I know the old saying goes, you get what you pay for, but I was expecting to have gotten some quality, but no.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge19, General Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYNCHBURG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had read the reviews on this hotel and some of them scared me. We went on a Thursday and stayed thur Saturday. My room was on the Seven floor it was nice had a privated balony and the bathroom was small , but our bedroom worked out for us we had a king side bed so lots of room and the bed was comfort. We enjoyed the view to just look out in the ocean see dolphins and hear the planes overhead. The only thing was the elevator was small and kind of scared me. but overall we enjoyed our visited and i plan on useing this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge19, General Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

to tell you the truthg it wasnt all that bad the front desk was nice and the maintenance man was on his job. i read somewhere on another review that he was rude but to me that didnt fit his demeanor at all so whoever you are dont lie just because your room wasnt up to par as you expected the travelodge isnt the marriot now. the hotel room was ok not the best but what do you expect for the price they are doing alot of renovation work this winter so hopefuly when i come back they will have all there issues fixed up. thank you again and have a nice day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge19, General Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grottoes, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Let me first state that we visited off-season in order to see the annual Oceana Air Show and spend some quiet-time at the beach with our immediate family with few others on the beach. We're pretty flexible and not to easily offended as we live in the country and a hotel stay is always a nice change.

First the Positives:
*Large, two-room efficiency for family (sleeps up to 6)
*Two AC units kept the rooms plenty cool and the nonstop fan setting drowned outside noises for those who aren't use to jet noise, boardwalk activity, nightclub musicians next door, and loud guests in hallways.
*2 dressers, a hall closet, a hanging bar, in-room safe, iron board & iron, blowdryer, coffee maker with daily coffees/condiment packets, and full-length mirror were nice additions.
*Complimentary local paper in lobby.
*Kitchenette includes: flat-top stovetop, microwave, waist-high fridge (no freezer), kitchen cabinets, full sink. (No utensils, pots, plates, etc are included: bring your own)
*Nice size balcony with full picture window with drapes and sheers.
*Large living area even with sleeper sofa extended all week. One table with two chairs, but two balcony lawn chairs can be brought inside to increase seating.
*Bathroom with ample daily soaps/shampoo plus clean towels. Tons of hot water and exhaust fan that actually worked.
*Pillows were fluffy enough, but we also brought additional ones from home. Bedding was clean.
*Kind, friendly staff who were quick to help.
*Parking was a bit easier than hotels that we've visited in the past.
*Daily breakfast: 2 dry cereal choices, Milk, Coffee, Creamer cups, fresh fruit, oatmeal packets, OJ, Apple Juice, box-type pastries: danishes, banana nut minimuffins, and minidoughnuts. Take a tray if you're "waitressing" for your family as there is NOT a place to eat in the lobby.
*Outdoor pool for the kids (limit 21 people) in the parking lot with privacy fence. Small, but clean.

Cons:
*Sleeper sofa is typical so you will the feel bars through the thin mattress. Regular beds in room were comfy; although doubles felt small for the parents.
*Bathroom had mildew in the caulking around everything on the faucet end. The bathroom is the about the size of a small handicap bathroom stall....literally. A person with handicaps or weight-issues may have a lot of problems manuevering in the tiny space. You can touch both walls of bathrooms when you close the door and I hit my shin more than once on the toilet when trying to manuever to close the door. It is also very close to the side the bed which might wake people during the night if someone needs to use it; the sink is in the hallway apart from the bathroom.
*Elevator is slow with very noisy door, but since we were on the fourth floor we got exercise when it was too busy to wait. The limit is 6 people per ride.
*We're pretty self-cleaning and neat in hotel rooms, but we didn't have our room vaccumed while we were there for five days. It wasn't bad, but it might have been nice to get some of the sand.
*Finally....like other reviews, we found one dead cockroach on the kitchenette floor and a live one sitting on the night stand. Thankfully they were the last ones we saw, but we kept all the suitcases on top of things all week.....just in case.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge19, General Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Virginia Beach

Address: 1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Virginia Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including penthouse suites with a Jacuzzi and kitchenette, rooms with private balconies and non-smoking rooms. Boost your energy with our free continental breakfast before lounging on our sundeck or diving into our outdoor(seasonal) pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet lets you go online from your laptop anywhere in the hotel. From guest laundry service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, we provide all the amenities to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.