We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Jazz Club!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club - CLOSED

Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club
4517 Commerce Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
855.301.2822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
South Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Jazz Club!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

While I visited for the weekend, I had the pleasure of going to Havana Nights. It was a great experience and awesome band was performing...sorry I don't remember the name of the band.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, iffy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We met a group of friends for dinner. Our server must have been new, or just very ill at ease. He carefully "sold" the specials, then had to return to apologize that some were not available, even though we were the only table there. The food we did get was delicious and well -presented. Great wine list.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

There is always something to be said for eating in a 'privately' owned restaurant rather than a 'chain' I'm not too sure how I could quantify that statement other than it has that 'extra something!
My initial reaction was extremely positive, the staff are all very welcoming, very polite and courteous. In the restaurant, the food was delicious, the service was superb, the waiters were 'discreetly' attentive. The jazz club although small was also worth the visit. My final feeling was that I would not hesitate to recommend this Club.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Scotch selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We popped in here after dinner and while the place was definately NOT jumping, the bar had just enough rooom for the 5 of us to relax comfortably and enjoy some conversation over drinks. A respectable beer selection (you can get something other than budmillercoors but it's certainly NOT an exhaustive compilation) and some nice Scotch choices too. Private bar upstairs where members can enjoy cigars so if you don't like smoke even the downstairs portion is probably not going to be to your liking. You can definately tell there is smoking going on!!
Great service and the owner was in and gave us a quick look around (like I said, it wasn't that busy on this particular evening). Looking forward to stopping back by this summer. Didn't have any food so can't comment on cuisine.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, service and ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I surprised my fiancé with drinks and dinner here on a Wednesday evening. We came in at happy hour and were escorted to the bar. As they made our drinks they explained how they do things different with certain drinks. The mojito AND margaritas were excellent. We then moved to the dining room and enjoyed dinner. I would not say the food is authentic Cuban but it was still delicious. We were later invited to the private cigar lounge and enjoyed a cigar. The owner also took his time to give us a tour and was very personal. No complaints!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.