We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean, comfortable family vacation spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean, comfortable family vacation spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent a week here in June 2012 for a family vacation. We arrived very late at night (close to midnight), they were accommodating, and changed our room for us when we could hear noise from Taphouse to an end room (high numbers). The staff was friendly (desk, housekeeping, breakfast) for the duration for our stay. Our room was clean, though like any hotel room that gets a lot of use and is oceanfront, it was starting to show a little wear - I noticed it in the bathroom. The beds seemed clean and were comfortable. Parking garage is attached to the building, you provide vehicle info upon check-in, and there is staff to monitor who goes in and out to ensure people don't park there who shouldn't. Hotel is at a quiet part of the boardwalk, which is exactly what we wanted, so if you are looking for a lot of action, you may want to stay further north. The room had small fridge, small flat-screen TV, 3-4 cup coffee maker, hair dryer, just about everything we needed to be comfortable. Our balcony had two chairs and a little table, very nice view of the ocean. Breakfast was nice, got a little crowded on the weekend. All kinds of juices, cereal and milk, waffle station, and a hot option that changed daily (i.e. egg and sausage). Would be helpful if they had a flow of one way in, one way out otherwise people are kind of a mess. Nice view of beach from breakfast room, this is also where door to beach is located. Comparing it to others in its class, they did a nice job - affordable, family hotel, clean, quiet, comfortable for a pleasant week at the beach.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, rooms with the higher numbers are farther away from the Taphouse an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for submitting a review on your stay from last summer at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad that you had a great stay and that both the service and the cleanliness exceeded your expectations. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    193
    83
    22
    15
See reviews for
281
153
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Clean, fresh hotel. Clean duvet covers are put on beds upon guest arrival!! Makes for an amazing nights sleep. Very friendly and kind staff. Highly recommend for anyone visiting the Virginia Beach area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for selecting the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South for your recent lodging needs to the area. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will make sure to shar your comments with hotel's team members. We hope to serve your lodging needs when you visit the Virginia Beach area again.

Regards,
Paul Marcum
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Room wasnt ready at check-in time, but by the end of the week we had forgotten all about that because everything else was PERFECT! Room was spotlessly clean and the view of the ocean and boardwalk was priceless. Breakfast was great and the restaurant downstairs (believe it was called the Tap House) had awesome burgers (love the pretzel buns). We hope to return to Va Beach again soon and we will definantly stay here. The Hampton Inn North looks nicer on the web, but its more expensive and I cant imagine that its much nicer than this one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for, well as you put it, an "Awesome" review in regards to your stay at our hotel. We are glad to read that you had a great experience. We will make sure to share your review with the hotel's team members. We hope that we can again serve your lodging needs upon your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This Hampton Inn is easy to locate on the main beach road. Upon arrival, you can park right inside the garage connected to the hotel. Then proceed inside to the front desk and provide them with your vehicle information upon check-in, so you aren't towed. The Taphouse is connected to the hotel and utilizes some of the parking spaces in the garage, however, there are 5 floors of parking, so you won't have trouble finding a spot. All of the employees were very friendly throughout the duration of our stay. The hotel was very clean and the swimming pool and fitness room were well kept. The One King bed room that we had, was very spacious. The bed itself was incredibly comfortable and clean. The room also had a good size mini fridge, flat screen television, and a balcony, equipped with a small table and two chairs, that overlooked the beach and was great for watching the sunrise. I had a cup of coffee from the mini coffeemaker in the bathroom, which brews individual pods for single cups. The coffee itself was good, however, I had to wipe out the water reservoir a little bit, because it is clear that the plastic was building up something inside of it. Not a major issue, but perhaps something stainless steel would be better, but then again, this is just a coffeemaker in a hotel room. Aside from that, the remainder of our stay was great. The breakfast area was nice. The spread consisted of a Waffle maker, eggs (from a bag as someone previously mentioned), sausage, bagels, english muffins, bread, yogurt, fresh fruit, various juices (apple, orange, cranberry), and a few varieties of fresh brewed coffee to include light roast, medium roast, bold roast, and decaf. Checking out of the hotel was a breeze as well. I was very pleased with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the beach.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, I think there was only one room above us, but we didn't hear a sound f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for submitting your review in regards to your recent stay. We always like to hear that our guests have had enjoyable stays and your review backs this up. I will make sure to share your comments with the hotel's team members. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here this past weekend for a friend's 30th bday. This hotel is a typical Hampton Inn...clean rooms, nice staff, free breakfast. This particular Hampton had a bar/restaurant attached to it which was a great perk. We ate lunch there (decent food, nothing to write home about) and had drinks there with friends at night. The bar is was a lot of fun, tons of people and good music. One thing I do want to note is that there is really good customer service at the hotel. We had called ahead for early check in and was told the standard "we will make a note but cannot guarantee it." We showed up around noon and were told our room was not ready. I told them I was a Hilton Golds member (the room was booked under my friend's name) and immediately was given a better room and told we could go right up. I love the hotels that honor the Gold status! Rooms were decent, could use a bit of updating. We had a balcony which looked right over the ocean. We didn't use it much as it was so cold. I would definitely suggest staying here in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to submit a review in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience while staying with us.

In your review you had mentioned that the rooms could use some updating. We are finishing up repainting all of our guest room and bathrooms. Additionally, we are about to renovate our entire first floor public areas to include new floor tile throughout the lobby, corridor and breakfast area. Lastly we are also in the process of resurfacing our indoor swimming pool.

We hope to serve again your lodging needs upon your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in a suite which was large and spacious. Great for mulitday trips. Most of the staff was wonderful, with the exception of the person at the desk near check out time. I asked her for a late checkout on a Sunday--asked to stay until 2pm since my husband had business in town until approximately 9 pm and I had two pre-teen boys to keep busy. She wrinkled her nose at me and said she would have to charge me for an extra night if we checked out past noon. I got the feeling she was pro-staff and anti-guest. She made me feel as if we were not welcome, but she was the only one who was negative. We were on the 9th floor and the view was great. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good. The attached restaraunt has a good menu-the lobster dip was yummy--but at night, there was a loud band. It was not the best place for a family dinner, but we ordered and they kindly delivered it up to our room.

Room Tip: Suites are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We appreciate your comments and take all comments and share with our staff members. I am sorry you experienced some resistance when seeking an extended checkout time. We will address this with the team.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs upon your next visit to the area.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed the weekend of Valentine's Day in 2013 and the entire time was incredible, due in large part to the outstanding staff. The hotel areas are spotless and the room was clean and very relaxing. This hotel by FAR is one of the best on the entire Virginia Beach Boardwalk strip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive comments in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virigina Beach Oceanfront South. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service and cleanliness during your stay. We will make sure to share your comments with the hotel's team members and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to Virginia Beach area.

Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.