We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, and accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Points!
Ranked #33 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy, and accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about Hampton inn. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. The breakfast was great, above expectation, and the beach access was great. I found nothing I would change.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    217
    95
    30
    17
See reviews for
314
181
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in a double suite, room 1003 on the 10th floor. It was meticulously clean. The view through the double set of sliding doors was nothing but ocean and beach...beautiful! The beds were fresh and clean...even the duvets, which in other hotels we immediately toss to the floor because they never get washed. Bathroom was spotless, air smelled fresh, and extra pillows were in the room minutes after calling housekeeping. Indoor pool was clean. Lobby coffee available around the clock and fresh! We would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We overall had a very good time. The good: On the beach, excellent view, clean & quiet rooms, wide selection variety for breakfast, and the staff was generally helpful. The bad: A false security/fire alarm was triggered 2:30 in the morning during our stay. I would have rated the Sleep Quality higher if this did not occur. I did see multiple security trucks at the hotel the next day, so at least the hotel was proactive at investigating the false alarm to the system. I understand basic economics (Supply vs. Demand) but unless I feel I am getting a really good deal on the cost, I rate this an average value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great hotel located right along the beach. The view from the rooms is wonderful. It was so nice to sit on the balcony and see and hear the ocean. Virginia Beach is great for families. The hotel has a really nice breakfast. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been generally pleased with my stays at Hampton Inns over the years and will continue to frequent the chain, but there were too many issues with my recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach South to recommend this particular Hampton.

Starting with the positives: With the exception of being on the beach, this hotel is a standard Hampton Inn, which means that, while not luxurious, the rooms are clean and comfortable and you get Hampton’s standard, basic breakfast (as others have noted, the breakfast area is very crowded at peak hours). The staff was friendly and the location – right on the boardwalk/beach – is excellent, though there are many beachfront hotels on Virginia Beach from which to chose.

The issues:

1) The door to the closet in the room is a full length mirror on a hinge. Ours detached from the top hinge while my wife was gently closing it, causing the mirror to fall forward into the opposite wall and shatter. There were shards of glass everywhere, including in our suitcase. Luckily neither my wife nor children were injured. To their credit, the staff replaced the door and vacuumed up the glass within an hour, but the fact that they happened to have an extra door ready to go made me suspect this was not an isolated incident.

2) On one of the nights of our 4 night stay, the fire alarm went off at 3am. You will notice that other reviewers had the same issue. The alarm sounded for about 30 seconds, and then went silent. Unsure whether it was a true alarm, we called the front desk to ask if it was a real emergency, but no one answered. We left the building and sat on the boardwalk for about 15 minutes. During that time no one from the hotel came out to tell us what was happening or to let us know we could reenter. Eventually, people just started shuffling back into the hotel and we followed the crowd in. No announcement was ever made. No apology offered.

3) The garage set-up is awkward. It is a 5 story garage that sits behind and is connected to the 10 story hotel, but the garage itself does not have an elevator – you have to use the hotel elevator – and the door connecting each of the first 5 hotel floors to the garage is on the opposite end of the hotel as the elevator. So if, like me, you like to store your beach gear in your car so as not to take up space in your room and get sand all over, you have to either lug your gear up and down the garage stairs each day, or bring all of your sandy, wet beach gear into the main lobby of the hotel, use the guest elevators to get to the floor of the garage on which you parked, and then walk down the interior guest room hall to the opposite end of the building where the connecting door to the garage is located – making a sandy mess of the lobby and hallway on your way.

This was our first trip to Virginia Beach, so I cannot speak as to any of the other dozen hotels on the boardwalk. But I have to imagine there are better options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had booked an 8 day stay to visit my military based son. Had to change my departure date because he wouldn't be there. Hotel would not honor the rate I booked my first 4 days for even though checking in on same date. Staff was very unhelpful. Had to cancel my reservation and visit to son due to increase. Will not book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went on a family vacation to Virginia Beach . The hotel staff was wonderful from the front desk to the housekeepers. The complimentary breakfast was actually pretty good. We good finitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.