We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ConAgra Business Meeting - June 18th - June 20th” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
“ConAgra Business Meeting - June 18th - June 20th”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

VBR accomodations were excellent. Rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful in making our stay very comfortable and productive. Everything that we need is very conveniently located. The rates were very competitiveI. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We hope you certainly will come back again as we enjoyed having you stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we’re glad that you had a pleasurable experience here at our resort on the Chesapeake Bay. Feel free to keep in touch at: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    104
    98
    59
    75
See reviews for
195
110
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place seems to be the only hotel on the bay side. It's a large hotel very much geared toward families. I was told to have low expectations in terms of luxury so that I would not be disappointed. That was good advice. This is as basic as it gets. No frills whatsoever. Internet access in your room is a daily charge. Bed is firm - not like those pillow top mattresses so many hotels have adopted. Room service food is pretty basic. Attempted to eat at the restaurant outside. Took a while for someone to take our order and then the food never appeared. We left after 45 minutes. Sand on the beach is not the silky smooth variety. There are at least 6 oil tankers floating 1/2 mile off the beach right in front of you.
In short, this is a family place. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and we are glad that you found our resort enjoyable and rates affordable. We hope you were able to spend some time on the beach, admire the beautiful views of the sunset and had a wonderful stay while in the Virginia Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the 4th of July. The location is perfect! Right on the beach and close to some great restaurants. The rooms are nice, clean and very big! All of the workers were very nice! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We hope you had a great vacation while here in Virginia Beach and thank you for staying with us here on the bay. Thank you for your kind compliments about our hard working staff and resort, and do hope that you will come back and visit with us again.
Be sure to stay in touch at: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family (parents/kids/grandma) had a wonderful vacation at Va Beach Resort Hotel. Great location for us, away from the crowds of the boardwalk. Beach with milder surf is perfect for younger kids; and the indoor/outdoor pool is great when you get tired of the sand. Not a new hotel but they've done a good job at keeping rooms/facilities updated. Love the suite arrangement. Very easy to do light meals and snacks in the room. Hotel staff was very friendly and efficient, from front desk to housekeeping to restaurant and pool bar.

Room Tip: 2-bedroom suite is great for larger families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for again staying with us here on the Chesapeake Bay. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and resort and truly hope you have many happy memories to look back upon. Thanks also for the valuable feedback and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time you come back into to the area. Feel free to follow us at: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff was outstanding in every way. Efficient, courteous and friendly. We had some issues with the business center and the front desk staff worked with us and worked with us to solve the computer-related problem. They went the extra mile. I love breakfast and the breakfast buffet was excellent. A nice variety of offerings and Very Reasonably priced. We had a beach front room overlooking the bay and the view was marvelous. The room (all suites) was roomy, clean and the furniture comfortable. We had double beds and I'd give a mixed review on it as we are used to a queen-sized bed. I'm not sure queen or king was an option. The beach was obviously convenient as was the pool and spa. Parking was convenient and free. The hotel is only about a 20 minute drive to the Va Beach Boardwalk. The hotel does feel a little 'used' and the Restroom in the second floor common area could have used a little more attention. We definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spending a few extra dollars for Beach Front (vs Beach View) was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are delighted that you had such a great time here at our bay front resort. It was our pleasure to make your stay more enjoyable and be available to help you whenever possible. Thanks for the great comments and we do hope that we’ll see you here again soon. Please keep in touch! facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family stayed at the VA Beach Resort Hotel over July 4th and had a wonderful time. We are actually locals of VA Beach, but wanted to get away for the weekend and enjoy a local beach and view the fireworks. The VB Resort Hotel was easy to get to, parking wasn't a problem and our room provided a great view to the fireworks all around us. Will definitely do it again next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing our resort on the bay for your “stay-cation” recently! Our awesome location on the Chesapeake Bay is perfect for relaxing, having fun and watching the fireworks for sure! We’re glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope you’ll follow us if you aren’t already at:
Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Everything about this location, from check in to check out, was fantastic. Every employee was courteous and wanted our experience to be special. We used The Virginia Beach Resort Hotel as our wedding party "headquarters" for rooms for all the wedding party and close friends. The rooms were spacious and had a view of the bay. The food offered by their restaurant "Trade Winds" was excellent and reasonably priced. You can also choose to eat out on the big covered deck for lunch or dinner. Beautiful view of the beach and bay. One particular employee in Trade Winds, Debbie, was super! I highly recommend Virginia Beach resort Hotel for groups or even a couple wanting a wonderful experience. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are thrilled to read that you and your family and friends had an enjoyable time while here for a wedding celebration. Your compliments are appreciated and we will be sure to pass along your nice message to Debbie as well. We hope you all have many precious memories and photos from your stay here on the Chesapeake Bay. Please visit us again and also keep in touch: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.