We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leaping Lizard Cafe

Leaping Lizard Cafe
4408 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-2822
757-460-5327
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,272 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We first heard about this place on the TV series "Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives". At first appearance we were somewhat apprehensive. This restaurant is very unique and so is the food. The people working there are extremely friendly. The food portions are not only plentiful but delicious. While we are not local residents, we are in this area several times annually and will be sure to stop whenever we are in area. Don't be surprised to see chickens in the front yard!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    34
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed after all the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a restaurant with an inviting atmosphere and creative take on everyday food. The staff was friendly and attentive. Our food was just average though. My rockfish was so tiny, that I would have been embarrassed to serve it. I needed lemon, but the waitress did not get back in time. My roasted veggies were cold- not a bit of warmth. I complained and got more cold, shriveled up root vegetables. The salad was good and fresh, but my friend was disappointed that they ran out of homemade potato salad and she had to have chips. Desserts looked and sounded divine, but we decided to cut our losses and go elsewhere. Maybe we just tried the wrong dishes, but both me and my friend said "what's all the hype about?"

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a great lunch and good prices. I would come back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We great food and service but a bit hot . The menu was awesome. The location is a bit hidden of shore drive .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Annoyed, Multiple Times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

True, Leaping Lizard is a charming spot with creative cuisine, but their customer service needs some work. Twice I've placed an order for my favorite dish, only to have the wait person come back (much later) to tell me they were out. If it's a popular dish, make more of it. And shouldn't the wait staff know ahead of time what dishes they're out of, or low on? Please tell me before I study the menu.

On my most recent visit I brought a friend, who had already had lunch, to sample one of their fabulous desserts. As we were being seated I asked if they had my favorite dish. "Oh, yes!" she answered. (You know where this is going.) She came back later and said she was wrong, they were out. I cancelled my order. My friend had to settle for an oatmeal cookie because the dessert person wasn't there that day. It took FOREVER to get the cookie. I thought surely because of the disappointment and slow service they would make the cookie complimentary. But no, we got a check for $6 for the cookie and two iced teas.

After learning that they now offer dinner I drove to LL one evening and was happy to see the "open" sign posted near the road. After I pulled in to the parking lot I could see it was actually closed. How hard would it be to pull up the little sign-on-a-stick so hungry customers won't be misled?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Average food - poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband ate at the Leaping Lizard after reading all the great reviews. Our experience was different from most reviewers. My crab cakes had many pieces of shells in them, the side of aubergines was cold with thick hard skin, fish was largely tasteless. We got the appetizer after we got the entree our waiter could do with some customer service training. Great disappointment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaping Lizard Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Leaping Lizard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaping Lizard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.