We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest to the Big Apple that we get here in the South!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Route 58 Delicatessen

Route 58 Delicatessen
4000 Virginia Beach Boulevard, Suite 156, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
757-227-5868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,254 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have plenty of parking!
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Closest to the Big Apple that we get here in the South!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is fabulous. The portions are huge and I mean huge. My and I share a sandwich and an order of fries and it is more than enough food. The kids like the smothered fries and I love the real NY pickles. Any transplanted New Yorker knows what real pickles are. This place gets very crowded and there is always a wait but it is well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    53
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As close to New York as you can get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We heard that the Route 58 Deli was as good as Katz in NYC. While not dead on the money it was a tight second!! The pastrami was fantastic!!! The wait staff was fun and friendly with an authentic NYC deli atmosphere!! The icing on the cake (pun intended) was the glorious desserts direct from Carnegie Deli! Need a NYC "fix"? This is THE place to be!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Deli in the South!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We live near Philly and also go to NYC; and this Deli is as good as a NYC Deli. That means corned beef, pastrami lovers are going to love it here! The sandwich is Enormous so you can split it and will be content. Definitely will go back on my next trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Deli This Side of Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Following our retirement, as New York transplants, we had been searching for a deli that rivals the Carnegie and Roxi delis in New York - places where you may have to pay double for a corned beef sandwich, but it is enough to feed an Army platoon - and delicious. This is why we were thrilled that Route 58 opened just a mile from us. It is a very busy place - for good reason, especially on weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are avid Trip Advisor users and are rarely led astray, but unfortunately I have to disagree with the majority of reviewers on this one. As the #1 rated restaurant we decided to check it out when we moved here. It is true they have gigantic portions, and if that is the reason you are going out to eat then this is the place for you. However, the food itself is terrible and VERY expensive. I had a turkey sandwich that had absolutely no flavor at all. My husband had the famous reuben. When I got home I tried to doctor up the leftovers as best as I could, but it was hard to as the meat itself was the bad tasting part. I personally would recommend that they change the meat to a smoked variety or at least try and put some seasoning on the sandwiches. The bill was around $35 for two sandwiches and we felt really guilty for throwing away the leftovers, but even our children refused to eat them!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 58 Delicatessen also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Route 58 Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 58 Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.