We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #25 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Canonsburg, United States
1 review
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is a great value! The hotel is clean and in a convenient location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is a nice bonus. I will definitely stay at this location again. I have recommended to a friend, and she will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    199
    83
    24
    15
See reviews for
288
158
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Park
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for weekend preceding July 4, 2013. A fairly Spartan hotel, however we just needed a place to rest our head for two nights as we wanted to extend a week-long vacation elsewhere in Virginia w/ a couple days at the beach. The service was good, the wifi reliable and fast, the breakfast was fine (we weren't cramped because the hotel opened up the adjacent banquet room for breakfast patrons). The best part was the hotel lobby and room was clean which isn't easy for a beachfront property (except you couldn't sit on the balcony furniture because it was covered w/ dirt), and the beds were extremely comfortable and the drapes really kept the light out when we wanted to sleep in. Also really appreciated the in-room frig and microwave. Our frig wasn't working when we arrived and within minutes of making a maintenance report we had a new frig. We had a second story room and although it didn't really bother us, I agree w/ another reviewer who stated the beach view would be better higher up. After reading numerous online reviews of other venues, we chose this hotel because it seemed like one of the better choices for the price. Many places were either too expensive for us or the reviews indicated shabby and dirty. We were pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose floor 3 or up, to not have an impeded ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Overall great hotel / not too busy and a wonderful location and the breakfast was good for a Hampton Inn since I'm used to Hilton and Embassy breakfasts it was surprisingly good.
If you are looking for a good hotel that is connected to a well-known chain this is it, walking distance to the beach and great views from the room.
The downside to their suites is that they are suited more for a family versus a group of friends or family with friends due to the lack of privacy in the suite while the room is very roomy and has a great view it is one big open room.
The front desk staff was very wonderful.
What I was displeased with was the housekeeping service, we left a swimsuit in the room drying and was never contacted which might seem like a small thing but when you have a swimsuit that actually fits good, its hard to find a replacement.
As a Hilton Honors gold member I was disappointed that the hotel did not contact me in the past when I have inadvertently left an item at the hotel they have either contacted me or immediately mailed the item to my home address listed on my Hilton account.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

nice room, breakfast food was poor, service was good. lobby very small, our room on second floor gave poor view of beach. breakfast serving area small and crammed with guests. fair value for Virginia beach hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about Hampton inn. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. The breakfast was great, above expectation, and the beach access was great. I found nothing I would change.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double suite, room 1003 on the 10th floor. It was meticulously clean. The view through the double set of sliding doors was nothing but ocean and beach...beautiful! The beds were fresh and clean...even the duvets, which in other hotels we immediately toss to the floor because they never get washed. Bathroom was spotless, air smelled fresh, and extra pillows were in the room minutes after calling housekeeping. Indoor pool was clean. Lobby coffee available around the clock and fresh! We would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We overall had a very good time. The good: On the beach, excellent view, clean & quiet rooms, wide selection variety for breakfast, and the staff was generally helpful. The bad: A false security/fire alarm was triggered 2:30 in the morning during our stay. I would have rated the Sleep Quality higher if this did not occur. I did see multiple security trucks at the hotel the next day, so at least the hotel was proactive at investigating the false alarm to the system. I understand basic economics (Supply vs. Demand) but unless I feel I am getting a really good deal on the cost, I rate this an average value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.