We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, ok room. OUTSTANDING service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great view, ok room. OUTSTANDING service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms are dated but clean. If your staying for tennis its very close to the facility and the staff goes out of their way to take care of you. Service is unreal they go above and beyond to help. The area is just not the happening part of VB the boardwalk area is 20 min away. The views are great. The price is just way too much. The rooms should be more like $75 not $175. Probably won't stay here again due to cost, location, and just lack of stuff to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate you acknowledging our hard working staff and were happy to have made your stay enjoyable while here for the tennis tournament. We hope you had some time to enjoy walks on the beach as well as the beautiful sunsets. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    105
    98
    61
    75
See reviews for
198
110
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I am very glad it was a complimentary stay, if I had to pay I would have left and got my money back. The hotel is in dire need of a make over, I don't think they have changed anything since opening day, even the picture on the brochure is before the condos were built right next door quite sometime ago. The rugs are dirty the bathroom is dark and dingy, mildew in the grout, yes the grout. Stay clear of Tradewinds go to McDonalds down the street you will have a better meal. The water view from every suite is possible I you stand on the corner of the balcony and lean over the rail, if not you are overlooking a sea of condos. They have one elevator that's been broken for sometime now judging from other reviews. I would not recommend this hotel at all. They even forgot to make our reservation after we spoke with the general manager to make it. No windows open the door to the balcony was so badly rusted it was almost in two pieces. On a side note most of the staff were very polite and nice. The hotel has potential of the owners would only invest some money into it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
While we appreciate you staying at our hotel on the bays we are truly sorry that you did not have a more enjoyable time in your suite. We’ll be sure to research your remarks with our staff and correct for future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room was great! Backward set-up worked great. Bed area was quite dark even with living room curtains open. No door to separate beds from living area. Slightly dated but very clean rooms. Pillows flat and horrible beds just so-so. 2 old tv's, both worked but no channel guide. Fridge with small freezer. No kitchen towels. 4 glasses, 2 coffee cups. No silverware or plates. Coffee pot and coffee which was replenished every day. Tub and toilet has separate room from sink and mirror which in my opinion is a huge plus. Patio has partial bay view. This was great. Housekeeping every day. They do not provide enough wash cloths or bath towels (2 each). Had to ask for extra every day. At 2am the people in the next room and people across the hall from them came in drunk and loud. They went back and forth across the hall talking very loud and slamming the door VERY hard. So hard the floor shook and I jumped out of bed. This happened several times. Just inconsiderate people at 2am. That is the only downside to the beds being at the door. Every employee you come upon greets you. Tradewinds restaurant was HORRIBLE. Service terrible. I was with my mother. We each ordered a drink which was average. We split a burger and chef salad. There were only a couple other tables with people. We ordered and 45 minutes later were still waiting. Asked about it. Watched two tables get seated, eat and leave after we ordered. Asked for mgr who showed right after we got our food. Burger was lukewarm at best. It was cold enough to no longer be juicy. Salad lukewarm as well. She offered a discount. Did not offer to replace. Took $2.00 off bill. Seriously? I kept receipt as I was stunned. Waitress said they were behind due to there being 4 functions. The manager said the functions had different kitchens than the restaurant. One doesn't do the other. Sunday, they closed the bar and restaurant all day to people staying there. A local business had a party there. You could order room service but nothing else. Could not go to the bar to even order a drink to take to the beach/pool. They had an outside small bar for beer and wine only but no umbrella drinks. There us one stair case going from hotel to beach. This was packed with people from the party standing there drinking. Hard time getting through them to get to the beach. 90% of the beach was closed to people staying at the hotel due to the fact it was blocked off with pool toys for only the party people. They obviously do not want the room business as these people did not have rooms. They were more important than the people wanting to eat and drink staying there. Very frustrating. The hotel has 4 elevators. 2 in back and 2 off lobby. 1 in the back had not worked at all and you had to wait forever. Was told by another guest it had been down all week prior to us arriving. Walking to the front elevators to use pool/beach/bar was just as long as waiting for elevator which did stop at every floor. Very small parking area in front of hotel and larger 1 story parking under hotel with 2 small wings on either side. Lobby area is not marked with sineage that is clearly visible. People pull to the front doors clearly marked no parking to check in which blocks the in and out of the garage. Traffic at stand still. No a place to park. Not one. Called in and was told they would start to open up in 15 minutes. Parking very tight. The side wings had no place to turn around and had to back out of a very tight area that has a tight turn mid way. Upside the halls did not smell. It was clean. Sliding glass door wall was filthy. Looked like windows had not been cleaned EVER. The plus was the screen door. Stayed 9/7 through 9/9/13

