We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great view, not so great hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   705 Atlantic Ave, 8th St & Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #58 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really great view, not so great hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Gave this hotel a second chance because the view was wonderful and the rate was competitive however the hotel is old (yuck) and the staff is never pleasant. Leaving early this time because their in-house restaurant food made me ill and their manager was nothing if not sarcastic. Got a refund on the food and was sick overnight. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    132
    70
    36
    14
See reviews for
124
98
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel has some age on it and it shows. It was clean, but it could use some serious updating. The door did not close all the way unless you pushed on it very hard. I had an oceanfront room on the top floor during the Neptune Festival. It was wonderful for that, as I could see the amateur sand sculptures being built while being away from the crowds of the vendor booths. It would also allowed for some spectacular sunrise views (but it was cloudy on the days I was there). Breakfast had a good selection in the attached restaurant, with friendly people keeping the food selections supplied. If you want to rent a bike to cruise the boardwalk, there is a bike rental booth located conveniently in the pool area. Also, it is close to many restaurants and bars. I reserved this room with points from my Choice Privileges account which said it would have been $250/night if I had paid for it. The Soda machine outside my door was pretty noisy and there was some sort of mechanical unit that ran constantly making noise (HVAC maybe?). It was a good deal using my points, but if I had paid $250 I would have been disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean get an oceanfront room on an upper floor. The bottom floor will have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I arrived around 5PM with mostly clouds and temp in high 70's. I had coupon and also info on this motel. I picked it because and of price and having indoor pool.
Lobby looked 50 years old due to old style round seat. Desk help was nice and price was more than fair, room was clean and nice and you could see ocean if you hung over balcony railing.
They said it was king bed, but much smaller than my new king at home, but still nice, I believe it was Queen as it was larger than double bed.
Hall had outside windows, but they were not clean or clear?
Outside pook still open but not heated and it felt alittle cool.
Ocean was also cool but after awhile it felt good. Beach is large and clean and plowed daily.
Worst thing was noise from planes at nearby bases, at night I thought I was in war zone, I was in the indoor pool by myself and one plane even shook water in pool!
Next day sun came out and only heard few planes and saw some of them.
Street was clean and quiet, with school in session, it seems like ghost town, but very nice with most stores still open, but with reduced hours at some stores.

Room Tip: middle level, there are six floors, would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It is the noisiest room! Half of the hotel guests will have to pass by this room and the receptionist area and the elevator are right outside the door. This hotel should not be making money out of this room, or they should at least invest in better sound proofing it. Whenever the AC unit comes on, it's like a tank driving through the wall. The hotel is in a nice hotel, and I'd like to think rest of the hotel improbably decent. But, if you got the keys to Room 110, reject it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Quality Inn in Virginia Beach at the end of Sept/ 2 days into Oct 2012. The hallways are extemely narrow, the elevator was very small There was absolutely no air flow in the hallways or in the breakfast area. The air conditioning unit in the first room was not working properly and humidity was thick. We were moved to another room down the hall and it was freezing. We would have to turn the air on in intervals, just to remove the humidity in the room. Sat at breakfast, and discovered from other guests that rooms were being charged anywhere from 100.00, 80.00, 69.00, 59.00 depending on which online travel site you choose. Never again will we stay with "The NO-Quality Inn"- very disappointed.

Room Tip: Update the Air/Heating units- musty smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a Navy Reunion. Excellent location. Great outdoor pool. Complimentary breakfast is outstanding. Great stay. Needs just one thing. Decent pillows. Small pillows are terrible. Other than that. Outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family recently stayed here for a weekend beach getaway. We used points from our Choice Hotels account. This hotel has a nice layout, is in a nice location, and we were pleased with our stay. The one downside was that the maids didn't come to our room to clean until the afternoon, when our toddler son was down for a nap and we were resting, so we turned them away and had to deal witha messy room. The maids cart was out in the hall early that morning when we left for the day, so I'm not sure what took so long for them to actually clean. We got a "suite" that was the smallest suite I've ever seen... it was the largest they had but was still a small room. Thankfully, we spent most of our time at the beach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront

Address: 705 Atlantic Ave, 8th St & Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Quality Inn
Oceanfront Hotel Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.