We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very content” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very content”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Va.Beach Resort And CC on Wed. January 16 this week in room 721 . This is a Bay front corner suite of the hotel . The front part of the hotel suite was like being in my den . The only thing I lacked was a fire place . You can not put a price tag on the view of the Chesapeake Bay.
The corner room has a side bay size window witch allows you to see all around the Bay .
The staff was only a phone call a way if I had a problem . ( no problems ) !
I would suggest when your next stay , why not try a different part of of the beach.
Bill Meacham
P.S I can tell you the food is great and the chefs knows what there doing .

Room Tip: Make sure you go the extra mile and stay on either the 8th floor where the pen house suites are 7 fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and we are glad that you enjoyed our wonderful location here on the Chesapeake Bay. Our private setting on the beach and awesome views of the bay definitely help our guests to relax and enjoy themselves. We’re happy you stayed with us and look forward to seeing you back again. Feel free to stay in touch with us via Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    127
    109
    67
    83
See reviews for
231
119
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Virginia beach resort hotel on January 5 for my birthday. We had a fantastic stay. The view from the 8th floor was amazing and the service was superb. We had room service and the food was amazing. We went to the Sunday brunch and enjoyed great service from our server JoJo! She was professional and super friendly! We will highly recommend this to friends and family.

Room Tip: The view of the bay was amazing from the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Happy Birthday and thank you for staying with us! Your perfect score is truly appreciated and we are so glad that you had a nice time at our bay front resort during your birthday celebration. We’ll be sure to pass along your kind compliments to JoJo and hope to see you back again soon! Please stay in touch! Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We checked in right around 4 p.m. and the staff was very friendly. Room had a great view of the ocean but could use some upgrades. A little stuffy and carpets are old. TV's are way too small for the rooms. Around 5:45 maintenance knocked on the door and said the leg of the table in the dining room needed fixing, was a little strange to come do since it was getting late and the room was occupied. We had dinner in the restaurant there and the staff too were also very friendly. The bed is too close to the door and to our amazement around 6:30 a.m. the following morning someone other then ourselves put their card in our door and tried to walk right in our room. If the inside lock wasnt there they would have walked right in. Called downstairs to the front desk and they said they would send security and we never heard or saw anyone come. When checking out telling the front desk once again what happened their reply was "wow that must have been scary sorry." As local's and doing many "stay-cations" we will not be staying here again....

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It was so nice talking with you about your stay. I am sorry that our staff was remiss on checking the status of the suites while doing general maintenance during your stay. I do look forward to making your next stay perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here 12/30-1/1. Room rate not too bad due to the wedding rate. That being said. The room is adequately sized , nice view but as soon as you walk in the door you hit the bed, there is a fridge and a micro wave and a small coffe pot. Shower had a very good supply of hot water but they couldve went to the 99 cent store and purchased a new shower curtain this one was ripping and grimey but other wise clean. They are also lacking power doors at the entries no its dificult to wheel in the dolly cart with luggage. Staff extremely helpful cant say a bad word about them only good .. Walls are thin all nite heard our next store people yelling . Didnt use any of the other ammenities.at one point hallways were noisy that i heard security come on the floor and we took the matress and put it in the back room on top of the sofa bed. A ways away from va beach strip . Not a bad stay other than those issues

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for your constructive feedback. We are sorry that the neighboring room kept you from sleeping soundly. Your comments are important to us and we’ll be sure to discuss them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Virginia Beach for Christmas with our sister's family. We stayed there because the hotel close to their house,plus the hotel has indoor pool which is kids love it.But we have a AWFUL stay at the Virginia Beach Resort hotel.The hotel was little old.The bed was ok,the bathroom was ok,the shower was not good. It doesn't has good shower head, I didn't get comfy shower there. If you don't bring enough your own shampoo bodywash/soap, You'll not have enough to use. One awful thing,they didn't have the sigh for "do not disturb/please clean".Every morning, housekeeping knocked the room for cleaning around 9am when we still sleeping.
The housekeeping clean the room was very rough. They just covered with the comforter and blanket, made it look like nice, When you opened the blanket and comforter, you would see all mass sheet.the bottom sheet didn't even fitting to the mattress.
Third day, housekeeping knocked the door when we were still sleeping,she said she came later to clean,and didn't came back to clean the room. We had to called to ask for more tower for the the night, We had a dirty room for the third night there. And of course not coffee for the next morning too. Bay the way they don't have any tea in this hotel room. AWFUL TERRIBLE,I'll never come back to Virginia Beach Resort hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently however we are so sorry to read that your resort experience was not to your liking. We greatly value guest feedback and will be looking into your comments immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family stayed at the Resort Hotel after a Comand Christmas party was held there this December and had a great stay! The staff was welcoming from the start and the facility was beautiful. We enjoyed the room and the ocean view! The next morning we wanted to take a family picture in the lobby and the staff offered one better, the sales manager Vicki Wicher grabbed her own camera and took pictures in front of a beautiful Christmas tree over looking the beach, and personally emailed us the pictures that night. Had a great time with the kids in the indoor pool also overlooking the beach. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time and the view of the Chesapeake Bay while at our resort. It was our pleasure to help you with the group photo which will be a nice reminder of the holidays. We do hope you will come back again and stay in touch! Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I've been a guest, annually, for more than two decades. The fabulous location cannot be equalled; but, the property certainly is showing it's age...compounded by suboptimal attention to cleaning and routine maintenance. The staff is very apologetic; but, only after deficiencies are brought to their attention.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We thank you for again staying at our bay front resort recently and truly appreciate your business. Your comments are helpful and we will be sure to look into them. We hope you had a nice holiday and wish you a happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.