We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious but good...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leaping Lizard Cafe

Leaping Lizard Cafe
4408 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-2822
757-460-5327
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pretentious but good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

These folks really hit a home run. The hard working and friendly husband/wife team make everything from scratch, try the chicken salad. On a nice afternoon it's gonna be crowded and you might wait for a seat. This is a destination on the "Diners, Drive-in's and Dive's" tour so give it try if you’re in VA Beach.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    33
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Artsy and Fun Place Near the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped by for Sunday brunch intrigued by seeing the place featured on Food Network's Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. It is not any of the 3 D's but it is a fun cafe with unique food and shopping offerings. We had to wait about 40 minutes due to passing showers which limited the outdoor seating. While waiting we browsed the gift shop with unusual and artsy antiques, crafts and nick nacks. There is also a fresh produce stand around back. I had their delicious chicken salad which Guy Fieri rightly raved about. My father in law thoroughly enjoyed his eggs benedict. All of the food was fresh, homemade and creative. Salads and baked goods (don't miss the sweet potato biscuits) were especially good. It was well worth the trip and we will visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It's all good and don't miss the oatmeal cookie.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Okay, this is a very small restaurant with (seasonal) outdoor seating. The menu combinations are unusual. The homemade sweet potato biscuits alone are enough reason to eat here. We like any of their fish choices, but seriously, all of the food is wonderful and fresh, fresh, fresh. Often crowded (anyway, always the sign of a good restaurant), the staff are quick to give you seating updates and a smile.

If we want to take family or friends some place unusual and special, this is where we go for lunch. We like to treat ourselves, too. But we always try to arrive early so as not to wait.

The oatmeal cookies are YUM and big, like a small cake -- enough to share, but I wouldn't.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, Real Homemade Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped for lunch at the Leaping Lizard and arrived just prior to their opening time at 11AM. - The cafe was smaller than I expected and there was already a line of folks waiting. - JUST FYI - if you are traveling with a group - all the members of your party must be there prior to being seated. We were seated quickly and the food was delicious! Much better than your ordinary beach restaurant fare. My Hubby and I enjoyed the corn chowder topped with crab and half sandwiches. Just the right amount of kick in the soup. My daughter loved her beef tenderloin as well. Definitely worth the wait in line!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“quirky little joint....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

decided to visit the leaping lizard, because it had been on food network. it didn't disappoint. just be aware, the lunch time seating is from noon until 3pm. and, if it's raining, seating is limited. there is a small gift shop to hang out in while you're waiting for a seat and a produce barn, too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaping Lizard Cafe also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Leaping Lizard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaping Lizard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.