We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MacThrift Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added MacThrift Motor Inn to your Saves list
MacThrift Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   311 22nd St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS DUMP........
Its infested with: Drug addicts and drug dealers, alcoholics, prostitutes and the city of va beach puts its homeless up there too.
Jeanette the manager is a crusty old lady that needs to get a job where she does not have to deal with the public.... So she can get her drink on.
The whole place is filthy. they have been shut down for bedbugs a couple of times and they still have them.Its roach infested, the carpets are dirty and the rooms smell like youy know what.
There is not security and the cars get robbed all the time. Ther are muggings in the parking lot, One was a bike cop... It was on the news and in the paper. I would rather sleep in a bush than stay here...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Beware of this NASTY motel. I cried when we got here and most of the next day - I wanted a nice, relaxing get-away weekend. Boy were we in for a surprise. It was the dirtiest motel I have ever stepped foot in. It smelled like vomit, and the walls were "textured" in some type of filth." I did not see bugs but slept with lights on. My feet were dirtier after getting out of the shower than before I got in after going to beach. There was sooo much noise all night - I was apprehensive to go outside or look out the window after dark. Our car was hit in the parking lot. I am hoping we do not get scabies. We left early because of fear for our lives and health status. DO NOT STAY HERE. We actually will never go to Virginia Beach on vacation again!! However the AC was good. Please stay away for your own safety.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MECHANICSVILLE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Not bad at all for the cost. Motel is dated but everything was in working order. Room was clean. No bugs or any of that as other reviews state. Short walk to beach. Would stay again if funds were limited. Staff nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

the room was disgusting it was dirty and roach infested and I would rather sleep on the street. for god sake do not stay there

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay here for a night to see how we would like it if we did weekly rentals...the lady at the from desk seemed upset that we had to go to an ATM to get money because the lobby was about to close. She was patient enough, I guess. She waited outside the door for us. We got to the room and the door looked busted. We tried to turn on the lights, the lights didn't work. I looked around and went through every room and when I turned the light on in the bathroom, there were roaches, from adults to babies. I was disgusted. I have a fear of bed bugs and when I pulled the sheets back on one of the double beds, I found a roach, alive and well. This place needs pest control. The bathroom floor was sticky. I refused to sleep in the bed until we took all the sheets off and we put them back on ourselves. The kitchen wasn't too bad but the fridge shelves kept falling. My husband and I were watching tv about 20 minutes ago and heard arguing from down stairs. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. This is NOT place for children, in my opinion. If you do decide to stay here, bring a can of RAID, a bunch of sanitizing wipes, vacuum and your own sheets...heck, bring your own bed. Worst experience I've ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a busted up stinky motel. Never bring children or babies. The front desk clerks are very rude. The rooms are outdated and have broken appliances, even the microwave in the front office barely worked. Our tub in the bathroom received backfill with water and loose looking gravel. They practice unfair policies here. There is a sign that says no refund whenever you see a place of business especially a hotel or motel that has a sign stating no refund take it as a big RED FLAGGGGGG...... They will not give you your money back even for something like plumbing issues which is something totally on them and not the fault of the guest. They do not care and are money hungry. WARNING: Stay away from this place even if the price is right....

Room Tip: Outdated, dirty looking, stinky, broken appliances, and poor lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere-du-Loup, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

For 973.00$ plus taxes, it was just terrible. A lot of ants running everywhere. It smells dirty and it was dirty. This building needs a pest control and someone to repair le lot of things. We need to pay to have ici. It was supposed to an efficiency unit but there was nothing in the kitchen exept a small et old stove and a broken refrigerator. We need to buy RAID and something to have a better odor inside the unit. Maid service is only once a week. We need to take care of our garbage by ourselves and go the office to change our towels everyday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacThrift Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacThrift Motor Inn

Address: 311 22nd St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MacThrift Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your MacThrift Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacThrift Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.