We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bartender” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club - CLOSED

Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club
4517 Commerce Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
855.301.2822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Bartender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just had dinner at Havana Nights in their jazz club at the bar. We had reservations for the Caribbean Room but after sitting at the bar and talking to the bartender Jake we decided to eat dinner at the bar. It was so much fun to watch him whipping up all the different drinks. The ingredients are all fresh and he is a true artist, not just slinging drinks! The food was out of this world! Best oyster stew we have ever had, recommended by Jake! The mussel appetizer was wonderful with the fresh bread on the side. We will be back for the good food and the outstanding service by Jake very soon. So glad we finally tried this place. It is a million times better than any of the chain restaurants in town center!!! Try it, you won't be sorry!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening for four”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I went to Havana Nights with another couple and the experience was well worth the money. The reason I reference the cost is that Havana Nights is not a "cheap" restaurant, with appetizers in the 10 to 15 dollar range and entrees in the 18 to 39 dollar range, but then again, sometimes you get what you pay for. I just read a very negative review that referred to the "12 year old greeter" and that, in and of itself, should be enough to ignore their review. The manager was our greeter and he was as friendly as one could get. Our server was also very friendly and helpful in his recommendations for food and drink as one would hope. We ordered the Duck Empenada with Mango Chutney and Cheese as our appetizers and couldn't have been more pleased. The breading on the duck was very flaky (melt in your mouth) and combined with the Mango, provided a wonderful taste. The cheese plate had three different cheeses (one being a Maytag Blue, which rocks my palate), dates, and a caramelized onion sauce that was a great compliment to it all.

Their Cuban bread was specially baked in Tampa, and was also a great entry to the meal. For the meal, I ordered a 14 ounce Ribeye with a smoked mashed potato. For those familiar with a Ribeye, I usually expect to have a certain amount of the steak left over due to the high fat content, but this steak was perfect with absolutely nothing left. Great seasoning and preparation combined with a quality cut! It also included a dipping sauce reminiscent of a quality German garlic butter (with some other seasonings) that complimented the meal without overpowering the meal. The best conclusion to make is that nothing was sent back to the kitchen but four empty plates when the meal was done.

As a final desert, the waiter recommended the recently recognized (2013 Best of the Beach) desert of "Rum Raisin Bread Pudding created with Krispy Kreme Doughnuts and served with Vanilla Ice Cream". We shared this desert and if for nothing else, we will return for this desert (although I wouldn't recommend such a decedent treat on a daily basis).

Great place for a special occasion or a "classy" night on the town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sunday Jazz Dinner Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was quite an evening. Very enjoyable. Good food, drinks, and entertainment. I would highly recommend this to my friends!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrid, absolutely HORRID!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I thought this place would be a change from the Virginia Beach "normal", but I would take ANYTHING over this place. We were greeted (I use the word lightly) by a scantily clad 12 year old pretending to have a real job. We then were escorted to our table where we were continuously bumped into by guests as well as employees. The menu has lights behind it.... to distract you from the lack of quality and creativity. The sommelier was our waiter. He couldn't suggest a single drink or make time to even take our order. We ordered the duck empananda and the flavor was.... nada. So we got our check and went across the street and drank away any memory we had of our experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE IS THE BEST OF VABEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very upscale, classy establishment. waitstaff knew the wine selection like the back of their hands. everyone was courteous. must have a reservation to get in. we called the day of and managed to be put on a wait list and got in just fine. great music, great place. must see in va beach! very cozy seating, everyone is everyone's friends!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.