We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a New York Deli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 58 Delicatessen

Route 58 Delicatessen
4000 Virginia Beach Boulevard, Suite 156, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
757-227-5868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,254 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have plenty of parking!
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just like a New York Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you are longing for the days of a nice Jewish deli, long no more. They have everything from pastrami, to knishes, to Dr. Brown's Cream Soda -- you name it they've got it. Bring a friend because the portions are too large to finish. Either share or be prepared to go home with a doggie bag. The food is outstanding. You won't be disappointed. It rivals the Carnegie Deli in NYC.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    53
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Large Portions, Cool Atmosphere, Fresh Deli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband I shared a meal here and we could not finish. Their slogan is, "If you've finished, we've done something wrong." We got the super reuben. It was very good. Fresh meat on the sandwiches are cut from the deli on site. Atmosphere is pretty good. Service was only ok. I'd like to go again and give it another try.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“People Really "Rave" about this junk of a place?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

My son and I came in a few weeks ago and had a waitress name Megan or Melissa I can't remember because she was just awful, non attentive and rude! My food came out fast but it was disgustingly huge!! My add $1 extra lean sandwich was fatty as ever. My sons eggs were greasy and pancakes were almost plastic like. I watched as the waitresses mingled around the restaurant talked to important customers and left the others to be. The host was the most pleasant person there. The owner was a complete a$& and came over to the table like it was a fancy place and like he'd just made everything from scratch. Yeaaaa ok. Needless to say this place sucks and I'd rather be in jersey!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Finally, a good Ruben in Virginia....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I tried here on the advice of a friend. We both had the Open Face Ruben, hers with just corned beef, mine with just the corned beef and pastrami. The quality and the quantity of food were both fantastic. The service was superb. Further, the diner had a wonderful reputation visible when we arrived, it was packed, even at 1:00p on a Sunday. We will be returning to try the other menu items even with the drive. We live about 30 miles away. My best new restaurant find in a while.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you want a Ny style deli sandwich complete with the price if NY, come to this deli. The sandwiches are big enough for a family.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 58 Delicatessen also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Route 58 Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 58 Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.