We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #26 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was at the hotel from Thursday until Sunday for a wedding. We were a fun crazy bunch and the staff were MORE then accommodating for every need, big or small. The hotel itself is beautiful and VERY clean and when I come home to visit again I sure will be staying here! Special shout out to Ms Danielle, Matt, Ms Lashonda,Mike and the ENTIRE housekeeping staff!!! Love you guys for helping us

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for writing a review from your recent stay at the Hampton Inn - Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to hear that your stay was an outstanding experience. I will make sure to share your comments with all of our team members. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs while visiting Virginia Beach. Again, thank you for your kind words and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    210
    91
    25
    16
See reviews for
304
173
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hammonton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My 3 children and I had an over night stay here. The room was clean, quiet and the beds were comfy. Bathroom was clean and had great water pressure. Breakfast was good. Each staff member we encountered were friendly. We chose a higher floor and loved the view. Thanks Hampton!

Room Tip: We were in a higher room and loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of the hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciate the kind words that were offered. We will make sure to share your review with the hotel's team members.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our group of 8 golfers had a great experience staying at the Hampton Inn -South on the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Rooms were spacious and clean with two queen beds, fridge, microwave. Each day's breakfast was one of the best ever on our golf trips. Nice service from reservation to check-in to maid service to check-out. It helped that we had four days of perfect weather late in October!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First of all our stay was very nice; I'll get to the but later. We stayed there the beginning of October and had a 2 queen bed suite on the 10th floor on the north side. We had an awesome view and alot of room. Breakfast was good and so were the "breakfast to go bags". We were right next to the elevator and had no problems with any outside noise. We left our car in the parking garage for 3 nights and had no problems whatsoever. We utilized the washer and dryer provided for guests on the 2nd floor with no problems. The price was good (a dollar to wash and dry) and our clothes dried in one cycle (wet suits and beach towels).

The "but" part - the bars downstairs were awfully loud at night; and, if we opened the balcony doors cigarette smoke wafted up - yuk, so we had to keep the balcony door closed at night. When we looked down from our balcony a group of what appeared to be homeless? people hung around on a bench all day long and into the night for two days. There appeared to be some unsavory characters hanging around in the evening which prevented us from walking around as soon as it got dark.

We rented bikes and pedaled toward the north end of the boardwalk and decided that area was much better than the south end; and will stay on that side the next time we come.

The front desk and breakfast area staff were very friendly and accommodating; however, when we were in the elevators with some of the cleaning staff they did talk loudly about one another and the dreariness of doing their jobs. It was a little awkward being privy to a conversation that I felt should not have been disclosed in front of guests. I felt our beds were way too hard; not like other Hamptons I've stayed at in New York and Texas. I felt disappointed at this Hampton and wondered how the one on the North side of the boardwalk is like.

With that said; we won't be returning here on our definite next return trip because aside from above, we had an awesome time.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, do not stay on the north side of the hotel because smoking from the bar goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. john's, NL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice location and near the beach. Staff was pretty friendly and helpful. Only complaints were that smoke from nearby patio smokers was blowing in my door so I had to keep it closed and that a band from a nearby bar (I think in the hotel next door) was very loud and played late. Room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was very pleased with this Hampton Inn. This was our first time there. I was a little concerned about the parking garage, but a man checks each car as you arrive at night. It looks like they have just upgraded the rooms. Check in was just okay. Hampton Inn breakfast is always a treat and their beds are always comfortable. But, the noise of the band playing next door is very loud so beware of the noise. You can hear it with the door closed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great location by the beach. Hotel rooms are small. Hotel is aging. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Nice meal at the Taproom. Breakfast was fair. Don't forget your room key or it is difficult to get back into the hotel. Parking available but the garage can be dangerous. Not sure I'd return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.