We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia Beach Trip with granddaughter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center

Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center
717 General Booth Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
(757) 385-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Science Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Whale watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 300,000-gallon tank with sharks, barracuda and other aquatic species, is the main attaction at this popular aquarium.
Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Virginia Beach Trip with granddaughter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Aquarium is a nice treat and a good side run when looking for other things to do while at the Beach. Fairly close to Beach and easy ride by car. We took our 6 year old grand daughter and she was into it from beginning to end and we did both buildings.
Nice interactive things for kids to do and presentation is nice quality and adults will enjoy it also. Restaurant ok, of course a little pricey.
Go enjoy!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    370
    168
    32
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
National Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A great Aquarium & Science Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent a great few hours at the Virginia Aquarium & Science Center. A large Aquarium, that has many, Fish, Turtels, Seals etc. A great Marsh excibit that houses many birds & wild life. A long wooden walk way where you can walk through the Marshes. An Imax theater if you wish to few. & boat rides that tour the Marsh. We had a great visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The aquarium, as others have reviewed, is expensive at $32 for an adult ticket. For locals it's a great deal for a membership as it's almost the same price. I went with some friends and their children (ages 5-8) and we all had a great time. There is a lot of interaction with the animals and many workers to which you can have questions answered. The trail between buildings is about 1/4 mile long depending on if you take the route straight to the other building or walk along the trails by the water. Being able to pet the stingrays was incredible in the large tank as well as the crabs. The kids loved the submarine where they could move the cameras by the shark tank and it was hard to get them to leave. We all had a fun time.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Aquarium is great, but skip the boat excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The aquarium itself is terrific...lots of great exhibits. We were a group of 3 adults and 5 more between the ages of 16 and 20. We all enjoyed it very much, especially the river otters, aviary and nature walk.

One caution: there are two buildings with a fairly long nature walk between, so if you did this on a rainy day, you'll either get wet or may want to drive from one parking lot to the other.

One negative: the "Cruise the Creek" boat excursion is advertised as: "It provides a glimpse of the last undeveloped salt marsh in Virginia Beach, the Owls Creek Salt Marsh. During the 30-minute cruise Aquarium educators introduce visitors to Owls Creek’s special ecosystem and some of its inhabitants." All you'll see is the back end of expensive houses and a yacht basin. The glimpse of the salt marsh is as you leave the Aquarium dock. The "educators" did not notice or identify most of the birdlife/wildlife we saw. If it's nature you want to see, don't waste your time or money on this. You'll see more of the salt marsh on the nature walk.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmonder08
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Aquarium, plan to spend a full day here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My family visited the aquarium on a rainy Sunday morning. We arrived to find a long line to purchase tickets that stretched all the way down the sidewalk (in the rain!). Luckily, we had purchased our tickets prior to coming to the aquarium from our hotel (Hilton). We were able to bypass the lines and go directly inside to the entrance for pass holders.

Our 3 kids loved the aquarium! We had a double stroller with us and were worried it would be too big for small areas, but it worked out great. There was always plenty of room. The underwater tunnel was our kids favorite part. We enjoyed watching the sharks swim by. The loggerhead turtle exhibit is awesome. They even have a turtle nursery where baby turtles are swimming in little tanks. Very cool.

We had planned to stay for 3 hours but ended up staying for almost 5! We did have lunch there which took time. Lunch was over priced and we were not allowed to bring any outside food into the restaurant for the kids. Example: a small applesauce was $2.50! I can go to the grocery store and buy a whole 6 pack for $2. Juice boxes were $3.00. But overall the food was good. Just expensive! The price for 2 adult meals and 1 kids meal was $35 just to give you an idea of how expensive it was. Gift shop is great, fair prices.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.