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the descriptive recap about your experience here at our resort on the Chesapeake Bay. It was insightful, yet we are disappointed to see that overall you did not enjoy your time with us as you should have. Our apology that conditions and service were not to your liking and we’ll be sure to review your feedback closely with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We fell for the web-site and thought this would be a good place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. What a joke. The room was cramped, had marks and gashes in he wall, a frayed and stained carpet, a dirty window that had not, no doubt, been cleaned since WW II, a couch with crushed springs that one sunk into, a phone crookedly hung on the wall, no plastic cups in the bathroom to use for tooth brushing, one broken television, only one chair on the porch; I could go on. We reported many of these deficiencies to the bored, sullen young woman at the deask but no one ever - ever - came up to rectify anything. The halls smelled of old food and smoke (tho it is ostensibly "smoke free". There were trays of room service food in the hallways on the floor drawing flies. The one elevator - the other one is apparently always beoken - took forever to arrive. The food in the restaurant was inedible. Happy anniversary!! Thanks for nothing.

Room Tip: Stay away!!! We will warn anyone off this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Your comments are extremely alarming to us as we do not have record or notification that you were dissatisfied while staying with us. We would like to discuss your remarks with you personally, and would appreciate it if you could contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The front desk and other staff we ran into seemed pleasant. I'd give them a 4 or 5 out of 5 but everything else was lacking. First, the overall property is quite outdated - the ugly wallpaper, furniture, damp dingy carpet, even the hotel signage throughout the building. There were two elevators except one was out of order. The staff lady said it has been broken for at least a week, and there was a sign saying it would be back in order a week later from when i was there. We wound up wasting a ton of valuable time just waiting and waiting and stopping at every other floor going up and down.

The layout of the suite doesn't make the best sense - the bed as you enter the room so that you can hear people walking by in the hallway and the rest of the suite inside. The ceiling in the bathroom was low which made me feel claustrophobic while showering. It's good that they have a covered parking area to keep the cars away from the sun but the spaces are rather tight and i can't help but wonder how many cars end up getting dinged and dented and scratched daily.

The worst part was the Tradewinds restaurant which we went to for breakfast. The food was not edible to me...eggs were soaking in some sort of grease and smelled horrible. The waffle came out soft. The sweet waitress managed to get these taken off our bill.

The bay area was the best part...wasn't not too crowded and was steps away from the building. Although a "resort" you have to pay for chairs and umbrellas. No towels are available either from what I saw.

This property to me is not a 3 star hotel; it's more like 2 stars. Unfortunately, I spent my vacation time here and I feel a lot of the vacation experience is the hotel and I had that deprived of me this time. As I passed the econo lodge on the drive back, i wondered if their rooms would be better.

I would not recommend this place to others.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and are sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy your visit with us as you could have. Our apologies for the inoperable elevator while you were here, but it was an unexpected repair. Our guest room suites are designed to provide maximum exposure to our beautiful bay views which is why the common sitting area displays the large windows and balcony. We thank you for your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel. Service staff is friendly, views of the Bay are terrific, some rooms have recently had upgrades to carpet and LCD TV's. Rooms are large, fridge is cold, balcony is large. This property is second to none on the Bay and I rate it with the very best in Virginia Beach.

Been coming here for years and will continue to do so!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again recently and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us. As you mentioned in your comments, we are making improvements to the hotel in order to provide comfortable enjoyable accommodations for our guests-Thanks for noticing! We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again next time! If not already doing so… please follow us at: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent several hours at the convention center for Young Champions cheer and the venue was great! Clean and friendly. Parking was simple. Once the competion was over it was easy to find our children in the conferenece center rooms. Most venues we have been to are difficult to get around with signage and limited access. This was not the case here. I look forward to any future events we might have to attend at this facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.