We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #25 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
United States
1 review
“vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall is a nice family experience because you have a good breakfast and internet acces.The hotel location it is good except that the oceaview is somehow clouded by the fact the smell from the restaurant appliances is coming up and you can not feel the ocean breaze.Other wise it is clean except that the bathrooms is were they need some improvments.The staff is friendly .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    199
    83
    24
    15
See reviews for
288
158
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hampton Inn Oceanfront South is a nice hotel situated on the boardwalk, providing easy access to the beach. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. Each room has balcony with two chairs overlooking the beach (dolphins can be spotted while watching the sunrise). Fresh coffee and tea were available all day in the lobby. The free breakfast that was included with the room was adequate and included all of the basics. We enjoyed the Taphouse restaurant (good food and very convenient). Free parking is available in their parking deck. A parking pass provided upon check-in, allowing one car per room. The indoor pool was very small and the gym had 3 pieces of exercise equipment (treadmill, bicycle, and an elliptical machine). Internet access was free in the room via cable connection. There were many accessible outlets for electronic devices. The room did not have a safe. In all, this is a decent hotel that had all of the basic necessities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed 4 nights but originally planned to stay for 2. The staff was exceptional, very friendly and helped us extend our stay without a hitch!! It is exactly what we expect from a Hampton Inn!!! The location is great, right on the beach and shops and restaurants are nearby! Thank to the staff for making our stay a very pleasant one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well, it's maybe not the best hotel in the world, but it was perfect for the spot. You can't be closer to the beach. Bring your chairs and have fun ! The room we had was really good even if the beds were a bit firm. But the view was perfect ! Breakfast included, very good service at the front desk, free inside parking, free (but slow) WiFi. The only downside, if it's one, is about the location. At the 11th street, you are 5 streets too low to really be in the action. Beside that, perfect !

Room Tip: Take thje oceanview. Seriously, it's impressive !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I decided to stay at the hampton inn because i heard some great things about the nice features these hotels offer. i was only able to stay at this hotel for one night and I wished I could have booked it for longer. But i had a fun time while I was there. i had a great view of the ocean from the balcony of my room from the sixth floor. The room was nice and I loved the way they had continental breakfast the next morning free for their quests. I was satisfied with the way I was treated the employees were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful experience, I would highly recommend this facility to family/friends! I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room, and the friendliness of the staff, they went above and beyond all our expectations. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

At a cost of 269 dollars on average per night, ...the stay wasn't that impressive. Breakfast area, and access to breakfast very frustrating,.. much too small an area for a 10 story hotel. Designer flaw to say the least. Friendly staff, ...just not very attentive to your needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.