We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed in Virginia Beach during the off-season and our hotel made our trip. There are two Holiday Inn's on the boardwalk. Make sure to choose the one off 2607 Atlantic, It's called Surfside. We were suppose to get a regular king suite but when we arrived they did not have our room ready yet, so they upgraded us free of charge to a 2 bed suite. The 2 bed suites are different from the regular suites. They're huge and have a 2 bed sleeping area and then on the other side of the suite is the living area with kitchenette and office. Seriously if you are going to stay here for a week or so, it is really worth it to get the huge suite. The staff were always very professional and always had a smile when you walked in. Our bed was amazing, the best part. Down pillows and a down blanket with duvet cover. Plus if you get the 2 bed suite you can put all 4 pillows from the other bed on one, so you have 8 pillows to lay with. You can sleep in and look out the huge bay window to the city. Some people on here complain about the pool size but it is big enough. All we used it for was the spa. Very nice in there. Parking could be an issue but then again we walked up and down Atlantic and no one really has a huge amount of parking. Hotel has a nice patio entrance to the boardwalk. Word of advice, do not stay at any hotel that is not on the ocean front. All the nasty dumps are on Pacific and city side of Atlantic street like "The Castle." Stay at a big chain. You don't have to stay at the Marriott to get a nice stay, ours was amazing. By the way Mahi Mah's, a restaurant in the Ramada off 7th and Atlantic was a great place to eat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    124
    56
    38
    21
See reviews for
159
95
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Recently stayed here with the fiance and our 2 year old twin boys.... We went to richmond va and decided to stop in Va beach for a day of fun . When we got there traffic was backed up and it was raining something terrible ! So of course the kids became and grumpy after sitting in almost 2 hrs of traffic. We decided to stay overnight at the beach .(they had groups at the hotel and it was packed)... They didn't have any suites available but the regular rooms were great, front desk was nice and the makeover of the hotel was excellent !! Free hot breakfast of all u can eat, eggs,bacon, sausage, biscuits, cereal and pastries was wonderful !! We plan on going back next mth for a 3 day getaway with the kids !!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010 via mobile

Incredible views and a nicer hotel. Huge breakfast buffet but on plastic plates. Holiday Inn Express is their discount so plastic is acceptable! I had a suite. The sliding door opened onto that great view and my own private balcony. Didn't use the beach cause it was winter but it looked sweet! Decent kitchenette and decent room. Thought I was traveling with a buddy so ended up not needing all that room but it was really nice to spread out. The suite is set up like a one bedroom apartment but no door between the sitting and bedrooms. They ARE seperated by a small hallway that the bathroom is off if so there us still dome privacy between the rooms. Furniture and tvs were good. Excellent WiFi. 

The parking SUCKS. I parked at the Super 8 across the street in the back. They def had parking passes on some of the cabutane I was afraid they might tow me, but it looked like there were enough long terms (like construction trucks) that I felt ok nestling my old car in among those. I was there during a busy weekend at the hotel (a wedding and a reunion were there) but it was still off season!!! What the HECK must the parking be like during high season??! Yikes. Tip: 7-11 open 24 hrs behind the Super 8. The $2.50 for a bottle of Coke in the little "convenience counter" next to the front desk is stupid. BTW, the front desk crew was really nice!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We love the location and view of our room. Less spacious, but view is beautiful. Comfortable beds. Feels at least 3.5 stars overall. Very convenient location. Very nice to have breakfast included. Problem: too many people scrambling to get breakfast, it feels too crowded. Swimming pool is very smelly and small. Would not put your kids in there. Otherwise, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina_flohrs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our valued guests. However, we were sorry to hear that our accommodations were less than satisfactory. We appreciate that you were able to enjoy the breakfast and understand that at times of high occupancy it can get quite crowded.

Again, we appreciate your feedback, as it is comments like yours that help us to improve our level of service here at the beautiful Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Loved being here in OCT. The rooms have all been re-done with new bedding, carpet, upholstery and such. Unfortunately this didn't include the banged up tile in the bathroom, bathtub and toilet seat. They should have all been freshened up as well. Loved that all the rooms have a balcony facing the beach and boardwalk. The business center was nice, the breakfast fine and the service/front desk very helpful. Would have been nice to have a printed binder in the room explaining the hotel's services, facilities and surrounding things to do. There are lots of jets taking off and such but we viewed it as a plus....very fun to watch but it might bother some.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

What a nice hotel. Unfortunately the air force base is so close and the fighter jets fly so low in formation that the room rattles and the floor shakes.
If you don't mind the rumble of fighter jets flying nearly at the speed of sound shaking the room apart then you will enjoy this and all the other hotels on Virginia Beach.
The room was very comfortable and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Hotel was clean, breakfast was OK with a nice outdoor area to eat. Close to everything but parking is limited.

Staff was very helpful.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the new Holiday Inn Express and experience the same great service you have come to love when staying at the Oceanfront. Our upbeat decor and interior enhancements with remodeled guest rooms and public spaces will impress the whole family. We are now a 100% smoke-free hotel. The name may be Holiday Inn Express but your vacation will be at your own pace at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At the Holiday Inn Express, we make your family vacation accommodations our number one priority with friendly customer service, direct beach and boardwalk access, and complimentary continental breakfast served to all of our guests. For fitness and relaxation, visit our year-round indoor swimming pool, whirlpool spa, and fitness room. All of our guest rooms include a complimentary continental breakfast and have a private balcony with a full oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk, mini-refrigerator, hair dryers, coffee makers and free high-speed Internet access. Conveniently located in the center of the Virginia Beach resort area, there are many local attractions nearby such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, 11 golf courses, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals, Virginia Aquarium, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center.Enjoy the service and experience of an oceanfront resort hotel with all of the amenities you expect from a Holiday Inn at Virginia Beach's Holiday Inn Express(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.