We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #29 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

This hotel was really nice. We had room #407. It was a double queen suite with a small kitchenette. Checkin was not too bad. Originally, we wanted a higher floor, but the only one available was on the 4th and we took it.
The breakfast buffet was very good. I like the idea of filling out the card and getting your eggs and waffles cooked to order. Then they had bacon, fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage and other breakfast food available through the line. It was $10, but included juices, coffee and milk.
The outdoor pool is amazing. I just can't understand why they can't heat it. I bet the water was only 70 degrees. Everyone that got in had the same face of "Oh my.... It's freezing" The daily weather was mid to high 90's. I've seen it's always been cold. My son got "blue lips" pretty quickly.
As for the area, check out Pi (Pizza Place a few blocks down). We found out on our last day that they had daily lunch specials for $5, which included your soft drink (each day is different). I really liked their pizza and the service was great.
Overall, I like everything about this place but the pool. Hopefully, they can add some heat to the water. I know it has to be cold due to recycling water and all the water falls. Plus, it had some sort of water slide that went to the lower end of the pool. Kids were loving it.

  • Liked — The size of the suites. Lots of room
  • Disliked — The tempreture of the pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Pi and find out their daily lunch specials. Great food.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    185
    69
    28
    18
See reviews for
262
105
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

We were at the Marriott from 8/15 - 8/19(Sat). Here are my comments: (Overall nice hotel and I would stay there again)

1. The size of the suite room was perfect for the 5 of us. We had a 5 year old and 2 Teens with us.

2. The kitchenette has a refrigerator with small freezer, a microwave and coffee maker. Plenty of cabinets. Bring your own dishes or paper products.

3. The view of the beach is wonderful to wake up too and the balcony was great for sitting out and watching the sunset, dolphins or others at the beach.

4. The breakfast buffet was $9.95 and $3.95 for kids. It was ok. They make fresh waffles and omelets there. The service was not that great but if you don't want to go out, eat there. We also ate at Pocohontas pancakes. No buffet prices.

5. Location is away from most excitement. Which is under 20th and Altantic. However, there's a trolley called the Wave that run until 2 am at a cheap rate. Great for the teens.

6. The outdoor pool was very nice. Cold at times, but it is probably one of the best on VA beach.

7. We didn't use the indoor pool and yes there was sand in the pool, but some kids were enjoying the pool.

8. If you have more than 4 people, bring extra washcloths and towels because it could take a while to get extras.

Negative:
1. I didn't like the fact that the public internet computer was by the bar. I often seen teens there and I don't think teens should be hanging out by a bar. They have wireless internet in the rooms.

2. I didn't mind the elevator wait. I expected it and most times, it was as fast as other hotels that I stayed in.

  • Liked — The wonderful view and the size of the suite
  • Disliked — The price
  • Tips/Secrets — Check times for cookies in the early evening. If you use public computer, make sure you logout.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott for 5 nights in August 2006. The location is at the north end of the boardwalk so it's great for families. It's walking distance to the shops and eateries but not too crowded. The rooms are large with 2 comfortable double beds in the bedroom and a decent pull out sofa. Our biggest problem was at check-in. We arrived at 4:30 pm thinking we could check right in and were told the room wasn't ready and come back in 20 minutes. When we came back a half hour later, the room still wasn't ready. However, the manager did give us a $30 per night rate reduction for the inconvenience without me even having to fight for something. We went to dinner and the room was ready when we got back.

For a family of 5, the size of the room is great. The bathroom is large and there is a second vanity outside of the bathroom which helps having a teenage daughter. The beach is only steps away and the pool is a nice size compared to others on the beach. We primarily stayed at this hotel since the pool complex looked so good. However, the beach is so great that we hardly used the pool. The hotel is expensive compared to a lot of others on Virginia Beach but we enjoyed it. Be advised that there is a microwave and small refrigerator in the suites, but there was not one utensil - no spoons, dishes, etc. which we found odd. We bought some plastic bowls and spoons for cereal in the morning and stocked up on soda and water for the beach but that was about the extent of our kitchen facilities.

