We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Raw Bar

Seaside Raw Bar
2014 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
1 757.428.2760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 1,159 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere = local dive. Seafood = fantastic. Do not come here if you want slick and glitzy. The seafood is great, and a great deal. Cold beer. Will come here any time we are in Va Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We visited Virginia Beach for a week in July, 2013. Trip Advisor lists 1,064 restaurants in Virginia Beach! We were looking for those restaurants which are located right off the beach that don’t require driving.

As of this review, Seaside Raw Bar is #140, but the truth is, we make this a “must stop” every time we visit the beach. The restaurant states that this is where the locals meet, and I believe it, because it certainly is nothing fancy or, upon your initial view, even appealing! But don’t go there for the atmosphere – go there for the food. We get the steamed shrimp and crab legs, and they never fail to disappoint. Seasoned with Old Bay, it’s probably the best we’ve had. It’s a good thing I don’t live in Virginia Beach, or I would eat this every day.

Actually, the place is basically a bar that serves food, with just a few seats and the smallest restroom I’ve ever seen (even in NYC.) But the staff is friendly and don’t make you feel out of place. And even better, they are currently on restaurant.com, so take advantage of that deal before you check it out.

I believe they told us they have been open since 1981, and we wish them many more years. See you next time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEST raw bar in VB oceanfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great prices and quality for raw bar food. Oysters were awesome. Sat at the bar with my husband and son - great service and friendly staff. Will definitely go back. Not a fancy place, at all. Be prepared for a tiny bathroom where you share a sink between the mens and womens. However, that should not stop you from trying this place unless you want a white tablecloth.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice little hole in the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Definitely a hole in the wall. Difficult to find on the busy strip. A sports bars with 4 TV.s blasting and then later a DJ appears with mind deafening sound. A paper plate and plastic fork restaurant for the most part.but if you can find it there's free off street parking right behind the building at its rear entrance. But all this halfhearted commentary there is food. Everything is of the raw bar variety except for a hotdog or barbecue sandwich. Nothing fried (not even french fries) everything raw or steamed and seemingly fresh. Typical fare:oysters (James River), clams (Middleneck), snow crab, large shrimp and lobster. Also a wonderful large seamed vegetable plate ($7.95) with plenty of squash, zucchini, onions, cauliflower, carrots and mushrooms to share in lieu of getting sides which were not that exciting anyway. Typical bar except that only 3 beers on tap and nothing "normal" like Bud Light etc. Prices very reasonable for both quanitity and quality. Atmosphere was as I implied hole in the wall noisy sports bar with very hard unpadded wooden seats BUT very clean dining area. Restrooms wee basic and of another era. (Shared sink in common area outside the WCs). All this said, you would be hard pressed to get as much good seafood for the money on the VA Beach strip anywhere else. Definiely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central VA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My new favorite seafood dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place could have gotten a divey 5 stars, but for how long it took to get the shrimp cocktail appetizer (40 minutes) and because they have a very limited selection (no frier or grill) But what they do have , seafood wise is very good.

After waiting so long for the appetizer and seeing the decor, we were having second thoughts.. I thought to perhaps leave a few bucks for the drinks and move on down the street for something else. But I am so glad we stayed.

This is the kind of place that Joe's Crab Shack was based on, except the prices here are much lower than at Joe's. and the waitress didn't dance, at least during our visit. And the food wasnt served in cute buckets.

But what they had was good steamed seafood, very tasty peel and eat shrimp and snow crab legs, and killer Oysters Rockefeller. Was worth the wait (perhaps a misunderstanding) with the app, we will definitely be back for lunch sometime soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaside Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Seaside Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.