We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #25 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great deal~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I became overwhelmed in my search for the best affordable deal in Virginia Beach. Thankfully, we wound up at the Hampton Inn, a hidden jewel.

Perks:
1. Literally, on the beach! FYI: Ocean Front rooms face the water, while Ocean View may afford you a peak depending on the angle.
2. Location at the end of the beach: It's close enough to shops and the mix of things but it's not in a loud party area. There are restaurants and a bike rental a few feet away.
3. Free Covered Parking
4. Free WiFi
5. Continental Breakfast & All day coffee/tea/ hot water... Now I'm not going to rave about the food. I found it to be "okay." Don't wait for the ninth hour to eat, people are hovering and the food is scarce. I did find you can go early and bring your food up on a tray.
6. Staff: The personnel working the front desk were consistently courteous and professional.

The beds are comfy and the room is clean. The upstairs teens got a little rowdy during spring break but I know when not to travel. There was some construction at the lobby but that didn't impact our stay. I do plan to return to VA Beach my birthday weekend and my hotel of choice will be the Hampton Inn. It may not be luxury but it was definitely a quality stay and affordable to boot.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are off a roof area; rooms above may drop cigarette butts which you'll see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to hear that you had a great visit to the hotel am I will be sure to share your comments both about the hotel and the service provided to the hotel's team members. We hope that we will be able to serve you again on your next visit to the area.

Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    200
    83
    24
    15
See reviews for
289
159
19
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We traveled to Virginia Beach for 5 days for a wedding, and we are so glad that we chose to stay at Hampton Inn. My *now* husband and I stayed with his mother and Aunt for 3 of the 5 nights in a suite. It was SO NICE! Double balconies, two super comfortable beds, a sleeper sofa, plenty of closet space, a huge bathroom, and TWO sinks. The halls were also clean, the pool was a blast, AND clean. They had plenty of pool towels, although we used our own. Our favorite part, was actually being able to eat and get full from continental breakfast. Most hotels we have stayed at previously only offered bagels, muffins, and a juice machine. This however, offered hot food, along with two waffle makers, a cereal bar. some cut fruit, yogurt, and oatmeal station, combined with the bagels and muffins. Sandy in the kitchen has such a great personality. She came to talk to us and clean our table almost every morning. We also saw her interacting with other guests, and she really is a good find for your service. Plenty of eating space as opposed to other hotels. Yes, they are renovating the floors through the lobby and hallway. It's a little bit of a mess, but they have signs upon entrance to the hotel, in the elevators, and caution signs in the floor. From my family perspective, we are glad to see them making the appropriate upgrades to keep the hotel top notch. The workers laying the floor are very nice, and truly do not try to be in your way. It will be beautiful when it is finished!
Needless to say, we plan on visiting again later in the year, will definitely stay here.

Oh, also, my Mother in Law needed to check out a day early due to a death in our family... LaShanda at the front desk was able to get us checked out, refunded, and on our way. Big thanks to her for the assistance.

Thanks Hampton for wonderful reservations and a great place to celebrate our wedding!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to submit a review from your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are happy that you had a memorable stay with us and I will make sure to share your comments with the hotel's team members. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We did not have a reservation here but needed to call it a day after a long car ride, and since we only stay at Hampton Inns, this was an easy choice. We were not only accommodated immediately, but were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite! The hotel was a mess due to construction but this made up for it. Now the not so nice. At 2:45 AM we were awakened to the fire alarm and an announcement to evacuate. This was not a big problem because obviously if there is a problem we want out! The guests filed out and just hung around the back of the hotel milling about. There should've been some clear direction from someone in charge. It was about half an hour before someone came out and and in a very non convincing way, threw his hands up in the air and said there was a grease fire. At no point were we told to go back in but since the firemen left and the sirens stopped, we went back in. Again, not complaining about having to evacuate...we want to be safe....I just think it could've been more organized and orderly. I am a HUGE fan of Hampton Inns and this will not stop me from coming back. SUPER comfy beds, very friendly staff, and great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review from your stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are sorry for the mess from our recent renovation and we are happy to say that the project will be completed before the end of this week. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The flooring is torn up in the lobby and parts of the first floor. Some places have elevated tile installed and other places don't making things uneven and unsafe. My wife tripped on the tile and I saw an employee trip on it also. In two days I never saw anybody working on the construction at any time. I can't believe that it is just sitting there in that condition and apparently there is no sense of urgency to fix it. A handicapped person with a walker, crutches, cane or wheelchair would have some real problems there. We arrived early and our room was not ready. The clerk took my cell # and said he'd call me when it was ready. He didn't call. The room was smaller than we were accustomed to from Hampton Inns. The chair at the desk was broken and the sofa was very uncomfortable to sit on. The bed was great as Hampton Inns always seem to be. The breakfast area and offerings were nice in a clean, well kept area. I was reluctant to give this a poor rating but it probably was closer to poor than average due to the construction.

Room Tip: Make sure the construction is over before you stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We would like to sincerely apologize to you for the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. As you stated, we are undergoing renovations and we thank all of our guests for their patience during this tough time. Again, we apologize and we hope that you will return and experience our improvements first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was probably the nicest Hampton Inn we've ever stayed in. During our visit (Apr 12-15, 2013) they were updating the lobby flooring and that work should be finished shortly. Room was spacious, clean, comfortable with beach view and private balcony. Although they advertised only hard-wired internet in rooms and wireless in public areas, our room (#210) was receiving wireless perfectly. Perhaps because we were near/over the hub? Sound-proofing was excellent: there were noisy neighbors (we could tell when in the hallway), but couldn't hear a peep once inside rooms...no TV noise or anything. Large breakfast room and good hot breakfast with flip-over waffles and rotating variety of meats & eggs each day, along with usual bakery, fruits, cereals, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful...allowed us into our room 2-3 hours before scheduled check-in. Price was lower than Hampton Inn North, several blocks away at the other end of the "strip." We liked the southern location better anyway. Only thing missing was a hot tub, which would have been nice as weather was cool. Highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if coming to Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Room Tip: If you don't mind seeing the rooftop overhang level with your balcony, room #210 was receiving w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments in regards to the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are excited to read your positive comments and have shared with the hotel's team members. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Virigina Beach area.

Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here last week for a few days and but decided to stay the entire week to enjoy the weather. We got a great deal on Expedia and paid for two extra days directly to the hotel which was ok. We had a suite on the top floor and the view was spectacular. The room showed its age, hardware was missing on the drawers, cracks on the ceiling and a broken light bulb. I called for the broken light bulb and it was replaced within 10 minutes. Housekeeping was a little of a disappointment, they only came twice for the week we stayed and I needed to remind the front desk not to forget our room. The lobby is not completed as stated on the website, still have much to do. But what's been done looks really good. Breakfast was a nice touch, each morning had something different. Overall our family enjoyed our stay, we would probably be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. I apologize for the maintenance and housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay. I have shared your comments with my team to ensure that these type of issues are not enountered. As for the renovations we should have the project complete in the next couple of weeks.

We hope that we may serve your lodging needs again upon your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well appointed and well positioned this is a great place to relax while staying at Virginia Beach. Lobby was undergoing renovation during our stay but the staff and the contracters were most considerate of guests. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Additionally, thank you for bearing with us as we go through a renovation of our first floor public areas.

We hope to serve your lodging needs during your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.