We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for business or pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tamworth, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place for business or pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I just ran a business meeting at this hotel and was extremely pleased. The hotel is right on the beach, with only the boardwalk between it and the sand. Every room has a lanai with sliding doors that open on to the ocean, providing a beautiful ocean breeze and a spectacular view of the sunrise over the ocean. The meeting room also opens onto the beach, allowing for break-outs outside, if you so desire. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean and comfortable, and the entire experience is very positive. The location is great; quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the busy section of Virginia Beach, but within easy walking distance of great restaurants and night life. I will definitely come back to this hotel for business meetings, but hope to also return for pleasure and holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about our hotel. That is so exciting that you were able to take advantage of our great meeting space and beach location! If you are able to come back in the mid summer season, you will be able to enjoy our outdoor pool, pool bar, and even more great restaurants will be open! Again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your great experience. Have a wonderful rest of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    173
    64
    25
    17
See reviews for
245
97
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary weekend. We had a King suite and it was really nice and clean. We stayed on the 6th flor realy nice view of the ocean, the sunrise and sunset was nice. The staff was friendily and very helpful with giving directions around the area. This hotel is about 5 mins from the main strip driving and 10 if you're walking, the location is nice if you're looking for a nice quiet area. i really enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: We were in the middle part it was nice, the balconies are close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your weekend getaway! It's great to hear that you had a relaxing view of the sunset and sunrise on our oceanfront balcony. I hope you are able to stay with us again this summer! Thanks again for your pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Courtyard is located right on the beach, but not quite in the middle of the action (not necessarily a bad thing, but I did have to drive to restaurants, etc.). Rooms are nice and well appointed. My sink had some drainage issues, but not a show stopper. The balconies are right next to each other so no privacy, but you do overlook the ocean. Two areas for improvement: the Starbucks on site is horribly slow and unorganized. I waited over 20 minutes for a coffee because there was only one worker there. Not good. Even though it was Spring break I was there for business and didn't have time to wait that long. The other area for improvement is communication: we had a blackout one evening during my stay. Nobody knew what to do and it caused a lot of people to panic. There has to be some business continuity plan in place that the employees should know about. Overall, not bad but would pick the other Courtyard next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I want to thank you for your kind comments about our rooms and our quiet location on the beach. I apologize that the Starbucks was not up to your standard. The lack of communication has been addressed and in the event of another black out, there will be excellent organization. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and letting us know how your stay was. I hope you have a great rest of your year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

FABULOUS HOTEL if you are running during the Shamrock Marathon weekend. We ran the 1/2 marathon, and the starting line was literally across the street, and the finish line was just a few block south. The race actually turns onto the boardwalk right at the hotel. Extremely convenient. We had an ocean view suite and were able to see out all sides of the building (the room stretched the width of the building). At the last minute we had 2 friends decide to stay with us, plenty of room! And parking was super easy. The hotel was clean & the staff could not have been friendlier. The race itself was fabulous but the ease of the accommodations made it perfect. Would return in a heartbeat. (the pool & hot tub was amazing post race).

Room Tip: We had the suite on the top floor in the corner towards the south. FABULOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel after the busy Shamrock Marathon Weekend! Your kind comments about our staff and the hotel cleanliness are very much appreciated. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our Corner Suite and the amazing views. Hopefully you will be able to join us next year for the exciting weekend! Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location, Location, Location! We enjoyed our stay here. Pool is awesome inside and out. Front desk was a pleasure to deal with on each request we made. Complimentary roll away bed was life saver! The view from the 6th floor was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's so exciting that you had an incredible time with us. I'm glad you got to enjoy our pools and our roll away bed. I hope you get to come back in the summer time! Thanks again for your positive feedback. Have a great rest of your year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We got in later than expected. Even though I had requested a roll away bed, it was not in room. But the front desk quickly sent it up!! Only on the second floor, close to the stairs so attempted to use them to go to lobby or to beach, no go, the stair door is locked to lobby...and very dirty stairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. I apologize that the stairs area was not up to the expectation. I assure you we are working on the deep cleaning right away. I am glad we were able to fulfill your request about the roll away. Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope you are able to stay with us again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Parking is plentiful, staff members are courteous and very helpful, rooms are clean, and view of the ocean is awesome. The boardwalk and places to eat are very accessible. Has an on-site cafe. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you had an awesome time with us. We are happy that you and your family enyoyed our hotel and the surrounding attractions. Have a great rest of the year and I hope you are able to come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St

Address: 3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / n 37th St Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.