We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding and Vacation Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Perfect Wedding and Vacation Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On January 26,2013, my husband and I got married at the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and everything was absolutely perfect. Throughout the whole process of planning, Cheryl Wolfe, the events coordinator, was in touch with us and even during the reception, she stopped in to congratulate us. She is absolutely amazing, but so are the rest of the staff!!! Everyone there is so friendly and helpful!!! Both are wedding ceremony and reception went perfectly!!! The day before, everything was already set up in both rooms and we were able to set up as late as we needed to, which made things so convenient for us!!! The food was also outstanding and all of our guests gave it high praise as well!!! We had Room 822 for our honeymoon suite and that room is an absolute dream; it had a gorgeous four post kingsize bed, big jacuzzi tub; a big dining table in the living room/kitchen; and of course, an outstanding waterfront view and all of this was for only $99 a night!!! The hotel also has a big pool and hot tub, where we often found most of our guests that stayed for the weekend!!! Because of our experience there, we may come back every year just to cherish the wonderful memories that we had!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It was our pleasure to be the host hotel for your wedding reception and we were happy to be part of the beautiful memories you have made from the weekend with friends and family. We are thrilled to hear how much everyone enjoyed themselves in both the pool and health club areas and hope they enjoyed the beautiful beach sunsets as well. We look forward to seeing you in years to come and do hope that you will stay in touch with us.- Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    115
    100
    62
    79
See reviews for
213
116
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
415 helpful votes 415 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding in January, per the groom’s request. First place I have stayed in years not based on TA reviews. The room size was great; every room is a suite with a living room and separate living area with kitchenette, coffee pot, and microwave. Every room has the bonus of an ocean view and most have balconies! Ours was on the 6th floor facing north, and the view faced right over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, which was cool. Our room interior was fairly lack luster with seemingly 1980's appliances in the kitchenette. Everything functioned well, however, except for the water in the showers and the sinks. The water temps would range from cold to scorching hot if not careful while showering or washing hands and the coffee pot. Seemed to be better to use water at off times (not when everyone else would be showering in the neighboring rooms). Our door opened immediately to the bedroom, with a small hall to the living space, with the bath in between. This made the hall noise VERY loud at night while trying to sleep; you hear everything from the neighbors units and hallways much too well. The hotel staff was very friendly and the complimentary local driver was a great bonus for us! I would have rated this hotel worse; however, several other couples staying for the weekend had amazing rooms! The rooms directly facing the ocean, at least on the 6th floor are great. The several that we were in were larger than and more secluded and quite than ours. The room directly facing the ocean (probably more expensive as it was the bride a groom’s room) had a huge balcony over the beach/ocean view. The neighboring room (same rate that we paid), lacked a balcony but had a full size beach/ocean view panoramic window. Both rooms were very nicely updated. Try for the direct ocean front rooms if upgrades and views are important to you. All the rooms view the ocean and are large, but the in room amenities may differ. Hotel is quite removed from the actual Va Beach area, but there are great restaurants and activities nearby. I would stay here again, but would go for ocean front!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms seemed to be better updated, a bit larger and quieter (at least on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate you staying at our resort recently and hope you had a great time at the wedding celebration you attended. Our location on the beach does have beautiful views of the Chesapeake Bay and we are glad that you enjoyed the setting. We value your insightful feedback from your experience and do hope that you will return again. Please stay in touch at: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i stayed here in october by myslef for a business trip. the room was large and loved the different areas and the view. the indoor pool and hot tub were very relaxing after a long day. The room service was a good priced but there was also a bar and a subway across the street if you wanted to get out of the room. will be back in sept for a trip with the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are happy to see that you enjoyed yourself during your recent business trip with us and had some ‘down time’ to relax in both the pool and hot tub. We hope you also had the chance to take stroll on the beach as well. Thank you for staying with us and please keep us in mind the next time you are in town. Follow us at: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Va.Beach Resort And CC on Wed. January 16 this week in room 721 . This is a Bay front corner suite of the hotel . The front part of the hotel suite was like being in my den . The only thing I lacked was a fire place . You can not put a price tag on the view of the Chesapeake Bay.
The corner room has a side bay size window witch allows you to see all around the Bay .
The staff was only a phone call a way if I had a problem . ( no problems ) !
I would suggest when your next stay , why not try a different part of of the beach.
Bill Meacham
P.S I can tell you the food is great and the chefs knows what there doing .

Room Tip: Make sure you go the extra mile and stay on either the 8th floor where the pen house suites are 7 fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and we are glad that you enjoyed our wonderful location here on the Chesapeake Bay. Our private setting on the beach and awesome views of the bay definitely help our guests to relax and enjoy themselves. We’re happy you stayed with us and look forward to seeing you back again. Feel free to stay in touch with us via Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Virginia beach resort hotel on January 5 for my birthday. We had a fantastic stay. The view from the 8th floor was amazing and the service was superb. We had room service and the food was amazing. We went to the Sunday brunch and enjoyed great service from our server JoJo! She was professional and super friendly! We will highly recommend this to friends and family.

Room Tip: The view of the bay was amazing from the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Happy Birthday and thank you for staying with us! Your perfect score is truly appreciated and we are so glad that you had a nice time at our bay front resort during your birthday celebration. We’ll be sure to pass along your kind compliments to JoJo and hope to see you back again soon! Please stay in touch! Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We checked in right around 4 p.m. and the staff was very friendly. Room had a great view of the ocean but could use some upgrades. A little stuffy and carpets are old. TV's are way too small for the rooms. Around 5:45 maintenance knocked on the door and said the leg of the table in the dining room needed fixing, was a little strange to come do since it was getting late and the room was occupied. We had dinner in the restaurant there and the staff too were also very friendly. The bed is too close to the door and to our amazement around 6:30 a.m. the following morning someone other then ourselves put their card in our door and tried to walk right in our room. If the inside lock wasnt there they would have walked right in. Called downstairs to the front desk and they said they would send security and we never heard or saw anyone come. When checking out telling the front desk once again what happened their reply was "wow that must have been scary sorry." As local's and doing many "stay-cations" we will not be staying here again....

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It was so nice talking with you about your stay. I am sorry that our staff was remiss on checking the status of the suites while doing general maintenance during your stay. I do look forward to making your next stay perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here 12/30-1/1. Room rate not too bad due to the wedding rate. That being said. The room is adequately sized , nice view but as soon as you walk in the door you hit the bed, there is a fridge and a micro wave and a small coffe pot. Shower had a very good supply of hot water but they couldve went to the 99 cent store and purchased a new shower curtain this one was ripping and grimey but other wise clean. They are also lacking power doors at the entries no its dificult to wheel in the dolly cart with luggage. Staff extremely helpful cant say a bad word about them only good .. Walls are thin all nite heard our next store people yelling . Didnt use any of the other ammenities.at one point hallways were noisy that i heard security come on the floor and we took the matress and put it in the back room on top of the sofa bed. A ways away from va beach strip . Not a bad stay other than those issues

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for your constructive feedback. We are sorry that the neighboring room kept you from sleeping soundly. Your comments are important to us and we’ll be sure to discuss them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.