If you want a nice hotel, great for families, in a quiter end of Virginia Beach, I would highly recommend the Marriott.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

This hotel was in a great location with great views and the best pool in my opinion. It is located away from the busy end (south) which is nice if you want more of a family atmosphere. The hotel itself is very nice and we had a AWESOME experience with the front desk staff. They accomodated us and were very friendly. My only complaint has to do with cleanliness. We had a couple of situations including the lobby bathroom (which took hours to get cleaned and was way worse than any gas station I've ever been in) and our room (the sheets did not get changed from the previos guests!!!!!!!!!) The staff fixed that experience the best they could and was very apologetic. I think someone should lose their job because of that. Overall, I would still go back because it was a decent place that had a couple of problems during our stay. I do wish that the poolside snackbar was run a little bit more efficiently and was open for longer hours.

  • Liked — location and pool
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

A few weeks back we stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Virginia Beach, and since I relied on the reviews here at Trip Advisor to assist me in picking my hotel I figured it was only fair that I post a review to assist others in making there decision. Overall I (we as I traveled with my wife and two children) found the Courtyard to be a very very nice hotel. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The view was SPECTACULAR, the beach was wonderful and outdoor pool was great. Overall I would stay here again, no question about it.

That said there were some things that were less than wonderful. Take to heart the notices and complaints about the elevator service, it STINKS. I was unforunate in that I recieved a room on the 11th floor, it would take up to 10 minutes to get an elevator! It was downright maddening. Check-in was a nightmare, and once again as the reviews bear out , there was a severe lack of luggage carts to shuttle your bags to and from your room. There is even a larger lack of assistance from the hotel staff who did virtually nothing to assist visitors in finding carts and getting settled. Combining the lack of frequent elevators with carrying your luggage from your car up to your room via multiple trips and you begin to understand why I call check-in a nightmare. Thankfully it was easier during checkout but that was only due to the fact that we started shuttling bags down to the car the day before thus making a one trip checkout possible.

Other minor complaints consist of the cleanliness of the outdoor pool which was perfect and wonderful on some days and not quite as appealing on others as there seemed to be a filtration problem that was less than appealing. I also felt that the resturant was a bit lacking, not horrible (if you stay away from the buffet breakfast which is just a rip-off) but not great either. We found that the hotel staff while generally friendly was rather hit or miss when it came to service. Twice we asked for restruraunt recommendations, the first time we were handed a map of the area and told here are the resturaunts, the second time we were given a bunch of great recommendations and directions to boot. Like I said hit or miss, but not too bad overall.

On a final note we will most likely will stay at the Courtyard on our future trips to Virginia Beach. We would also recommend it to others as we enjoyed our trip and found our complaints rather small.

  • Liked — The View was Amazing
  • Disliked — Check-in was rotten
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a low floor to ease the elevator pain and suffering
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with the staff at reception. They were very polite and helpful. The room was a good size and very clean and the view from the balcony was excellent. Even though this part of the beach is less crowded we were a bit put off by the constant noise of military jets directly overhead which does not lend to a relaxing holiday. The outdoor pool seemed great at first but my husband got pinkeye a few days later which we think was caused by the lack of hygiene in this pool. While I was impressed by the hotel itself I would not return specifically because of noise and outdoor pool.

  • Liked — The room and the staff
  • Disliked — outdoor pool and overhead noise
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel after visiting Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. (Also great places for the family, immaculately clean!)... This hotel makes a great first impression from the minute the friendly valet (Hi Macolm) and equally friendly bell hops greet you at the door. Beautiful lobby, w/ TV and separate bar area, are great for hanging out in.. All oceanfront rooms, I recommend booking the suite if you are staying more than a few nights.. Quieter part of the beach as far as crowds, however you should definitely know that this hotel appears to be in the direct flight path of NUMEROUS air bases! There are 4 in the area. Very loud combat planes fly sporadically by day, however, one evening we counted 20 returning between the hours of 8-11pm. This does not make it conducive to sitting on the balcony to relax or sitting by the deck with friends having a drink! All in all, very clean, accomadating staff, with a magnificent beach. But if you dont like overhead noise, do not stay here.

  • Liked — spacious suite
  • Disliked — noise from aircraft from military bases
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure your room is on the second floor. There are only two elevators in this hotel and the wait is horrendous! Second floor has great view
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St

Address: 3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / n 37th St Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.