We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #25 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Potomac, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Third stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It's like going to our home away from home. Great staff and rooms. Only problem was the band playing until after 11 PM. Request a high floor. We stay here a few times a year on business. Location is great. We walked on the boardwalk, yes it was cold but the sunrise was well worth it. Staff is great.

I always look forward to staying at this Hampton Inn! Great beds. Very clean.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to hear that your experience at the hotel was another positive experience. I will make sure to share your comment about the band to the restaurant manager. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    200
    83
    24
    15
See reviews for
289
159
19
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were there the first weekend in Feb 2013 for the Polar Plunge. As usual the front desk staff is out of this world and House keeping was right on top of things. We left the shades open so we could see the sunrise first thing. I cant tell you the breath taking view we had. After getting up we went down stairs to a full breakfast. Always hot and ready when you get there. Plenty of choices for Breakfast to even satisfy the most difficult to feed. Single serve coffee pot in the room makes it easy to have a cup when you would like. Rooms have microwave and frig. I had problems with getting my computer to link to the wifi but staff was patient and helped me get it linked up. Staff is always ready to assist with any needs.

Room Tip: When booking your room just tell the staff what you need they are always ready to help any way they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We appreciate the kind words that you shared with us in regards to the service that was provided during your recent stay with us. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We will make sure that the hotel's team members are aware of your comments and we hope to see you again next year for the Polar Plunge.

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived early, were greeted warmly by the staff. Every accommodation was made to make our stay the best possible. The room was spotless and comfortable--esp the beds! We were there for the Polar Plunge for Special Olympics, THANKS for unlimited hot water after the plunge! The Tap Room lounge in the hotel was great--super service, friendly staff, reasonable prices. Great value overall---we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Jim, thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to see that all aspects of your stay were positive experiences. We will make sure to share your comments with the hotels team and we hope to see you again next year for the Polar Plunge, if not sooner.

With Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice Hampton Inn on the boardwalk in a quieter part of town. Rooms were nice, up to Hampton Inn expectations in every way, but the entrance to the hotel to check in is only accessible on the ground level. Don't park upstairs and try to enter the hotel up the ramp. You can't get in without a key card. The option is to walk down the ramp and then into the lobby. I was not able to find an elevator in the parking garage.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. I can't imagine there are any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a short review and completing the Hilton survey from your stay with us on 1/29. We take all comments that are shared with us seriously in an effort to continuously make the hotel better. We are sorry that you found the hotel's entrance locatoin confusing and we are looking at adding additional signage.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope that you will consider staying at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South again on your next visit to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

AAA rate was $80 plus taxes ($89 gov't rate) with complimentary breakfast and ample free parking. Tap House is co-located with the property on the beach side, and provides a very nice sports bar atmosphere with ample menu and beautiful ocean views. Hotel has an indoor pool for those cold nights or winter visits, and offers free WiFi. The staff was nice and professional.

Room Tip: Request a lower number room (01-15) or above the 5th floor as garage connects to hotel and everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for submitting a survey in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. We will make sure to share your comments with the hotel's team members. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love waking up every morning being able to see the sunset from your own bed. It's so quiet here, being on the South end of the beach. The breakfast was just ok, wish there was a sausage/bacon option. The eggs were too hard for me. Otherwise, decent.
The staff always greeted you when you got off the elevator which is nice. Helps to make a pleasant experience. The pool was way too shallow (Only goes up to 4'6")
Also wish there was a hot tub, either in the room, or in the pool area for added relaxation. Great hotel, great view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. As a side note our breakfast options change daily so there is a consistent variety. We continue to strive to provide excellent gust service to all of our guests and we appreciate your comments towards the service provided. We hope that you will again stay with us on your next visit to Virgina Beach.

Warmest Regards,
Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a room on the 5th floor. The view was wonderful. Nice balcony. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Not as many pillows as I'm use to at Hampton Inn. Kind of small room , not bad for one or two nights, but not a week. Breakfast was pretty standard for Hampton Inn, good with a nice variety.Location is perfect right on the boardwalk. Very nice staff. I'm a tea drinker I wish hotels would provide ceramic cups for microwave or coffee makers that are clean and without the coffee smell and taste. It is always nice to stay at a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: They are all ocean front rooms, but I think i'd want to stay 3rd floor and above for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope that you will again consider the hotel for your lodging needs upon your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.