We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Middletown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stay at VBRHCC each time I travel to VA Beach (1-2 times per year) and am thoroughly satisfied with the accommodations. When we stay, we always receive a room on the bay side which is lovely. The service staff is always friendly and willing to accomodate our requests. The suites are large and the mattress is comfortable. We have eaten at Tradewinds for breakfast and the outdoor bar/lunch menu and both were delicious. The pool and bay beach access are fabulous. This year, we tried paddleboarding and the staff was very helpful instructing us "first timers" . One disadvantage is that the hotel is rather dated and is noisy. To limit outer noise, I suggest requesting a corner room and one that is far away from the elevators.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal customer and returning back recently to stay with us. We are thrilled that you had a nice time with your family and enjoyed the water sports directly behind our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you next time! Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    123
    106
    67
    83
See reviews for
230
119
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Several friends of mine attended a "lively, festive" Halloween Party in the Sunset room overlooking the beautiful Chesapeake Bay replete with a great band and costumed revelers. After we were warmly greeted by the front desk staff, the attentive banquet staff ensured timely drink and food orders were filled to everyones delight! A great time was had by all and we eagerly look forward to next years celebration! Great job VBRHCC!

Room Tip: The Sunset Room has the best view on the Chesapeake Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We enjoyed hosting the event for your group and are glad to see that you all had such a wonderful time. Thank you for expressing your nice comments about our staff and service and do hope that you will come back and see us again. Feel free to stay in touch at: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meckenheim, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The entire Hotel seems to be very old. The service is very good. Main problem is the noise level. There is no free internet in the rooms available. The charge is 9.99 $. The chairs and the table on the balcony were dirty.

Room Tip: Stay away from the space in front of the elevators. The air vents and the vending machines are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Your feedback is important to us and we thank you for staying at our resort on the bay. We’re glad that our staff was accommodating while you were here and do hope you had a nice time while in the Virginia Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Over the years I had stayed at this hotel several times, and it has never been great. However, it seems to get worse every year.

Don't get me wrong, the location is very nice. With private beach access, and from many rooms (east side of the hotel is better, west side is partially blocked by the next door condo buildings) great views of the Chesapeake Bay. Also the staff is very friendly (especially the front desk) and helpful. The rooms are quite large, like a suite, but without doors to keep the bedroom part separate from the other space.

The problem is with upkeep and maintenance. You can spot signs of negligence all over the place. Broken panels in the elevators. Scratched handles. Scuff marks everywhere. And worst, the rooms. They appear to be updated about 20 or more years ago. Carpets are grungy. Spots on the upholstery of the chairs and couches.

During my last stay I had a leaky pipe under the bathroom sink, with water dripping on the carpet underneath (yes, the sink is outside the actual bathroom, in the carpeted area, no idea who came up with that idea). A couple of the drop ceiling tiles in the bathroom were broken and loose. There were also many, many small ants throughout the room, in the bathroom, on the bed, in the kitchenette area, everywhere.

Housekeeping is somewhat spotty, too. I had days when the bed wasn't made, when old towels were picked up but not replaced, and vaccuming seems to happen about once a year. There is dust noticably accumulating in the corners. Well, definitely don't look too closely at any of the corners. There IS plenty of dirt and grime around.

Overall, not a great place. Fine for a few nights if you don't care about dirt and lack of maintenance. This could be a really nice hotel at a very good location, but it needs to be gutted and completely rehabbed.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the east side of the hotel have better views. Check room first for maintenance iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we are disappointed see you have not been fully satisfied while at our resort. We are always looking into ways on improving our hotel quality and services and will continue to do so. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thank you for the lovely cheese platter you sent to my room last week while I was at the VAESP Retreat. It was very kind of you to do this. We had a great meeting and appreciate your hospitality. The hotel facilities were perfect for our board needs. You staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we’re delighted that you and the group enjoyed your time at our resort on the bay. We look forward to having you back again and do hope that you will stay in touch with us: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was visiting relatives for a few days and decided to stay at this hotel as it was very handy. The staff were all very accommodating and I ended up staying an extra night. I had breakfast one morning in the dining room and it was excellent. My room was a suite overlooking Chesapeake Bay and the view was dazzling to wake up to each morning. The incoming ships waiting to be piloted into the harbour looked like Christmas trees all lit up. It is breathtaking.
My only complaint is that WiFi was available only in the diningroom and lounge area and the charge was $10 per 24 hours if you wanted to access it in your room. I found this a little archaic for a conference centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed both your time both at our resort and with your family nearby. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed our awesome views of the Chesapeake Bay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Location is great however the hotel itself is not located on the Atlantic, It is on Chesapeake Bay.
You do however get better sunsets where the hotel is located. The staff is great, there are just way too many of them. The hotel would save a lot of money by letting some of them go. The front desk computer system is from 1986. Needless to say the hotel needs a renovation, Top to bottom. The Restaurant is not very good at all. The parking is small for a property of its size. The pool is worn and the gym and spa too. Tried to call for a massage from the number they had listed and did not receive a return phone at all. I do not think they should call themselves a Resort.

Room Tip: End room have flat screens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we are glad to see that you enjoyed our picture perfect sunsets! We value customer feedback and are a bit disappointed to that your experience was less than perfect. Your opinions are important and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.